No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Stoneycroft Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
5-7 ELMFIELD AVENUE , LEICESTER, LE2 1RB
The Stoneycroft Hotel, is a privately run hotel in Leicester, only a few minutes walk from Leicester City Centre, and Leicestershire's world famous De Montfort Hall. Both Leicester University, De Montfort University and Leicester Train Station are within walking distance, yet this Leicester hotel is situated in a peaceful avenue off the main A6 London road.

At the Stoneycroft hotel you're assured a warm welcome. Friendly staff are available to help make your stay both memorable and enjoyable. Whether taking a break, preparing for that important business meeting, or just visiting the area, the Stoneycroft Hotel provides accommodation in Leicester offering you comfort and value for money in pleasant, relaxing surroundings.

The hotel has a Reynard's restaurant, which is open 7 days a week, to non-residents and residents alike. It is one of the finest restaurants in Leicester city centre with an excellent reputation for good food and service. We provide catering for all sorts of functions, and self-catering services are also available.
Picture of Stoneycroft Hotel, LEICESTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
42% recommended this accommodation to a friend 47% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Left hanging by Laterooms
I arrived at the hotel to be told that they were full up. The receptionist checked the system and accepted that I had a booking with Laterooms but said that, because Laterooms had not faxed a copy of my booking to them, she hadn't been aware of it and had let all their rooms.
She helpfully phoned a nearby hotel, which she described as "clean", and asked if they could put me up for the same price. As a result I got to share a bathroom with six builders. Laterooms are still insisting this was regrettable but not anyone's fault.
Their solution/suggestion was that next time I book a room with them I immediately call customer services to make sure they have the booking, an exercise in (a) wasting time and (b) futility, as it wasn't that Laterooms didn't have my booking, it was that they didn't pass it to the hotel.
The stunning take home fact of the day is that Laterooms, this all singing, all dancing online service, relies on fax machines to ensure you have somewhere to sleep.

Reviewed by
Scott H

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good and welcoming
For the price it's value for money. Breakfast inc in £39 . Nice service and parking available. Will go again.

Reviewed by
R Thapar

From Southall, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value budget accomodation
The staff were friendly and the bed and breakfast service we received was acceptable for waht was charged.

Reviewed by
Robert D

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I hope they only had a bad day
I dont usually write reviews but I could not resist to share my experience with this particular hotel.
1. Upon my arrival the receptionist was very cold but fair enough I am not there to make friends although it adds up to the whole experience. It took me 4 trips to go up and down the stairs to sort out the tv in my room which initially was not working. The receptionist asked me to go again to my room to check whether the tv works (because 'it should be working') and on the fourth trip it transpired that she forgot to provide me with the remote control. Because the tv was very old I assumed that the remote control is not necessary. It almost seemed like I am bothering her when I asked whether there is anyone who can come to my room and sort it out.
The biggest disappointment was however that when I booked this hotel I specifically filled the 'special request' window whether my breakfast can be prepared on 'breakfast to go' basis as I was leaving hotel at 05:45hrs. Upon my arrival I again informed the receptionist about this fact and she said my sandwich will be ready at 05:45hrs. Guess what... It was not! There was a different male receptionist who was looking at me bluntly what I am asking him about when I told him at 05:50hrs (thought i give them some time to prepare the food) where my sandwich was. Now his English was not perfect and he understood me that I want breakfast to sit down so he took me to the dining area which was dark as obviously no chef was there yet. So again I told him that I should have a sandwich ready because I need to go to work. So he just asked me what kind of sandwich I want to which i replied I was not fussy. After about 10mns of waiting he provided me with 2 toasted pieces of bread with thinnest layer of butter I have seen and 2 slices of ham! I mean I am not fussy don't get me wrong but really?? The quality and presentation of it did however not annoy me as much as the fact that I told them twice to do a little thing which they describe that they are capable of doing and it was not done.
Customer service is not even 1. Manner does not cost anything no matter how much the room was.

Reviewed by
Jana B

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bugs and No remote
This hotel I thought was going to be good, appeared nice and clean but once I checked in it was apparent it was a low cost place when I was told that there wasn't a remote for the TV. That was alright, but having to stand up to change the channel is annoying (such a first world problem) but then it got worse. I got back to the hotel after going out and was just starting to fall asleep when I found a bug in my bed. I thought because it was nice and sunny it had flown in through the window. Wrong, they seemed to be coming from under the bed. Not exactly the happiest of nights sleep!

Reviewed by
Owen D

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff just a little dated interior & the exterior looks worse than the picture
Nice friendly staff at reception & for breakfreast. The decor was dated throughout the hotel although there was a notice saying refurbishment was taking place but the parts I seen there wasn't much. The room was small but of the price can't complain. The light fitting on the wall was lose & the carpet didn't reach the walls on one side. Bed wasn't great but cleaning bedding & towels.

Reviewed by
Chris H

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Below average
Wasn't the best, but it did the job 4/10

Reviewed by
Sam T

From Bedlington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Apology for refurbishment understood.
Quite clearly the owner has seen the need for refurbishment. We needed a bed for the night locally and did not have cause to complain. The kitchen door was left open into the breakfast room which gave an interesting insight into the multitasking of the staff. They worked well together.

Reviewed by
G Wright

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value hotel
my sisters and I arrived and the welcome was very friendly all in all good service was real value for the money

Reviewed by
audrey stoodley

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not quite as advertised
The online brochure advertised the hotel as a short walk from the station which it is not - not a good start lugging a suitcase about a mile and a half. The staff are friendly enough and try to help although my mentioning the absence of soap in the room seemed to be completely alien as though nobody had ever asked for soap before! The room I was in was far too hot throughout my stay and, as the heating wasn't on, not sure what caused it or how it could be rectified. Food was pleasant and a selling off of wine made a purchase of pleasant wine very cheaply a definite asset. Breakfast was pleasant and cooked to order and the shower in the room was a good one. Not sure I'd stay again but have stayed in worse and the price was extremely good.

Reviewed by
Richard T

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next