Stoneycroft Hotel

3

5-7 ELMFIELD AVENUE, LEICESTER, LE2 1RB

Price From 59.19 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (80)

33% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • S Stewart

  • May 2015

Cheap and cheerful

Cheap and close to railway station.

About 20-30 mins from city centre.

  • C Saunders

  • April 2015

Comfortable but tired!

The Stoneycroft is a lovely building, in need of some TLC.

The room was very basic but the bed was comfortable and the power shower was excellent. Service was good and the breakfast was quick and satisfactory. Overall, the cost of £29 through Latebookers was excellent value. I hope someone decides to spend some money and give the old place a good facelift soon!.

  • Rhodri C

  • April 2015

Very tacky and I would never go back.

When we arrived at the hotel the receptionist who had no customer service skills whatsoever told myself and my girlfriend that we would be staying in the honeymoon suite which gave us the impression that the room would at least be clean, how wrong were we, the room was dirty, light shades hanging off the wall so the electrics were hanging out, hairs in the bed and there was no hot water.

We had previously called he hotel before leaving to ensure that a hair dryer and iron were accessible and we were told that every room is equipped with these but we had to wait 2 hours to access an iron and we had no access to a hair dryer. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Heather P

  • April 2015

frightening

The carpet was badly stained with toe nail clippings, the curtains were hanging off and only came half way down the window.

When I turned over in bed there was a big dip. The wall paper had big patches missing and there was no bulb in the over bed light. The door had a yale lock but no proper handle so was not very secure.

  • B Gage

  • April 2015

A night not to remember

From the poor service at reception, the curtain (not curtains) falling off the rail, the broken furniture in room 24 then the heat in room 38, the uneven floors and the LED lights falling out, gave a good impression of poor service.

When explained to the receptionist, all she said was "it doesn't matter, you are only here one night"

  • Nigel M

  • April 2015

Great location

Booked twin room through late rooms.com, rang hotel night before stay & was told we was to be in two single rooms as no twins left,which wasn't a problem as it was same value price as twin room,just surprised no one let us know.

On arrival we found convenient car park with plenty of room & checked in quickly the lady on check in desk very helpful & efficient. We was out most of day but on returning found manager very helpful & friendly on various occasions when called upon

Breakfast in morning was served from 8 till 10 which gave us plenty of time to wake up after a late night

Would certainly recommend hotel & would stay again

  • Elizabeth R

  • March 2015

Grubby and shoddy

Receptionist advised I had been booked into family room and not the single room I booked through LateRooms..

The room was extremely hot and no means on radiator to reduce the heat. Floor unclean, doors on bathroom and bedroom had been removed. It is stated that this hotel is undergoing refurbishment and the quality of workmanship shown in this room was appalling, it has been carried out extremely badly - the owners should employ a proper tradesperson. The bedding did appear to be clean but I would not put bare feet directly on the floor. There was no milk in the room to make a drink and the cups were stained and unwholesome. I left without breakfast as I felt that if this room was an example of the cleanliness then what did the kitchen look like. The receptionist works in a very shoddy area not the face to present to a paying customer. I would never stay here again. I suggest LateRooms carry out an inspection of this hotel and then review advertising it on their site.

  • Ben P

  • March 2015

Basic - got what you paid for but should have been cleaner

Bed was at least clean but the carpet was filthy with matted hair.

The corridors were dirty and needed hoovering. The walls were peeling and dirty. It was a cheap hotel but I think the standards of cleanliness should still be much higher.

  • Trevor D

  • March 2015

Much better than expected

Despite highly critical reviews on Trip Advisor, I found this one night stay quite reasonable.

I requested a quiet room which proved to be so. It was basic, but warm and clean. A few minor defects, but nothing serious. There were a few language communication difficulties apparent in the breakfast room, but overall the staff were well supervised and were trying hard to get things right. Compared to other hotel prices being charged in the city at a peak time, this was good value for money.

  • S Lark

  • March 2015

I liked it

This hotel is a mile south of Leicester station on the urban part of the A6, with a park just opposite.

It is an ideal place to stay for a short trip and very convenient for the city.