Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Lake District > Cumbria > Grasmere Hotels > Lancrigg Vegetarian Hotel and Restaurant
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lancrigg Vegetarian Hotel and Restaurant

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
EASEDALE , GRASMERE, LA22 9QN
Lancrigg is one of the most peaceful and romantic houses in the Lake District. Artists, poets, scientists and musicians both past and present continue to love Lancrigg. Now a 3 star Country House HoteI, this is a place to truly relax and unwind. It is situated in an idyllic mountain location in thirty acres of private grounds and woodland and is just a short walk to Grasmere village and all its amenities. You can walk the length and breadth of the Lake District mountains from the door, or just take a meandering stroll around the adjoining woods. Many guests prefer to simply relax in the comfort of their room or sit sipping in the lounge next to the warming log fire. The rooms are romantic, comfortable and individually decorated, many with whirlpool baths.

The Green Valley vegetarian restaurant at Lancrigg offers an imaginative International menu. There is an extensive organic wine list, with many beers, unusual spirits and cocktails. Special diets are welcome. The restaurant is open all day to residents and non residents. A variety of imaginative breakfasts are served and a champagne breakfast can be taken in the bedroom if preferred.
Picture of Lancrigg Vegetarian Hotel and Restaurant, GRASMERE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 73 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel has its own charm, some will lilke some will not
The Hotel is a bit of a mismash, this will appeal to some and others it won't.
For us it was an okay experience, but not great.
The vegetarian food is great and hearty which is nice.

Reviewed by
Philip C

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place, location, staff & food!
Can't fault this place from start to finish, staff were happy to help with any queries or problems you had, the rooms were all of varying styles and sizes (due to the uniqueness of the old building) - we stayed in the 'Whittingham' which was fab.
The hotel is ideally placed for a walk up to Easedale Tarn, which is beautiful and take about 2.5 hrs there and back.
The crowning glory of this place is the food......I'm not a vegetarian, but my wife is, I thought I'd take my wife as a treat, with myself thinking "how hard can it be, two days without meat ?"........Let me tell you, the food was absolutely fantastic, some of the best tasting food I've had - I actually commented to staff that the quinoa & coriander cakes (think that was the name) that I had for starter was the best starter I'd ever had at any restaurant, EVER !
Overall, like I said, a fantastic overall experience, would defiantly recommend, and we will be returning !

Reviewed by
Elliott H

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Hotel, wonderful staff, outstanding food
What a beautiful hotel, set in wonderful grounds, this little hotel hit the spot for me and my wife and little dog. We went for a pre Christmas treat and it was well worth the money.
You are made so welcome by all the staff, the accommodation is charming and the grounds lovely to walk in.
The food was amazing. My wife is a vegetarian (although I am not) she was bowled over by the choices and I have never enjoyed a meal so much. Breakfast was amazing too!
I managed to finish reading a Christmas Carol, by Dickens in the very place he stayed at, the place is full of history.
If you want to spoil yourselves, you must go here! Lots of lovely walks and you can bring your little pooch too! We will definitely be going back!

Reviewed by
John Sunderland-Wright

From Alnwick, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Return to the 70's
The entire hotel is in a time warp back to the 70's.Wicker furniture,original 70's,standing lamps with flowery old shades...tin tea pots.We booked it for one night but had to question if we should stay after arrival given the poor quality of the lounge and bedroom. We had selected the hotel for veggie food. I am a veggie my wife is not. Unfortunately the food at dinner and breakfast was mediocre and overpriced at 12.95£ average main ...Breakfast was poor..no veggie sausages or bacon only a veggie burger plus spoonful of baked beans, small portion of myshrooms and poached eggs. After breakfast my wife tried to shower...there was more water flow in the drainpipe outside our window than through the shower..again a real piece of memorabilia....it probably gushed in the 70's. Staff, all Spanish,were excellent. The only redeeming feature of the hotel along with the location. Anyone looking to sample the delights of authentic 70's furnishings should try the Lancrigg..it could be a movie set for a drama in that era..maybe they could spend the proceeds on new,clean comfortable furnishings, the very least one should expect to find in any hotel! This place needs a complete refurbishment.

Reviewed by
trevor r

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful birthday treat
Had a lovely stay at Lancrigg. A nice room with beautiful view towards Easedale, very comfy firm bed. The hotel was very relaxing - a great place to chill out without having to be on your best behaviour. Food was fabulous, especially the evening meal which was amazing & very good value for money. Only downside was the very temperamental shower but the jacuzzi bath made up for it!
Hope to return soon

Reviewed by
C RICHARDSON

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Veggie heaven
Excellent location and really wonderful menu for breakfast and dinner. So nice to have so much choice. Really friendly staff too. Only slight drawback was that the room décor was a bit dated, but the bed was super comfy and the shower nice and hot after a day running in the local area, so it didn't affect our stay. Would definitely recommend a stay.

Reviewed by
Paul G

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Vegetarian lakes break
Stayed at the Lancrigg because it had a special offer on dinner if you stayed 2 nights or more so as non vegetarians this tempted us to try. The food, served in a very elegant dining room overlooking the valley, was high quality, tasty and beautifully presented.
The hotel is a grand old Lakeland house, definitely not hotel chic boutique, but no worse for that. Ask for a room at the front and if you love the Lakes you won't be disappointed.
.9 of a mile from the village centre, but a nice quiet walk in. Very friendly, helpful staff.

Reviewed by
H Barrass

From Cardigan, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lancrigg
An excellent place to stay with friendly and helpful staff plus a great vegetarian menu. The rooms are comfortable and there's also a quiet lounge with views over the lovely gardens. Grasmere and Ambleside can be quite busy in the season but Lancrigg has a really tranquil atmosphere and some interesting historical connections.

Reviewed by
Ray K

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Very cosy, comfortable hotel. Our bedroom had a four poster bed which was special. Good breakfast and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Jennifer Caroll

From Wilmslow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant food for vegans, wonderful views, peace and quiet.

Reviewed by
Susan Y

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next