No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Buck Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Buck Inn, , , Malham, BD23 4DA
Built in 1874 on the site of an old coaching inn. The Buck Inn is set in the centre of the picturesque village of Malham. The landscape is breathtakingly beautiful and quiet, offering you a break from the noisy cosmopolitan life of the big cities. Yet its only a short drive from both Yorkshire and greater Manchester. You are assured of a very warm welcome. Built in 1874 on the site of an old coaching inn. The Buck Inn is the perfect place to relax and unwind. Sue and John pride themselves on the quality and choice of their cask beers and also on the food menu including the famous Malham and Masham Pie. Set in the centre of the village, we are the perfect place to start and end your walks. Parking to the side and front of the building on the opposite side of the road Our country inn provides twelve bedrooms which are all en-suite with tea and coffee facilities. All room rates include a full English Breakfast. Check in 2pm. Check out 10am. Sorry, we do not allow dogs or pets in the bedrooms. We pride oursleves on locally sourced home cooked food including Drake & Macefield award winning sausages, Malham & Masham Pie and our superb 21 day hung steaks. Set in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere to help you unwind after a days walking in the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Parking to the side and front of the building for residents. Here at the Buck, we have a Hikers bar where dogs, families, muddy boots are always welcome. Eat, drink, play pool or darts or simply relax. We also have a heated patio area for those summer days and nights and in the winter, you can snuggle upto the log fire which is located in the Lounge Bar. The Lounge bar is next door to the Hikers bar and in both bars are six cask beers including Timothy Taylor's Landlord and Theakston's Old Peculiar.
Picture of The Buck Inn, Malham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
My wife and I were very impressed with or one night stay at The Buck @ Malham. The room was a little dated but very clean and the bed a little 'lumpy' but good value. The evening bar staff had difficulty in locating a replacement light bulb but managed eventually. The breakfast was excellent. In all, an experience well-worth repeating.

Reviewed by
Stephen King

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Postcard perfect
Quaint little inn in picturesque village with beautiful country walks. Good food, breakfast outstanding quality. Very comfortable room and good strong pressure shower. Definitely worth a revisit.

Reviewed by
Phillip Dean

From Grays, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful staff and breakfast. TLC needed throughout pub.
Members of staff were very attentive and very keen to please. Breakfast was wonderful! However the pub as a whole seems to need some attention. Issues ranging from a dirty looking light switch in the room, to the strong smell of toilet in the pub suggest that the pub is neglected.
We would stay again but would certainly not pay the asking price (we had reduction, booking via Late Rooms). The pub food is very pricey, too!

Reviewed by
Louise A

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, helpful staff.
Nice room but hot water in shower a problem.
Real ale not well kept.
Dismal bar.
Good quality nicely cooked breakfast.

Reviewed by
j craven

From Clitheroe, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel felt a little dated and a bit end of season. Just wasn't our personal taste.

Reviewed by
Sandra Barton

From Tadley, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sept 17-19 2013
Stayed in the same room two years ago. They room has been decorated since with a new bathroom. It was clean and comfortable.
It had everything you needed for a short break.
The breakfasts are fantastic, and the meals at night are outstanding, with large portions.

Reviewed by
Annette B

From Pontefract, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
very enjoyable stay. Lovely location. Warm, friendly and helpful staff. Good food and atmosphere. Would not choose Room 12 as it suffers from a high level of noise intrusion from the bar below, especially the music. Always quiet by 11pm but difficult to ignore. Pity as the room was large and comfortable with a large ensuite. Having said that, I would visit again.

Reviewed by
m pugh

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy welcome at the Buck Inn Skipton.
Lovely old Inn at Malham Yorkshire Dales. The room was pretty with a view over the dales,bed very comfortable with feather pillows and comfortable duvet. The staff were very warm and welcoming, the food and drink of a high quality, the breakfast was delicious. within easy walking distance of beauty spots such as Malham Cove. Value for money and would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Kathleen A

From Cleethorpes, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Buck Inn - Malham
Very good value for money for B&B....bar food a little expensive, shower was a bit erratic too...but all worthwhile as it's only 1 mile from Malham Cove and the rest of the Dales!

Reviewed by
Carl A

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant one night stay
Although our room (number 9) was quite small, it was perfect for one nights stay. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and the location idyllic.

Reviewed by
Sally H

From Oldham, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next