No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - the crown and thistle

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
18 BRIDGE STREET , ABINGDON, OX143HS
The history of Abingdon and its favourite coaching inn are intertwined. In this homely, intriguing and delightfully eclectic building, innkeepers have been serving beer and food and laying fresh linen on cosy beds, for four centuries. You could fall in love with The Crown & Thistle – with its gently meandering layout, architectural variety and relaxed, modern style. This is the 400-year-old Grade II listed coaching inn immaculately refurbished in late 2013 for 21st-century tastes. Our rooms are fresh with contemporary colour and design, yet the unmistakable hand of bygone craftsmen still shows itself in the quirky angles, aged beams and swirling patterns of courtyard cobbles. We love what time and generations of innkeepers have created at The Crown & Thistle. Even the 200-year-old wisteria that wraps one of our bars in its leafy embrace has a story to tell: it was planted around the time the first mail coaches arrived.

No two bedrooms are alike at The Crown & Thistle. Each of our 18 guest rooms is a delight – cosy and idiosyncratic with ancient beams, flashes of exposed brickwork and rich wallpapers created by British designers. Our interior designers
have used the building’s abundant variety to create a series of stylish and fun-filled escapes. Some overlook the bustle of Bridge Street, others look inwards across the cobbled courtyard. They offer the best views of the inn’s vernacular architecture as it developed across so many generations of builders. Inside you can look forward to a sound night’s sleep between crisp white linen in a four-poster bed surrounded by modern comforts. Each room has an en-suite bathroom with traditional roll-top bath
or shower, air-conditioning, flat-screen television, iPod docking station, unlimited Wi-Fi, tea and coffee-making facilities and a well-stocked mini bar.

The Barn is our 17 th -century function room where we’ve peeled back the years to reveal original beams and ancient stone walls softened by time. This spectacular timber-vaulted venue, has its own private bar and can accommodate 64 seated guests or 100 buffet guests. So, whether you are looking for a dreamy wedding venue or a punchy location for a corporate event we can cater for all your requirements.
Picture of the crown and thistle, ABINGDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel
Had a brief but very enjoyable stay, right in the centre of Abingdon, parking was a mystery, until I was given directions by reception staff, therefore may be a good idea to provide this alongside all booking confirmations in future.

Reviewed by
David L

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
The staff are very friendly and helpful, they make you feel very welcome. The room was excellent and very comfy. The breakfast was varied and very good quality. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Karen S

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were excellent, very helpful and friendly. The hotel was spotless, and the food was great. Really enjoyed the weekend, and will quite happily use the hotel again.

Reviewed by
Graham S

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Lovely hotel in a great location in Abingdon. Room was superb (15) and the standards are really impressive. Really we'll located to eat out at several good looking eating establishment's. Would highly recommend....

Reviewed by
Paul Knott

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Gorgeous, Welcoming Hotel
We stayed with our 11 month old baby in an absolutely beautiful large room with a very well appointed bathroom. Nothing was too much trouble for Carol on reception, including providing us with a room to get changed in for the wedding we were attending prior to check-in time. Lovely breakfast too.

Reviewed by
Sarah L

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay at The Crown and Thistle
There was no-one at reception when we arrived as the single receptionist was also showing arriving guests to their rooms. Not a problem, except we could not find out how to get to the car park at the rear of the hotel (this turned out to be a trip around the one-way system in the town).
The room was interestingly decorated, but a bit dark, with dark lampshades, for a cloudy late afternoon. It was nice but looked a bit dingy. The bed was wonderful as was the bathroom, which was up a few steps, and this really needed a short handrail for safety of children and older visitors. Obviously there needs to be fans for the bathrooms but we could hear the fan in the next door room all the time,even overnight.
The decor in the bar was a a bit too spartan and felt very cold and empty, and the prices in the restaurant for the evening meal were a bit steep for the quality - my cold chips were replaced almost immediately with very hot ones. The breakfast, however, was excellent, as was the service. I think we would visit again.

Reviewed by
jill C

From Dorchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely staff, rooms and restaurant

Reviewed by
Stephen G

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

outside noise
Room overlooked outside drinking area. All dry nights had pleasure of outside banter till approx 12pm.Except Saturday night when it went on till half-past two in the morning. Only on my intervention did it stop.Complaining was a little pointless as the party included the night manager!

Reviewed by
b knowles

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Having booked a twin-room, we were disappointed to be given a room with a double bed and a single put-u-up. We asked to be moved, but told the twin room were not available. Why were we not told this when booking? The room had obviously had a recent make-over, but was dark. Deep red patterned paper and dark grey paint. The reading lamps had dark grey shades, making it impossible to read in bed.
However, the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful
When booking it would be helpful to be told that there is no parking or waiting outside the hotel, but there is a large car park at the rear. Due to the one-way system, it is necessary to drive round the whole town to reach the car park, but a member of staff agreed to accompany me.
On checking out, the bill was made out for £30 more than had been agreed. It was immediately put right.

Reviewed by
P Holmes

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
Lovely hotel, staff very polite,food good,just a little over priced. Bur stay again.

Reviewed by
J Wallace

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next