No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
126 PENN ROAD , WOLVERHAMPTON, WV3 0ER
Easily accessible from the A449 and a short drive from Wolverhampton city centre, this hotel offers value for money accommodation and its own leisure facilities. Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel is in an attractive suburban setting. The hotel features leisure facilities including a sauna, fitness centre and indoor swimming pool. The refurbished cocktail bar and lounge offers a relaxing, modern setting. The Lounge Bar boasts Sky Sports, and is open daily from midday until late. The elegant restaurant offers a modern style of cuisine. Enjoy fine cooking and carefully selected wines. Within a short distance of the Goldthorn Hotel you can visit the Black Country Museum, glass-blowing centres, Wightwick Manor, safari parks, great pubs and steam railways.

All hotel rooms are modern with Free Wifi throughout and Free Car Parking
Picture of Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, WOLVERHAMPTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 53 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendliest staff ever.
My wife and I stayed one night as we attended a wedding nearby, we arrived a bit early and needed to change and the reception staff let us get our room earlier than advertised. the cleaning lady was very welcoming as were the bar staff and the young man who brought us room service meals later that day. I have travelled to lots of places and stayed in lots of hotels and B+B's etc and the staff at the Goldthorn were by far the friendliest.
Great work guys and thanks for the welcome.

Reviewed by
Graham H

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired decor and stuffy rooms
I stayed here a couple of years ago and thought it was pretty decent for the money so decided to book again when I was in the area. I was pretty disappointed if I'm honest. The corridors were hot and stuffy and my room needed a paint job. The bathroom was ok but could have done with updating. We decided to eat in the hotel but the restaurant was dead and felt like a strange atmosphere. My girlfriend described it as "like an old people's home". We also had breakfast and the butter on my table hat water in it?! And their were half finished pots of jam. The cooked breakfast was ok but not worth a tenner each and the toast was little more then warm bread. I have stayed here a few times over the years but I think this would be my last.

Reviewed by
Drew T

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't do it !!!
Spent 10 days here on business. - wish I hadn't ! Service was poor - spent many a 5 min session holding the bar up waiting for some service, and at other times had to wait for the bar man to finish watching ther match before he would come across, which he finally did making it clear to my collegaue and I that we were an imposition to his otherwise lovely evening watching TV. Not hot food at all served after 9pm - not even a pizza. My room was supposed to be a superior one ( I feel sorry for the others ). I had one small wardrobe, and not one draw to put any clothes in. ( even the phone was on the window sill as there was no where else to put it ). I stayed in the height of summer and the bathroom radiator was on full blast all the time with no way to switch it off. As mentioned, there for 10 days. Never had the sheets changed once!

Reviewed by
Paul B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Gold is starting to tarnish
Hotel is in a good location for access to the city centre and surrounding areas. The reception and bar areas look bright and modern, but as you leave this area and walk up the stairs it is immediately feels that you are going back in time with a much older feel to the rest of the hotel area. The room was functional and the bed comfortable. There were very few spare power points in the room. The bed was comfortable. Large car park for off road parking. The food generally was good although the evening meal menu is not as big as many other hotels

Reviewed by
Michael Bristow

From Dartford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff very helpfull

Reviewed by
tom c

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed here when attending a wedding reception. Had full use of pool and other facilities, staff were extremely helpful and friendly, hotel was really clean. Had a great stay would definitely recommend. Value for money.

Reviewed by
Nicola H

From Alfreton, England
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mercure Goldthorne, Wolverhampton
Good clean functional hotel .Had a superior room which had a queen size bed.Bathroom recently refurbished,very clean and everything worked.
Very helpful efficient staff.The hotel does have an indoor swimming pool.
Penty of parking.

Reviewed by
Jeremy Green

From Okehampton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a great experience
I spent 3 nights here, I was very disappointed indeed. I only had 1 evening meal which cost £14.00, burger and chips. McDonald's is a of much better quality.
I had very little sleep due to creeking doors and floorboards through the night. To top it all, there was a sex marathon in the next room which started at 2100hrs and finally finished at about 0230hrs.
I was in Wolverhampton on a course which was very tiring .
I will never say or recommend this Hotel to anyone for the future.
I will be taking this further to claim some compensation!!!

Reviewed by
Craig H

From Barry, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Service
Had brilliant stay at the hotel, the staff were very friendly and made the stay more enjoyable. Excellent value for money. Will definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
C Cosby

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel with good facilities
Second time I have stayed here. A lovely little hotel with good facilities. Restaurant food available at the bar (just have to ask for the menu) and the chef is great.
Pool, sauna and steam room a bit tired but worth going in.
Rooms are good especially if you get to stay in the business centre as it is really quiet down there and away from the road
Would recommend this hotel to anyone. will definitely stay here again when I am next in Wolverhampton

Reviewed by
J Hewitt

From Minehead, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next