No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - White Horse Guesthouse

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
DARTMOUTH ROAD , BRIXHAM, TQ5 0LL
Resident family proprietors Sandra and Robert welcome you to The White Horse Guesthouse in Brixham. Quality and style awaits our guests, which is reflected in the four-star guest accommodation which has been award from visit Britain and in our highly recommended observations in the guests comments book. The guesthouse is a detached Victorian villa and has many modern day amenities including WiFi Internet connection yet retains its original character and charm. The White Horse is set in its own grounds with substantial secluded rear garden.

We offer our guests staying a range of double, twin, single rooms and also a two bedroom family suite. All rooms are en-suite and have tea/coffee making facilities, TV's with DVD players, hairdryers and many more personal touches.

The White Horse Guesthouse is a short drive from the main Brixham town centre, sea front and popular harbour area. For golfing enthusiasts Churston golf course and Cayman short hole golf course are close by. If you would like to leave the car we have excellent public transport links close by for travel throughout Torbay and beyond.

We are situated off the Dartmouth road as you head into Brixham , behind the Weary ploughman pub and next to Churston station ( steam railway). Take turning opposite the ford garage and follow the road round to the right of the pub
Picture of White Horse Guesthouse, BRIXHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

all fine. lovely breakfast, fast service. friendly owners. very informative on local knowledge. comfy beds. bottled water with tea and coffee. nice touch.

Reviewed by
P Ware

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our break away
The hosts were very welcoming, and easy to chat to, they were consistently attentive throughout our stay. Our room was lovely, and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast was. delicious, with plenty of choice. Great attention to detail covering all our needs, including very good red wine!! Having the steam train closeby was a lovely bonus, watching it chug in and out of the station was very nostalgic and entertaining.

Reviewed by
t abbott

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice friendly place to stay
This is a very nice, clean and friendly place to stay. The owners were very helpful with advice about local transport and good places to eat. The room was tastefully decorated and the beds extremely comfortable

Reviewed by
PATRICIA GUILFOYLE

From Tiverton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only stayed for the niight
We were travelling down for a friends birthday party and were concerned that we only had the choice of 2 hotels as it was a festival weekend in Brixham. The White Horse however didn't disappoint. The twin room (number 5) was extremely clean with a very small en suite included. Lovely views out of the window and as it's only a small guesthouse, not loads of noise late at night. Breakfast was superb and the hospitality of the owners a credit to them. Would definitely return.

Reviewed by
D Warden

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night for wedding visit
Great find. Quiet but close to all amenities. Clean rooms, quality furniture, lovely large white fluffy towels and comfy bed. Great hosts. Freshly cooked breakfast. Will be back!

Reviewed by
Caroline D

From Crediton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice people. Excellent room's lovely location (next to steam railway). Great Food . Will go again.

Reviewed by
n ward

From Reading, England
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

White Horse Review
This was a great hotel, Rob and Sandra were great. Its located about 4 miles from Kingswear and 3 miles from Brixham. Being right next to Churston Station and the Weary Ploughman pub it is in a great location.
The Twin room was excellent, clean with a nice view over the field and we couldn't hear the steam train from our room, although that wouldn't have mattered as it is a great sound.
Food (full English) was great also...I would happily recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
Mark Mackenzie

From stoke on trent, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Very comfortable, good parking.

Reviewed by
Sean G

From Blairgowrie, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a find
An excellent find. Will use again when in the area. Only a 30 mins lanes or cross country walk to Agatha Christies Greenway or Brixham in the opposite direction.
Enjoyed the optional evening meal menu which was very varied and enjoyable. No reason to venture any further.
Useful farm shop just up the road and a convenience store in the village also.
Added attraction is the steam railways station right next door.
You cannot ask for more.

Reviewed by
J KEMP

From Bedworth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent short stay
Welcoming owner, very relaxing, beautiful house and perfect accommodation. Comfortable and extremely well presented, clean and well worth a second visit. Yummy breakfast too!

Reviewed by
W Newens

From Alresford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next