No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Buck Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Buck Inn, , , Malham, BD23 4DA
Built in 1874 on the site of an old coaching inn. The Buck Inn is set in the centre of the picturesque village of Malham. The landscape is breathtakingly beautiful and quiet, offering you a break from the noisy cosmopolitan life of the big cities. Yet its only a short drive from both Yorkshire and greater Manchester. You are assured of a very warm welcome. Built in 1874 on the site of an old coaching inn. The Buck Inn is the perfect place to relax and unwind. Sue and John pride themselves on the quality and choice of their cask beers and also on the food menu including the famous Malham and Masham Pie. Set in the centre of the village, we are the perfect place to start and end your walks. Parking to the side and front of the building on the opposite side of the road Our country inn provides twelve bedrooms which are all en-suite with tea and coffee facilities. All room rates include a full English Breakfast. Check in 2pm. Check out 10am. Sorry, we do not allow dogs or pets in the bedrooms. We pride oursleves on locally sourced home cooked food including Drake & Macefield award winning sausages, Malham & Masham Pie and our superb 21 day hung steaks. Set in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere to help you unwind after a days walking in the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Parking to the side and front of the building for residents. Here at the Buck, we have a Hikers bar where dogs, families, muddy boots are always welcome. Eat, drink, play pool or darts or simply relax. We also have a heated patio area for those summer days and nights and in the winter, you can snuggle upto the log fire which is located in the Lounge Bar. The Lounge bar is next door to the Hikers bar and in both bars are six cask beers including Timothy Taylor's Landlord and Theakston's Old Peculiar.
Picture of The Buck Inn, Malham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant one night stay
Although our room (number 9) was quite small, it was perfect for one nights stay. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and the location idyllic.

Reviewed by
Sally H

From Oldham, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid Room 12 Unless You Are Deaf
I suppose The Buck is a victim of it's own success. Parking facilities are atrocious although it was extremely busy the night we stayed. If you are allocated room 12, apart from the route march to get there, you may as well have a camp bed in the middle of the "Hikers Bar", the room is directly above and there is obviously no sound insulation between the two. As well as the noise from the juke box, you could have participated in the conversations going on below, to say that it was louder than the TV in the room would be an understatement. If when you book it says that there are only two rooms or maybe one room available, BE WARNED IT WILL PROBABLY BE THIS ROOM YOU WILL BE ALLOCATED.

Reviewed by
BRIAN W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely walking break - great location

Reviewed by
Patricia D

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An Inn in the Dales
The setting is truly magnificent, the scenery both within the village and around it is stunning, you can't get much more Dales than this.
The Pub is excellent, sitting outside on a sunny evening who could ask for more.
The staff were all very helpful, the food we had was very good, magnificent breakfast, the only downside is that the pies are not really pies more casseroles with a puff pastry top added but this may be what you like in a pie?
The room we had was fine, a little small after the en suit was added, a difficult call really - en suit with a small room or good sized room before the en suit installed. The room was clean and tidy, lacked anywhere to 'un-pack' virtually no unable furniture but a room is for sleeping anyway.
The bar was friendly with a good atmosphere, the beer excellent and a very good choice, served with a smile and reasonable prices. A very good wine list if a bit pricey.
All in all a very good pub to spend an evening in at a great location. I just wish my local was as good.

Reviewed by
Steve A

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Most relaxing hotel
we enjoyed staying at the Buck Inn, Food was excellent, especially breakfast ( to set you up for the day ahead) Excellent chef, Room had been refurbished

Reviewed by
Gerald Brooks

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable 2 day stay
Warm welcome, Warm room, Great vegetarian breakfast.
Only personal downside was the small shower room but for the sake of 2 days it wasn't a huge issue.

Reviewed by
Mark C

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Buck Inn
We had a fantastic weekend staying at The Buck Inn. All the staff were very helpful and friendly, and John and Sue were incredibly welcoming...nothing was too much trouble. The food was mainly what you'd expect to find on a pub menu, and absolutely delicious (and that's from two very experienced pub diners!) and the cooked breakfasts the best we've ever had.

Reviewed by
A Chevalier

From Wilmslow, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good hotel prime position
good hotel friendly staff

Reviewed by
Linda B

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay with a leaky tap
I loved the time my fiance and I spent with you last weekend.
The room was excellent, it was dated, but we liked that - the only thing we would ask is that you check the hot water tap in the bathroom. I was leaking and missing the 'hot' label. Apart from that, it was great fun staying at the Buck, we would definitely go back again.

Reviewed by
Rachel S

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5