No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Westminster Hotel

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
21 Broad Walk , Buxton, SK17 6JR
The Westminster is a small,family run hotel which enjoys an enviable position overlooking the Pavilion Gardens.Your host Shelley aims to give her guests great food and good hospitality. There are 12 double bedrooms, all have the option of being single or double and an extra bed can be arranged on request. All the bedrooms have their own bathroom/shower, toilet, hairdrier, colour TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Downstairs there is a lounge/function room and a dining room. All rooms are non-smoking. The Breakfast Menu is flexible and made with fresh local produce wherever possible. The menu is adaptable for vegetarians or those with special food requirements (by arrangement in advance, although your special needs will be accommodated whenever possible). The main entrance to the Westminster is from Broadwalk, a leafy pedestrian way running along the Pavillion Gardens. Car access and parking is to the rear of the hotel from Hartington Road. The Westminster Hotel is listed in 'Buxton Guide', 'English Tourist Board', 'AA' and 'RAC'.
Picture of Westminster Hotel, Buxton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Break
Buxton was lovely and very easy. Hotel situation was perfect over looking the park. Friendly and efficient staff. Sure we'll be back.

Reviewed by
Stuart T

From Brighouse, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brill-ax in Buxton
Friendly and informative host, comfortable room with a lovely king size bed and great breakfast. We were pleased to be given a room overlooking the Pavillion Gardens

Reviewed by
PETER W

From Retford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel in lovely location
Just a one night stay, excellent location overlooking the Pavilion Gardens. Short walk to the playground, town centre, Buxton Country Park, Solomon's Temple and Pooles Cavern.

Reviewed by
Amy K

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming and excellent accommodation. Recommended!

Reviewed by
Victor L

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, clean, good value and friendly
Great little hotel, I'd definitely stay again. Simple, clean rooms, spotless en-suite and good breakfast. Great location within 5 minutes walk of Buxton.

Reviewed by
Chris B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Definitely would stay again
Very Clean and welcoming. Excellent setting with beautiful outlook to Buxton Pavilion gardens and very centrally located.
Hosts very friendly and a nice touch was having an Honesty bar. The breakfast was good
I stayed there with my adult son and would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
Angela Bell

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sons of Cream
We were pleased with the accomodation when we stayed in 2012, so when visiting Buxton in 2014 we had no hesitation to book again.

Reviewed by
A Morrison

From Nantwich, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect location, just 5 minutes walk to town centre, shops, historic buildings, restaurants and spa with parking by the side of the hotel. Hotel is warm, breakfast very good, tastefull with a pleasant customer service overall. Buxton is very convinient location for a Peak District visit and exploring the whole area which was our reason to book the hotel there.
The only two issues that need the attention: owners should invest into new bedsheets (shows the age of the bedsheets and the amount of the times it has been washed as it has "bubbles" all over) and shower door is very poor fit and flimsy however with a bit of the efford it is possible to close the shower door and thank use it.

Reviewed by
Jaroslava S

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our buxton break
Very friendly, welcoming and helpful, both the proprietor and staff. Hotel in a lovely setting. Quiet and relaxed atmosphere. Rooms very comfortable. Thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay.
Thank you.

Reviewed by
J Morton

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant location,friendly Staff

Reviewed by
j pennington

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next