No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
126 PENN ROAD , WOLVERHAMPTON, WV3 0ER
Easily accessible from the A449 and a short drive from Wolverhampton city centre, this hotel offers value for money accommodation and its own leisure facilities. Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel is in an attractive suburban setting. The hotel features leisure facilities including a sauna, fitness centre and indoor swimming pool. The refurbished cocktail bar and lounge offers a relaxing, modern setting. The Lounge Bar boasts Sky Sports, and is open daily from midday until late. The elegant restaurant offers a modern style of cuisine. Enjoy fine cooking and carefully selected wines. Within a short distance of the Goldthorn Hotel you can visit the Black Country Museum, glass-blowing centres, Wightwick Manor, safari parks, great pubs and steam railways.

All hotel rooms are modern with Free Wifi throughout and Free Car Parking
Picture of Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, WOLVERHAMPTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Inexpensive budget stop over
Staff friendly and try hard to please. Comfy bed and good standard of furnishings in room. Quiet guests. Downstairs furnished to a higher more modern standard, upstairs rather jaded -narrow corridors, old tatty carpet and dark wood - no lift. Needs a make-over.
Enjoyed a good swim in the pool, steam and sauna - but didn't like the idea of being visible on CTV in reception.
Pleasant restaurant - good starter and wines but disappointing main course - chicken (too little sauce) and uninspiring boiled potatoes and veg and friend's haddock was not cooked and looked as though it came out of a frozen packet.
Noisy room as at front of building near road. Secondary glazing on only central section of window in bedroom. No blind or curtain in bathroom - very bright at night due to outside light.
Full English Breakfast - excellent pot of decaf tea (unusually tasty). manageress very welcoming and efficient . Didn't enjoy the overcooked fried egg or taste of the button mushrooms but happy with the cereals, juices and toast

Reviewed by
l spencer

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice
Great staff, good bar, nice location

Reviewed by
D Koenig

From Las Vegas, USA
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice
Nice hotel, great staff.. Room was spacious and clean

Reviewed by
David K

From Las Vegas, USA
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, let us check in very early and were very accommodating. Areas like stairs, landing pretty dated but rooms and reception were nice considering price. Used pool, small but very warm :)

Reviewed by
C Lock

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid
I stay away most weeks on business and I would never go back to this hotel staff rude , very noisy hotel , floor boards creeked very loudly , poor nights sleep, upon check in other guests complaining about quality/ cleanliness of their room and insisting they were moved

Reviewed by
d bessant

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our weekend away
We arrived at the hotel quite late in the day, and due to wolverhampton being unknown by us the signs were a little confusing and ended up driving straight past and having to go all round the houses to get back there. upon finally arriving the staff were lovely very pleasant and helpful and attentive. signed in really quick and headed to the room. the room was small but clean and well presented. everything tidy in the bathroom and well lit. During our stay i used the pool and steam room and again everything was lovely and clean and easy to use. The only issue that i had for my stay was that having issues with my hip and knee i use a crutch and the rooms were up at least 1 flight of stairs (2 for us ) and even though they had disabled parking bays they didn't have a lift which would make me think twice about booking if you have a mobility issue

Reviewed by
Avril Robinson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bad room & experience
Room only had single glazing windows so v noisy road noise as is positioned on a dual carraigeway & also from other guests chatting while smoking outside hotel entrance & v noisy when heavy rain came on windows. Terrible nights sleep & then no hot water for shower & shave in morning so went to meeting feeling worse than if I'd have driven down from home early the morning. Won't stay there again & would have refused to pay other than the receptionist being so nice.

Reviewed by
Adam Yates

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good nights sleep
Although the corridors to the rooms need a refresh,the room and bathroom were fine,room was a perfect temperature,although very hot outside.
Not much in the way of eating places in the close vercinity.(1 Indian,1 Pub/restaurant 11/2 miles away

Reviewed by
Russell G

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs a bit of TLC
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and clean (a crumb on the floor by the bed and the cleaner's hair in the bath on the second day - it was definitely not ours as it was long - were the only problems we found). It was just a bit tired in places. A hole in the wall where the door had been crashed against it a few times, wood veneer missing off shelves - very minor things. Our biggest problem was that the door to the bathroom didn't open fully because of the towel rail and I badly bruised my hip on the door handle when I tried to walk through. However, I reported it to the staff who asked me to fill in an accident form, offered to change our room and started discussing how the situation could be improved. We were very impressed. The only other problem I had was breakfast. On the first morning we were told everything available was out on the buffet. Not being a fan of cooked breakfast, my choice was cereal, fruit and toast. No flavoured yoghurt was available. However on the second morning, a different waitress offered us a choice of eggs and porridge. I love porridge and would have enjoyed it both mornings. Then our original waitress came in and told customers on another table that everything available was out on the buffet. Why was she not offering porridge, etc (or why was there no menu on the table offering other choices?) All in all though, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely use the hotel again.

Reviewed by
Jan Dunstan

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired decor and stuffy rooms
I stayed here a couple of years ago and thought it was pretty decent for the money so decided to book again when I was in the area. I was pretty disappointed if I'm honest. The corridors were hot and stuffy and my room needed a paint job. The bathroom was ok but could have done with updating. We decided to eat in the hotel but the restaurant was dead and felt like a strange atmosphere. My girlfriend described it as "like an old people's home". We also had breakfast and the butter on my table hat water in it?! And their were half finished pots of jam. The cooked breakfast was ok but not worth a tenner each and the toast was little more then warm bread. I have stayed here a few times over the years but I think this would be my last.

Reviewed by
Drew T

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next