Reviews - The Oyster Smack Inn


112, Station Road, Burnham on Crouch, Essex, CM0 8HR

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (29)

79% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality



  • September 2015

excellent service

Felt very welcome throughout our stay staff very friendly and helpful.

The rooms are very clean and comfortable.

  • L Andrews

  • September 2015

Superb & highly recommended!

High standard accommodation with outstanding customer service.

Food was 1st class & would highly recommend. It was our wedding anniversary during our 2 night stay & we were upgraded free of charge, an unexpected but much appreciated gesture. One unfortunate event on the night of our anniversary, which had nothing to do with the hotel, had some inconsiderate guests who spent an hour banging doors, shouting across rooms & singing from about 2-3am. Let's just call that unlucky.

  • R New

  • August 2015

The Oyster Smack Inn

Very Enjoyable Stay.

  • Timothy Lewis

  • August 2015

Ok for a budget break

Room clean and tidy but inconsistent housekeeping and disappointed with the continental breakfasts.

  • P Crewe

  • March 2015

Lovely staff, good food

We were recommended to stay here and indeed the staff were extremely friendly and the pub interesting and comfortable.

We arrived early and even so were seated at once- good- but the food had 4 mistakes in the service- wrong wine, food not as on the menu and a forgotten coffee. The food we did have was excellent, however- well presented and tasty. The rooms were clean, modern and the bed though hard was huge. Access was easy and the situation is near the coast- walkable.

  • T Harland

  • March 2015

Disappointing breakfast

Slightly disappointed with the continental breakfast.

  • L Evans

  • March 2015

Excellent room, friendly helpful staff!

We booked this hotel on the same day as our stay and I cannot fault how easily and pleasant it was from start to finish.

We arrived late in the evening but the staff were still friendly and helpful even after a long Friday night service. The room was extremely large with high quality furnishings. Breakfast was simple but adequate. A great place to stay. We would definitely come back.

  • N Moulton

  • March 2015

Review - one night stay

Room really small.

Shower excellent. TV useless pile of junk. Building heating system made things rattle in the room. Breakfast abysmal.

  • Nina T

  • March 2015

Small friendly hotel with excellent restaurant

This was our second stay at the Oyster Smack.

It's more of a small restaurant, with a few rooms attached. Rooms are clean, tea & coffee available and as our visit was in February, it was lovely to arrive to a very warm room. We do recommend you try the restaurant. The food was delicious.

  • Mary H

  • February 2015

The Oyster Smack Inn

Good points were excellent food with good service in the restaurant.

Overall disappointed after booking contacted by hotel and given an upgrade but at extra cost to me, this was rectified when I pointed it out. Large room but tiny shower. One squashed pillow, 1 tea bag only between the two of us. For the price I expected.