No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Moorings Hotel

Not Classified  Small Hotel Ratings explained
Hett Hills , Chester-le-Street, DH2 3JU
The Moorings Luxury Hotel is nestled away overlooking the West Durham Hills. We are a family run business offering the ideal combination of traditional charm and modern comfort accommodation and dining. We have a bar-bistro offering traditional British fair and an a al carte restaurant offering a more formal atmosphere with freshly prepared food specialising in locally reared meat and fish fresh from the nearby Hendon Docks.
We can accommodate guests from the business community or equally people looking for a break and a special occasion. We have two rooms with private outdoor hot tubs to treat your loved ones.
Set in the countryside just 5 minutes from the A1, you have the peaceful calm of the countryside yet are minutes from accessing the road network to all parts of the region. Including Beamish museum, the metro centre and Newcastle.
Picture of The Moorings Hotel, Chester-le-Street at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic stay
a very nice room , clean and very tidy , good food and was made very welcome by all the staff who could not do enough for us , will certainly be returning to the moorings on the future .

Reviewed by
gary a

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Moorings Hotel
Stopped here a couple of years ago and still as good this time around.

Reviewed by
Simon W

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beamish weekend
Second visit to this hotel very happy with everything second visit just as good as the first.

Reviewed by
John H

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay
Hotel in nice quit area not far from town ample parking spaces at rear of hotel
Staff very friendly and helpfull room nice modern and clean
The food is amazing breakfast was great good service and the evening meals
We're amazing good choice on menu lots to pick from also the pudding selections great
Nothing bad to say at all and we stayed for 2 nights would defiantly stay here again

Reviewed by
Ian M

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great hotel with wonderful accommodation, food and staff

Reviewed by
Norma Wilson

From Melton Mowbray, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful
Fresh, clean, friendly. A really delightful place to stay. Definitely recommended.

Reviewed by
M S M

From Northern Ireland
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very accommodating hotel
Would definitely recommend this hotel. Nothing was too much trouble, food was fabulous, beds comfortable and room immaculate

Reviewed by
J Rostron

From Darwen, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable convenient stay
Food is very good here, service freindly and efficient, choice of real ales = Bonus, room comfortable and clean.

Reviewed by
K Dudley

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The marvellous moorings
This is our second time to stay here and we would thoroughly recommend it, great food, great service and cleanliness and staff happy to go that extra mile, what more could you ask for

Reviewed by
K Fitzsimons

From Kent, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
This is a reasonably-priced place to stay if you're visiting Durham and want to avoid being ripped off by the hotels there. Although the welcome and service we received on checking in was a bit short on courtesy and helpfulness, overall the rooms were clean and well provisioned, and the breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
Jill P

From Edinburgh , UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next