No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Stoneycroft Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
5-7 ELMFIELD AVENUE , LEICESTER, LE2 1RB
The Stoneycroft Hotel, is a privately run hotel in Leicester, only a few minutes walk from Leicester City Centre, and Leicestershire's world famous De Montfort Hall. Both Leicester University, De Montfort University and Leicester Train Station are within walking distance, yet this Leicester hotel is situated in a peaceful avenue off the main A6 London road.

At the Stoneycroft hotel you're assured a warm welcome. Friendly staff are available to help make your stay both memorable and enjoyable. Whether taking a break, preparing for that important business meeting, or just visiting the area, the Stoneycroft Hotel provides accommodation in Leicester offering you comfort and value for money in pleasant, relaxing surroundings.

The hotel has a Reynard's restaurant, which is open 7 days a week, to non-residents and residents alike. It is one of the finest restaurants in Leicester city centre with an excellent reputation for good food and service. We provide catering for all sorts of functions, and self-catering services are also available.
Picture of Stoneycroft Hotel, LEICESTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 73 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
41% recommended this accommodation to a friend 46% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An honest review
The room they put us in 'the honeymoon suite' had a broken radiator that was dripping in to a cup and had overflowed several times over meaning that we had no heating on a cold November day and the floor was soaking wet. We brought this to the attention of the hotel staff who said they'd have a look but that they didn't have any spare rooms to move us to. We went out for six hours and when we came back they hadn't even looked at it (by then it was 23:30) but when pushed they found another room for us. The second room was no better and had a constant drip of dirty water coming from the ceiling and again a soaking floor. Also the ceiling outside our room was so wet and black that it looked like it was about to collapse. Aside from this the general state and cleanliness of both rooms left much to be desired. Although the hotel staff listened to our complaints they didn't seemed shocked and didn't even apologise for the inconvenience. That said the breakfast was good but not good enough to make me ever want to recommend this place!

Reviewed by
c brook

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

more of a homeless shelter
was horrible did even have a lock on the room doors both mornings cleaners just walked in without knocking and could not speak a word or English.
got told to turn the telly down then the following night there were music on in the bar really loud until 2 in the morning and the had the cheek to tell me to turn the tv down at 12 pm!! altogether horrible dirty place dont be fooled by the pictures i didnt reconise the plase when i actually got there!!!!

Reviewed by
jack m

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In the midst of a refurbishment
Parts of the hotel are very dated , in need of the refurbishment that is currently in progress. My room was basic but spotlessly clean and was 90% refurbished. Just the door required painting. They operated on the minimum staffing levels but appeared to cover the basics. We got what we paid for and I would be happy to use again for a low cost stay. The breakfast was adequate, no frills with no obvious vegetarian options. They coped well with the early morning rush.

Reviewed by
Malcolm P

From Diss, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very bad hotel..
Rooms and hotel dated and in need of a up date...hotel very cold and the food...where do I start? Went down for breakfast at 7 am. ..food arrived at 7.45 and was cold! Avoid with all cost...

Reviewed by
k hinder

From Leigh, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money
very good value for money and veryfriendly people

Reviewed by
S sreedharan

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stop
You get what you pay for....and I didn't pay much

Reviewed by
Ben W

From Singapore
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shabby
A bit dilapidated, main room light wasn't working, shower head fell off whilst using it. Quite dated in decor. Served its purpose as a bed for the night, nothing more.

Reviewed by
Tony M

From Coalville, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable one night stay, would have stayed longer if plans hadn't needed us to move on.
Parking good, Reception very helpful.
No lift - hard work for pensioners to access 2nd floor, otherwise ok
Black marks on carpet between beds and plug in hand basin "unsightly" but worked OK,
Top of small milk carton from previous guest on bathroom floor,
Otherwise very comfortable.

Reviewed by
Donald S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room very shabby carpet very stained bed side light not working double bed in what should have been a single room furniture in bad state of repair oldstyle tv would not work as no freeview box no hot water at all bath panel smashed very thin walls hear everthing going on around you the only reason we stayed was because it was too late to go anywhere else the only good part was the breakfast waitress was polite and efficent even though dining room was like a dark cave

Reviewed by
D Lindley

From Knottingley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was basic for difficult to complain at £49 for a double room. With a little thought and money could be greatly improved. If you need a bed for 1 night on a budget I would recommend

Reviewed by
R Ball

From Glossop, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next