No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Oyster Smack Inn

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
112, Station Road , Burnham on Crouch, Essex, CM0 8HR
The Oyster Smack Inn is a charming local restaurant with rooms, built in the 1800’s. The building is full of character and sets the scene for an outstanding and extremely popular local inn.

The newly decorated dining room and bar are both classic and timeless, the coastal shades of the decor providing a serene backdrop to the dining experience. Wooden floors and hand-made furniture all work to create a feeling of quiet elegance.

The coastal location means that The Oyster Smack Inn can take full advantage of the freshest of seafood and our menu utilises this to full effect. The team in the kitchen are passionate about using the finest produce from local suppliers. Changing seasonally, our dinner menu offers the best of modern British food whilst your favourite classic pub dishes can be found on our lunch menu.

Picture of The Oyster Smack Inn, Burnham on Crouch, Essex at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

oyster smack
nice hotel had a bit of a noise going on but assured by manager its a one off having a free stay and meal so top mangement

Reviewed by
G Moore

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So nearly excellent
Stayed Friday and Saturday nights. We booked a table in the restaurant which was just as well as it was full both nights. The food was excellent as were the staff and service. We majored on sea food which was fresh and very well cooked. The wine was also good. There was a good 'buzz' in the room.
Our room was a bit run down with curtains difficult to draw and a small shower room which needs updating. We got the impression that the restaurant part has been modernised and was excellent, but perhaps the accomodation is next on the list. We hope so as we really enjoyed the Oyster Smack and Burnham.
Previous comments have said that the small car park is a problem. Well we have a large car and managed without difficulty.
We will definitely be back.

Reviewed by
Ian S

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do much better!
We did not enjoy our stay. Outside sign advertises 'de luxe rooms, all en suite'. En suite maybe, but de luxe definitely not. We were in an annexe room, with a very comfortable bed, but inadequate lighting and tatty, downmarket furnishings. The few towels (no bathmat) were not replaced for the second day, nor were the tea/coffee making facilities. The venetian blind was broken.
Breakfast was DIY from a separate minute but untidy kitchen in the main building, offering individual cereal packets (milk and packet o/j in fridge) or white/brown bread for toasting, pot jams or marmalades - but no butter. There were tea bags and instant coffee, but no teaspoons or brown sugar.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Oyster Smack some two years ago but understand that it has changed hands since then. All the staff were very friendly and courteous. Certainly Housekeeping needs a thorough review - as well as our dis-satisfaction, we overheard a newly-checked in guest return to the bar/reception area complaining that there were no loo rolls in his bathroom!

Reviewed by
Diane W

From Jersey, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, Good service
The staff took great care to look after us. The room was good with a decent en-suite bathroom. perhaps the only drawback was that it was facing onto a main road which was a little noisy - not a major criticism. We stayed on a 'bring your own wine' night in the restaurant. The staff were very quick to tell us about that when we arrived and there is a small Tesco about 200 yards away with a small selection of wine.
Very little to find fault with for this accommodation at the price!

Reviewed by
Charles B

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No Breakfast
Despite Late rooms advertising Full English breakfast and us paying for this at booking, this was not available. Continental breakfast was on offer however we had to do this ourselves in a small kitchen attached to the restuarant. Hotel refunded the cost of our breakfasts

Reviewed by
M Melville

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hot work
An excellent venue booked in error! Had thought I was working in a town closer to Burnham! Difficult to ventilate the room adequately despite huge fan placed centrally. Perhaps an investment in air con might not go amiss. Excellent food but breakfast not available before 8am. However, staff make every effort to provide something even if the coffee was stone cold!

Reviewed by
Christine S

From Woodbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oyster Smack - not quite a Pearl, but Pretty Good
Room was in an annexe, entrance from car park. Comfortable, spacious and well equipped with a huge King sized bed. This had nylon linen. Large fresh white towels each day of our three there. Good sized TV. Plants outside room need a bit of TLC. Staff, young and mostly male could not have been more helpful and cheerful. Food OK - menu varied, with, seemingly, a fair proportion of dishes pre-cooked, either in house or from caterers. Chicken escalope and spaghetti, the linguini and other dishes were acceptable but I doubt if freshly cooked. Value for money: food, good value, accommodation reasonable. This is a busy and clearly successful restaurant with rooms and deserves to be. Although not on the riverside, it isn't far away - and there are delightful walks and sights to see close at hand. Probably the best bet in Burnham for a bed and board.

Reviewed by
Patrick S

From Saxmundham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Much better than going to a "chain" hotel
I have no negative comments to make. The initial welcome was very friendly, the room was spotless. We ate in the restaurant in the evening - food lovely, and good value. We had looked at previous reviews, and the weak point had been the breakfast, but the owners must have taken the feedback on board. Ours was lovely - lots of it, and a friendly waitress to serve it. I think we will definitely go back in the future.

Reviewed by
Nina T

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Work in progress??
The restaurant was excelllent and the service was faultless. Nice relaxed atmosphere and a decent menu. Trevor and his staff were excellent and made you feel very welcome. The cooked breakfast is an experience on its own!!
Rooms are a little disappointing and somewhat tired, hence my "work in progress" comment. I hope that they can develop the standard of the rooms going forward, but still worth the trip for the food and the service.

Reviewed by
Gary W

From Stansted, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer Service Is Alive & Kicking at The Oyster Smack
Arrived in the middle of a busy Saturday dinner service, staff were exceptionally helpful and although doing 5 things at once kept their cool and made everyone feel welcome.

Reviewed by
Tracey Hatch

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next