No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Don Valley Hotel and Bar

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
756 ATTERCLIFFE ROAD , SHEFFIELD, S9 3RQ
The Don Valley Hotel is ideally situated near to the Sheffield Arena for that concert or event which is approximately a 10 minute walk, English
Institute of Sports Sheffield which is a 5 minute walk, Meadowhall for a spot of shopping is a 20min walk.
It is situated 2 minutes away from the
M1 motorway Junction 34, and 2 minutes from the local tram network. The bus stop is just outside.Also we are 5 minutes away from sheffield town centre in a taxi or bus, super tram networks. If you don't want to use public transport,
just ask a member of staff who will happily call a taxi free of charge.
Very reasonable rates are offered for single, twin and double rooms, and also large rooms that can sleep up to 8 people (long term contractor
rates available). Family rooms are also available on request. Please note that the hotel does have 2 floors and there will be some stairs. If
you have difficulties with this please can you make a special note so you can be accommodated in the nearest room available. All rooms are
en-suite with TV and tea and coffee making facilities and Free wifi.
Daily special meals, breakfasts and snacks packed lunches are available from the 5 star deli/cafe Monday to Friday. If breakfasts are required
at weekends, you must pre order before arrival. On the ground floor is a low priced licensed bar with fine beers, lagers, real ales and spirits,
and a games room with big screens, satellite TV, pool table and darts.
There is plenty of free side road parking nearby, but we do have limited car parking facilities, which runs on 1st come1st serve basis.
Picture of Don Valley Hotel and Bar, SHEFFIELD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 89 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I slept like a log!
When I walked into the bar it had a very homely feel and the staff said they would show me to my room when I was ready (I was having a drink in the bar with friends beforehand.) The accommodation part of the Don Valley was very secure and could only be only be accessed with a pass. The staff were quick to find me a spare key when my key snapped in half and I wouldn't get back into my room! I must confess my heart sank when I saw a sign that read "music will be switched off in the week at 12 midnight, and on Fridays and Saturdays at 2am to respect the residents" as I was there on a Saturday night, but I didn't hear a thing! I was only awoken by some people returning to their room at 2.30am, my bed was so soft I just sank into it! My single room was fine, and everything I needed was provided - TV, kettle, tea, coffee, sugar, milk, mug, soap and things not mentioned on their website, like towels and a hairdryer. The room was really hot, the water was hot (when run for some time) and the shower was high pressured and also hot. My only complaint would be the shower head never stayed where I wanted it to and there was no shelf to put my shampoo and shower gel on while in the shower. I checked out before the bar opened in the morning but was instructed to put my keys in the letterbox and pressed a series of buttons to exit the Don Valley. Thank you to the staff of the Don Valley and, if I ever get invited back to volunteer at the EIS in the future (within very easy walking distance) I will be booking in again!

Reviewed by
K Shelton

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service
I only spent 1 night here, but will come back in the future. Check-in was open late for me and the service was friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Colin Rouse

From Hatfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Keep coming back
I'm a regular visitor to Sheffield and always stay at the Don Valley Hotel with half a dozen stays over the last couple of years. A very friendly well run place with good rooms and a decent price. Being just a few minutes from Attercliffe tram stop it's very conveniently placed for getting around Sheffield. But if you feel like a night in the Hotel bar is very lively with the owners, staff, and pub regulars all very welcoming and good fun. Will be back again in March!

Reviewed by
Stephen G

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Vallue for your money
The room had just been renovated and although this led to a paint smell, it also meant the room looked clean and tidy and nice. A bit pity that the renovation of the other rooms gave some noise but this was at an exceptable level. The building noises from the area however can be disturbing and one shouldn't have trouble sleeping with the sound of the cafe downstairs. A bit pity that there were no toilettries but otherwise we have enjoyed the stay and the room was worth the price.

Reviewed by
C Kraan

From Frome, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don Valley Hotel and Bar
lovely staff and room!

Reviewed by
L Bennett

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
The room was clean, warm and dry especially when you consider that outside it was -8 degrees, with ice and snow (there had been a dumping the night before). The water was hot, the taps and shower worked perfectly. There is secure parking at the rear, which is where your SatNav will take you. The hotel is dog friendly. The proprietors were friendly and approachable.

Reviewed by
Iain P

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent experience
We usual stay at the premier inn when we go to the arena but not any more now we find this place we would definatly go back really lovely welcoming staff and everything u could need its a proper pub loved it.

Reviewed by
kimberley broadhead

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for travelling workers
Arrived quite late in the evening and as a lone female traveller the bar being such a prominent part of the entry was a little overwhelming, but the landlord was welcoming and professional.
Room was clean, tidy, secure and functional, all one needs when it's a place to rest your head.
Great value for money and very helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Marika H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Five minutes on public transport from city centre, walking distance to Meadowhall.
very accessible to the lovely walk along the trans pennine trail to either city centre or Meadowhall.

Reviewed by
mandy base

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A cheaper alternative for Sheffield arena
I'd start by saying although it is above a pub the accommodation is better then expected. On arrival the guy showed me the security and told me where exactly to park around the back. I'd done a temporary park outside the gates. My room was a little cramped but it was a single room so probably to be expected. My bed was a bit uncomfortable and I could feel the springs at the end of the bed but generally speaking it was fine for a night's stay. Although I didn't choose to have food here I gather it isn't bad and priced reasonably, as are the drinks. Parking however is an issue. If you have a large vehicle parking in the backyard can be tricky. I was assisted whilst reversing out the next day and was on full lock! If you're looking for cheap and cheerful then this place ticks the box.

Reviewed by
Peter C

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next