No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Stoneycroft Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
5-7 ELMFIELD AVENUE , LEICESTER, LE2 1RB
The Stoneycroft Hotel, is a privately run hotel in Leicester, only a few minutes walk from Leicester City Centre, and Leicestershire's world famous De Montfort Hall. Both Leicester University, De Montfort University and Leicester Train Station are within walking distance, yet this Leicester hotel is situated in a peaceful avenue off the main A6 London road.

At the Stoneycroft hotel you're assured a warm welcome. Friendly staff are available to help make your stay both memorable and enjoyable. Whether taking a break, preparing for that important business meeting, or just visiting the area, the Stoneycroft Hotel provides accommodation in Leicester offering you comfort and value for money in pleasant, relaxing surroundings.

The hotel has a Reynard's restaurant, which is open 7 days a week, to non-residents and residents alike. It is one of the finest restaurants in Leicester city centre with an excellent reputation for good food and service. We provide catering for all sorts of functions, and self-catering services are also available.
Picture of Stoneycroft Hotel, LEICESTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 73 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
40% recommended this accommodation to a friend 45% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stoneycroft Hotel
You get what you have paid for.

Reviewed by
B Syversen

From Norway
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

problem that heating could not be turned off in room 12
above only problem but convenient location

Reviewed by
john m

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You Get what you pay for
safe free parking ,clean, bed, linen and towels, hot water, cooked breakfast in price.
All I need When contracting away from home.

Reviewed by
peter o

From slough, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Horrified
We have never stayed at such a run down place. It should be closed down, it is obviously being run down so why do Late Rooms keep it on their books. We had one night there, it was awful.

Reviewed by
P Smith

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

no curtains to the first two rooms were allocated, TV and phone didnt work either
I was allocated a room and only to discover when we got into that room that it did not have curtains. had to go downstairs to the reception to report this. I was then given a key to another room and again the same story, the blind was laying on the window sill. I had to go downstairs again to tell the receptionist of this finding. I was then given this room which had curtains but then we could not get the TV to work. She had told me that the remote control of the TV would be in the room but we couldnt find it. we tried the phone which was in the room but it wasn't working. we then rang reception from our mobile phone but the receptionist said we had to come and pick it from downstairs. as if that wasn't enough, we then had to try four different remote controls but none was working. The hotel is dirty with paint marks on carpet and on staircases.

Reviewed by
wellman R

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of the worst hotels i have stayed in.NEVER GO THERE again,
The room was dull bath room door no lock, door handle loose, ho hanging hooks in the bathroom.
Initially side lights not working. Bed linen stained and stale smell.
Breakfast, poor quality. Glasses for juice and water not washed (was given Used unwashed glass.
Value for money ZERO.
WILL NOT RECOMMEND TO ANYONE. NOT WORTH EVEN £5.00 PER NIGHT.
Hostel accommodation better.
We feel we have wasted money
probably better.

Reviewed by
Mahomed Daud

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Years Eve - Poor Quality Hotel
Me and my partner got to the hotel paying £60 for a room with massive holes in the walls, a dirty bathroom and very dirty carpets. There were towels lay out on the bed and the bed was made nicely however it did not make up for the cracks in the walls and ceiling. We had the radiator on all night and it was still very cold. The staff were helpful however they were quite rude when we enquired about guests. Other hotels we have stayed at have let guests get changed and leave - this hotel does not. Everyone was moaning about their rooms that night, dirty or appliances not working. The stairs are very steep to get to rooms. We would not use this hotel again or recommend it.

Reviewed by
H Buckland

From Pershore, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value for money , room clean other than carpets , shower could ave been hotter
Very good value , customer service good , very helpful on phone didn't eat breakfast as left early but over all good . Have def stayed in worse places for more money

Reviewed by
C Dickerson

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

worst hotel room ever!!
Where do I start? The room had a plug socket coming away from the wall, which did blow my partners ghd's up in smoke. There were loose wires trailing from a phone socket, the heating was on stupidly high so couldn't sleep. The four poster bed wasn't assembled properly and was coming apart, the mattress was too small for the bed. The shower leaked and had no pressure. The room needed another coat of paint, was very patchy and half done. It was dreadful. The breakfast wasn't bad, very greasy. An awful hotel with a lot of issues to resolve asap!!!!

Reviewed by
Dale Pallett

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An honest review
The room they put us in 'the honeymoon suite' had a broken radiator that was dripping in to a cup and had overflowed several times over meaning that we had no heating on a cold November day and the floor was soaking wet. We brought this to the attention of the hotel staff who said they'd have a look but that they didn't have any spare rooms to move us to. We went out for six hours and when we came back they hadn't even looked at it (by then it was 23:30) but when pushed they found another room for us. The second room was no better and had a constant drip of dirty water coming from the ceiling and again a soaking floor. Also the ceiling outside our room was so wet and black that it looked like it was about to collapse. Aside from this the general state and cleanliness of both rooms left much to be desired. Although the hotel staff listened to our complaints they didn't seemed shocked and didn't even apologise for the inconvenience. That said the breakfast was good but not good enough to make me ever want to recommend this place!

Reviewed by
c brook

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next