No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Buck Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Buck Inn, , , Malham, BD23 4DA
Built in 1874 on the site of an old coaching inn. The Buck Inn is set in the centre of the picturesque village of Malham. The landscape is breathtakingly beautiful and quiet, offering you a break from the noisy cosmopolitan life of the big cities. Yet its only a short drive from both Yorkshire and greater Manchester. You are assured of a very warm welcome. Built in 1874 on the site of an old coaching inn. The Buck Inn is the perfect place to relax and unwind. Sue and John pride themselves on the quality and choice of their cask beers and also on the food menu including the famous Malham and Masham Pie. Set in the centre of the village, we are the perfect place to start and end your walks. Parking to the side and front of the building on the opposite side of the road Our country inn provides twelve bedrooms which are all en-suite with tea and coffee facilities. All room rates include a full English Breakfast. Check in 2pm. Check out 10am. Sorry, we do not allow dogs or pets in the bedrooms. We pride oursleves on locally sourced home cooked food including Drake & Macefield award winning sausages, Malham & Masham Pie and our superb 21 day hung steaks. Set in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere to help you unwind after a days walking in the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Parking to the side and front of the building for residents. Here at the Buck, we have a Hikers bar where dogs, families, muddy boots are always welcome. Eat, drink, play pool or darts or simply relax. We also have a heated patio area for those summer days and nights and in the winter, you can snuggle upto the log fire which is located in the Lounge Bar. The Lounge bar is next door to the Hikers bar and in both bars are six cask beers including Timothy Taylor's Landlord and Theakston's Old Peculiar.
Picture of The Buck Inn, Malham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 47 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

unbelievable location
The location is excellent
right in The centre of the village this being a place for walking there are some of the best views here
the only thing that lets this place down was the tiny bathroom, when you sat on the toilet your chin is on the sink,and the room was not hovered daily

Reviewed by
adrian m

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Break at Malham
My husand and I had a lovely stay at the Buck Inn in Malham. The staff were friendly and the accommodation was clean and tidy. The food was superb and there was a good range of real ales.This hotel is ideally located to walk Malham Cover and the surrounding area.A pleasant two night stay with friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Cheryl Thompson

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First impression was great, then it was let down by poorly fitted equipment and rushed decroating.
The staff are very pleasant and welcoming. First impression was great, newly decorated and new bathroom but the loo seat and cystern lid was not fitted properly, resulting in the loo constatnly flushing, brought this to the attention of staff, who checked it and gave us instructions on how to solve this if it happened again, which it did every time we used it (fixing the problem would have been better)!! Fresh towels daily (same towels for 4 nights) would be nice or somewhere better to dry then at least. Room was above the kitchen and with the windows open to keep cool, the kitchen staff were somewhat noisier than necessary (radio very loud). Food was fantastic though.

Reviewed by
S Scott

From Royston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality pub with rooms
Pleasant double room but quite small. Comfortable bed and one comfy chair and one uncomfy one. Tiny TV, really too small to see easily if watching in bed. Well appointed shower room but loo seat didn't fit properly. Good quality meals available in the evening and breakfasts were very good indeed. Only thing which could be improved would be better quality and choice of preserves.

Reviewed by
Shelagh H

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Break in the Yorkshire Dales
Had a lovely welcome from the friendly staff, the room was small but I did know that when I booked, was not aware of how small the bathroom was, had to turn around on the spot it was so small and the bed was very load and creaky, worried about waking the people in the next room if I turned over in the night.
The food was excellent ate in on our 1st night had a lovely Sunday roast, and Trout.. the breakfast on both days was the best I have ever had hot and plentiful
The packed lunch was a big disappointment, a cheese sandwich and a apple for £5.50 not even a bottle of water.

Reviewed by
Pauline J

From Oswestry, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little B&B
Great B&B, Staff was lovely and food was cooked to perfection. They laid out a good mix of breakfasts for all the occupants getting up early to do the three peak challenge.
The room was smaller than expected with some peeling of the wallpaper in the bathroom. However the room was very clean and stylish and the bed was lovely and soft.
Only problem was our room was above the bar toilets therefore every time someone turned on the hand dryer it got noisy which wasn't good for a light sleeper trying to get an early night.

Reviewed by
H Carlin

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break in the Dales
good quality accommodation at a very reasonable price, however the food was somewhat over-priced!

Reviewed by
Michael Smith

From Redruth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing stay off the beaten track
Enjoyable stay at the Buck Inn, clean room with a good shower Cubicle, exceptional Breakfast .
Beer and Dining food a bit steep in comparison with other similar type hotels in the Yorkshire Dales.

Reviewed by
James T

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem! The food is amazing...
Don't let the 70's decoration put you off, the Buck Inn is a fantastic pub. It may on the face of it look less welcoming than the Lister Arms up the road but it is definitely not. The food is absolutely fantastic, whether that is for breakfast, dinner or tea. You get a huge selection for your breakfast, from fish with goose eggs to a full english fry up, whilst the chips and pies are some of the best I have ever had! But be warned, if you choose the 3 burger selection you most likely won't eat for a week after!
The room itself was very clean, bed made every day with new towels and it was exceptionally comfortable.
A perfect place to stay to explore the Malhamdale area, would definitely come again.

Reviewed by
Tom Crabtree

From Manningtree, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money room (small double) not huge but big enough and excellent value. Food was amazing, huge portions!

Reviewed by
David B

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next