No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Allington Manor

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
The Old Manor House, Allington, , Grantham, NG32 2DH
The Old Manor House at Allington is situated on the fringe of the Vale of Belvoir and in a tranquil Lincolnshire village with excellent road links. It offers a unique blend of beautiful and restful country life along with a variety of more lively attractions close to hand. The market towns of Grantham - birthplace of Isaac Newton and Margaret Thatcher - and Newark, with its strong reputation for antiques, are on the doorstep. The historic town of Stamford and also Burghley with its world famous horse trials, lie 20 minutes South; as does Rutland Water, Britain’s largest man made lake. Nottingham with its Castle, Tales of Robin Hood, Playhouse Theatre, Trent Bridge Cricket Ground, Forest and County Football clubs as well as The National Ice Stadium, Arena and Water Sports Centre are only half an hour away. The Manor is a beautifully restored Grade II Jacobean building. It is steeped in history with the original manor on this site recorded in the Doomsday Book. The current Manor dates back to 1450, evidence of cellars, attics, priest holes and all the human history that suggests, is everywhere. The Manor is a now a grand family home with all the warmth, comfort and quality that go with that and guests are welcomed with throughout their stay. Enjoy our deluxe accommodation, unwind at the end of the day in the stunning Drawing room and soak up the country while you relax in our beautiful garden and enjoy your coffee. For the more active perhaps you would enjoy a game of croquet, a ride on one of our bicycles or a walk on one of the many from the Manor. We invite you, to share in the history, the beauty of the setting and the sheer quality of all aspects of the accommodation and treat this lovely Manor home as your own.
Picture of Allington Manor, Grantham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay at beautiful Allington Manor
This was our 3rd stay at this beautiful hotel, located in a lovely quiet village. As always the Lord's Room lived up to our expectations. Spacious, beautifully decorated room. A very comfortable bed and freestanding bath you could take a swim in. The manor house and gardens are gorgeous and breakfast very nice. The village pub is highly recommended for a delicious evening meal. Can't recommend highly enough. Hope to be back for visit number 4 next year.

Reviewed by
Ann Brennan

From Blaydon on Tyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

To the Manor Born!
Enjoyed a couple of nights here, very comfortable and convenient for our purposes. We stayed in Lady's Room, and enjoyed the bath by candle light! Would stay again - pub with good food within walking distance. Breakfast choice fine with lovely homemade bread.

Reviewed by
Susan G

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A relaxing and laid back break in a beautiful manor house
We went here for a relaxing get away from our little ones. Wished we could have stayed an extra day! Sitting in the garden reading my kindle with a glass of red whilst hubby caught up on some sleep. Then up stairs for a lovely soak in the roll top bath in our bedroom before heading over to the pub just down the road for dinner. The room was a lovely size with beautiful bedding and was immaculately clean. The manor is steeped in history and is very impressive, but it felt very homely and was very relaxed.

Reviewed by
Suzanne C

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary weekend
Staff and service were really friendly and polite. Breakfast was excellent. Building full of character and old world charm. Very helpful advice about local places of interest. Also we had a bottle of champagne to celebrate and the management provided us with an ice bucket and glasses without any prompting, a really nice touch. Room could have benefited from a full length mirror, and minor repair to window frame in bathroom, these are minor points. The overall experience was very enjoyable and I would recommend Allington Manor as a comfortable and friendly base from where to explore the surrounding countryside.

Reviewed by
John A

From Halesworth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A step back in time
The whole experience was wonderful. So different and very difficult to compare with the general hotels we normal stay at. The building and contents reflected the period of the house dating back to the 1600's. The food (breakfast) was wholesome with bread being freshly baked on the premises.
We were well looked after. The cost of our stay was very fairly priced and we look forward to returning some day.

Reviewed by
J Wallbridge

From Guernsey, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful place to stay
We couldn't have asked for a more lovely room in a more perfect setting. A real gem!

Reviewed by
C Graham

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Impressionsw of Allington Manor
Friendly, helpful host, comfortable room, no power point for electric razor, bedside radio would be a bonus, house full of interesting furniture and objects. The Welby Arms served excellent food.

Reviewed by
Peter Keenan

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Building in Convenient Location
We stayed in the Lady's room which was extremely well presented - very comfortable and spacious. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Easy to find in a quiet village location with pub nearby. The only slight let down was the cooked breakfast which took a long time to arrive and wasn't as ordered, but this didn't spoil an otherwise a very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
M Gill

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better than most hotels
There aren't many places I stay on business that I would return to in my own time for leisure purposes but will be returning to Allington. A warm friendly welcome and a beautiful house steep in history and charm.

Reviewed by
Andy C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful room in quiet location
The manor was a fantastic place to stay! I need somewhere peaceful where I could unwind and concentrate before an interview; this was certainly both of those things! Gorgeous atmosphere to the place, the staff were friendly and could recommend various places to eat in neighbouring villages since they didn't actually do evening meals at the manor! Superb stay though!!

Reviewed by
Z Stephenson

From , UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next