No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Marton Hotel and Country Club

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
STOKESLEY ROAD , MIDDLESBROUGH, TS7 8DS
With 50 en-suite bedrooms, The Marton Hotel & Country Club is positioned at one of the premier sites in the region. Transport links for the hotel make it equally accessible from both the North and South of the country. Situated just 2 miles from the A19, eastwards along the A174, at the Junction of the A172 the hotel boasts a 300 CCTV monitored car park for easy and comfortable parking. The ever popular restaurant serves traditional, home cooked fayre, and offers a 2 course menu from as little as £6.95. The function facilities within the hotel also make it the perfect venue for conferences, parties and special occasions.
With Captain Cook’s birthplace located just behind the hotel, we are at the start of the Captain Cook Trail, journey along the local roads and pathways, and see where he lived his early life.

Day trips from the hotel are easy to plan, and you can marvel at the splendour of the North Yorkshire Moors and the quaint villages along the route to the coastal town of Whitby, with it’s stunning maritime views, preserved ruined Abbey, wonder at the association with ‘Dracula’, or head north and relive those nautical times with a trip to Hartlepool’s Historic Quay. You could enjoy the quiet and calm of one of the many sanctuaries and reserves, including the award winning RSPB reserve at Saltholme, situated only 6 miles from the hotel.

The hotel is located 8 miles from the lively village of Yarm, 4 miles from the town centre of Middlesbrough and 15 miles from Durham Tees Valley Airport.
Picture of The Marton Hotel and Country Club, MIDDLESBROUGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 122 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
57% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I suppose you get what you pay for
Cheap at only £40 per night and this was a last minute booking.
Staff were very friendly and polite.
Room was poor, smell of damp, no shower but there were tea and coffee making facilities.

Reviewed by
Ryan B

From Omagh, Regno Unito
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality time here! Great for the price. Would recommend

Reviewed by
B Brown

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sad to Say
I have stayed at the Hotel a few times in the past and whilst the decor etc. is a little tired the staff and food has been acceptable for the rates charged. This time however i purposely booked a 'recently refurbished' room in the hope that it would be better than previous, it was not. The bathroom had undoubtedly been refurbished but there was still a growth of black mould on the sealant around the bath. The room was sparse, no drawers to put clothes in and the louvre blinds were broken. Breakfast which we had only the 1st day was a mound of fried food dumped on a plate, not as i have had previously, the toasters were cheap and nasty too small for the bread which meant turning it around and resulted in the centre of the bread being burnt. The bar/lounge was not a place that anyone could sit in comfortably and enjoy the surround. Shame the same thought had not been applied to it as the Ballroom which had been refurbished for funcitions. The final day of stay book out time was 10.30am and i was feeling unwell and so took a little more time to sort packing. Reception were on the phone within five minutes of book out time to advise we needed to book out, it was not as if the hotel was extremely busy, several of the cleaning staff on the previous day had sat for over an hour drinking tea in a room at the end of our corridor. Such a shame for what was once an iconic building held in high regard.

Reviewed by
P Raybould

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate for my one night stay but in urgent need of modernisation and re-decorating.

Reviewed by
Terence Ellicott

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic Value for money
Bedroom was clean although the furnishings were quite shabby e.g. the chair in the room was split, the sink plug was too big, the bath whilst clean could do with re-enameling. The fan did not work and as the rooms are quite small it was very hot. But saying all that for the price we paid, we cannot complain. Would not recommend anyone to stay for more than a couple of nights mainly because of location. The food was excellent and the restaurant was nicely laid out real good value for money.

Reviewed by
james prince

From Penrith, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disgusting
The hotel is extremely out dated throughout and dirty. Within minutes of getting to my room I was phoning up other hotels to see if they had vacancies. The bathroom was filthy with green stains and grime in the bath, mould everywhere, wall paper hanging off and the carpet was filthy. Breakfast was disgusting and all the cutlery was also dirty. This hotel is in desperate need of updating or knocking down.

Reviewed by
Daniel M

From England
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Refurbished rooms
The refurbuished rooms have much imprved decor and facilities than the previous rooms I have stayed in. They just need a shelf, toilet roll holder and towel rail in the bathroom. The staff are always pleasant and helpful.

Reviewed by
Nell B

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for
Ok, this place is tired and well overdue a refit, but the price is very reasonable. The staff are very pleasant and helpful, the sheets are clean and the breakfast was excellent (bit too plentiful for us, but that's no bad thing). The old style telly in our room didn't work, but after contacting reception it was changed for a new one slimline one whilst we were out. Masses of parking, although it was full when we arrived because of a dance convention. But they left early evening and then it was very quiet. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

Reviewed by
Gillian R

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful, No wonder they make you pay before you've even seen the room.
Not a nice place, very dated and very very tired. Took pillowcases off they where terribly stained and mine even had blood on it, whomever decided when making the bed up that that was an acceptable pillow to pop a clean pillow case on needs a different occupation. They did replace with 4 new pillows within 5 mins. Breakfast not great. but ok. Stay if you have too. went for family wedding in area, my brother couldn't stand looking at a dirty nappy outside his window and left the wedding early to head home, even though he had to pay on arrival and money lost, he traveled home 3 hrs that night rather than stay in that hotel.

Reviewed by
M Parry

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recent visit to Marton Country Club
Overall the hotel was very dated. Reception old fashioned, although staff were courteous. Room was shabby - peeling wallpaper, discoloured paintwork. TV provided in the room was small and the remote control was extremely basic. Bed was fairly comfortable but had seen better days. Bathroom was ok - but also showed signs of wear and tear. I was brought up in the area and during the 70's the Marton Country Country Club was thought to be the place to stay - but I have to say this is not the case now. It seems that this place is still stuck in the 70's !! Needs a good overhaul to return itself to its former glory. Having said that the room was cheap - so I suppose I shouldn't complain too much. On the plus side, breakfast was good and the serving staff were pleasant to talk too - good north east folk ! I travel a lot for business and would have to say that if I was working in the Middlesbrough area for any length of time I wouldn't stay here.

Reviewed by
Ronald F

From Wimborne, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next