No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Brighton

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
97-99 Kings Road , Brighton, BN1 2FW

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The Grand Brighton is located just under an hour from London and 25 minutes from Gatwick Airport. Brighton Train Station is less than one mile and is easily accessible from M25 and M23 motorways.

With its sumptuous Italian Renaissance style, The Grand Brighton is a masterpiece of Victorian splendour and has been lovingly restored following a multi-million pound investment including refurbishment of all lounge areas, cocktail bar, restaurant and guest bedrooms. The hotel stands proud on Brighton's seafront, boasts panoramic sea views and is just a stones throw away from the famous Lanes, Brighton Pier, The Royal Pavilion, theatres and nightlife.

The 201 newly decorated bedrooms have been furnished with fabrics and interiors to a very high standard featuring luxury Egyptian linens and bathrobes, free Wi-Fi, flat screen TV’s with satellite and some Sky channels.

For pure indulgence and total relaxation guests can head down to The Sp@ The Grand, the elegant new Day Spa. The Grand’s new spa is impressive at first sight. Plus, if you want to work out as well as relax there is a modern air-conditioned gym on the first floor. The luxurious Spa at The Grand, run by our own experienced and professionally trained therapists, provides the perfect relaxation retreat, offering treatments in calm and tranquil surroundings.

One of Brighton's most glamorous culinary hotspots, GB1 Seafood Restaurant and Bar offers the south coast's finest and freshest fish and seafood caught daily. GB1 is open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner, offering an a la carte menu, specials from the blackboard and affordable set lunch menus. Whether you want a quick bite and a glass of bubbles from the restaurant's stunning champagne and oyster bar, a quiet dinner or celebratory feast, GB1 offers the perfect dining experience for all. Quality meat dishes from the grill, classic British favourites and vegetarian dishes are available.

If it is something less formal you're after try the Victoria Lounge and Terrace with its tantalising array of classic British dishes and light lunchtime favourites. This is where you can indulge in our famous Grand Afternoon Tea, whilst enjoying uninterrupted views of the seafront, mere yards away. Traditional Sussex Cream Teas are available from Monday to Friday: 3pm-6pm and on Saturday and Sunday there are two sittings at 2.30pm and 4.30pm It is essential to pre-book afternoon tea prior to arrival.

Boasting old world elegance, The Victoria Bar offers an extensive cocktail, wine and drinks list including the classics you'd expect and a few that might surprise. You can sit back and check your e-mail using the Wi-Fi and mull over the big decisions, like will it be the Mojito, a refreshing glass of Pimms or a glass of Champagne.
Picture of The Grand Brighton, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 182 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grand at The Grand
Another thoroughly enjoyable stay at The Grand. Lovely room , wonderful breakfast and friendly helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Gill T

From Ramsgate, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room and service, need to review their information on parking at hotel as answerphone message gave differant info to that which we found out on arrival. Breakfast ok but luke warm and general quality dropped since our last stay eeg black pudding like a block of rubber

Reviewed by
a myhill

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel
Hotel is fantastic, spa was brilliant too,our room was spotless and the bed was nice and comfortable. Only slight niggle was our room was an inland room that overlooked the generators in the courtyard, this did however turn off in the evening, and we did only pay £99 including breakfast so we were probably in one of the worst rooms..breakfast was excellent too with loads of choice.

Reviewed by
C Whatson

From Dartford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not much to complain about!
On the whole this was an excellent place to stay and good value for money. We had a few problems on check in, but were given a complimentary drink due to the delay in being able to access our room. We were wrongly allocated a double instead of a twin, but this was quickly sorted out. The only negative we found with our room was that there was only enough milk on the tea tray for one person to have a drink on arrival. There should have been enough of everything to tide us both over until we left the next morning.

Reviewed by
Angela G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Iconic British Hotel - But no dining room
The overall quality and service of The Grand lived up to all our expectations. Concierge service was excellent. Breakfast was very good for buffet style, but we have never had to pay extra for smoked haddock. The Grand afternoon tea was excellent.
GB1 is the hotel restaurant, the seafood menu is outstanding and cooking is very good. But it is not a hotel dining room, it is noisy, gimmicky and there is no 'dining experience'. The main area comprises a large central bar/service facility with bar stools, and remaining seating is banquettes around the walls. Inexplicably, the adjoining dining room GB2 is opened for breakfast but not for dinner. Could not recommend The Grand without explaining the lack of dining room.

Reviewed by
colin h

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a lovely few days away
Had a lovely stay, the staff were very friendly and helpful although I did think it was a little over priced for what it was

Reviewed by
Samantha B

From Ibstock, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not all guests are equal
We stayed two nights because we thought it would be nice to have a short break in a nice hotel, use the sauna, relax and we got a good deal via late rooms. First shock, not the hotels fault but could be mentioned, is that parking costs £25 a day, bigger shock, guests don't get access to the Spa, cheapest treatment was £59 each so for £120 we could have had a sauna and steam room. Biggest shock, two-class breakfast, there is a lovely breakfast room and terrace - which we were walked through at near running pace by an unfriendly host, into a large room filled with temporary tables and chairs that hotels use for events. Admittedly we didn't get down until 10am, breakfast runs until 11 (which is good), cooked breakfast was really good but fruit, yogurts etc were all near empty, there were never bowls or plates so you would have to ask someone to go and get some, they would take 5 minutes and then give the impression you had really put them out. Not only do the staff not make any effort to make you feel valued as a guest, they make you feel inferior - really not what I go on holiday for. I am sure if you turn up in a Bentley and stay in a suite you get a 4* experience, but we just wished we had stayed at a smaller hotel where they might actually have been pleased to see us.

Reviewed by
N Jeffreys

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

grand hotel brighton
wonderful hotel stayed several times and have never had a bad experience yet would recommend this hotel to all visiting brighton. excellent service, wonderful friendly but professional staff.

Reviewed by
sharon e

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rather disappointing!
Very clean, breakfast good but spoilt by industrial fun running all night (although told it would be switched off by 11pm) so got very little sleep. Also window screwed shut in one room so very stuffy, provided with air con that had a mind of it's own!

Reviewed by
S Hobbs

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

superb 5 star
excellent only stayed a night but everything was top drawer

Reviewed by
Chris E

From Sidcup, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next