No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
126 PENN ROAD , WOLVERHAMPTON, WV3 0ER
Easily accessible from the A449 and a short drive from Wolverhampton city centre, this hotel offers value for money accommodation and its own leisure facilities. Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel is in an attractive suburban setting. The hotel features leisure facilities including a sauna, fitness centre and indoor swimming pool. The refurbished cocktail bar and lounge offers a relaxing, modern setting. The Lounge Bar boasts Sky Sports, and is open daily from midday until late. The elegant restaurant offers a modern style of cuisine. Enjoy fine cooking and carefully selected wines. Within a short distance of the Goldthorn Hotel you can visit the Black Country Museum, glass-blowing centres, Wightwick Manor, safari parks, great pubs and steam railways.

All hotel rooms are modern with Free Wifi throughout and Free Car Parking
Picture of Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, WOLVERHAMPTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated accommodation
Outside Wolverhampton,on busy road Dated & tired Hotel, tiny room creaky floorboards,expensive bar £6.75 for a glass of wine,would not stop again or recommend to anyone else.......sorry but this Hotel needs a makeover
Never stayed in a Mecure Hotel before .......would probably give them a miss on the back of this visit

Reviewed by
Martin W

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely hotel
A very clean and comfortable hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. The food was delicious but a little overpriced.

Reviewed by
C L H

From , England
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice room for the price I paid - but not 4* quality.
The hotel itself is lovely, the reception welcoming, the staff very friendly, and I enjoyed my stay.
The room I was given was clearly the room they didn't care about very much, but at the price I paid I can hardly complain! (I paid less than 10% of the full asking price).
It was a nice room, nicely laid out with a gorgeously comfy bed, a desk, TV, kettle, and everything else you'd expect. There were small issues though, which is why I believe they offered the room at such an affordable rate:
-The runner across the bed had spots of food from previous guests.
-There were bits of mildew in the bathroom, in the artex.
-The shower head was cracking.
-The door frame was broken down one side and half the lock was missing - it looked like someone had previously forced the door. Thankfully the door was un-openable from the outside.
Having said all this, I would stay again as for the price I paid I have stayed in far worse places. The rest of the hotel was rather lovely, I just wish a little more attention had been paid to the room.

Reviewed by
Hannah H

From Liskeard, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Inexpensive budget stop over
Staff friendly and try hard to please. Comfy bed and good standard of furnishings in room. Quiet guests. Downstairs furnished to a higher more modern standard, upstairs rather jaded -narrow corridors, old tatty carpet and dark wood - no lift. Needs a make-over.
Enjoyed a good swim in the pool, steam and sauna - but didn't like the idea of being visible on CTV in reception.
Pleasant restaurant - good starter and wines but disappointing main course - chicken (too little sauce) and uninspiring boiled potatoes and veg and friend's haddock was not cooked and looked as though it came out of a frozen packet.
Noisy room as at front of building near road. Secondary glazing on only central section of window in bedroom. No blind or curtain in bathroom - very bright at night due to outside light.
Full English Breakfast - excellent pot of decaf tea (unusually tasty). manageress very welcoming and efficient . Didn't enjoy the overcooked fried egg or taste of the button mushrooms but happy with the cereals, juices and toast

Reviewed by
l spencer

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice
Great staff, good bar, nice location

Reviewed by
D Koenig

From Las Vegas, USA
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice
Nice hotel, great staff.. Room was spacious and clean

Reviewed by
David K

From Las Vegas, USA
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, let us check in very early and were very accommodating. Areas like stairs, landing pretty dated but rooms and reception were nice considering price. Used pool, small but very warm :)

Reviewed by
C Lock

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid
I stay away most weeks on business and I would never go back to this hotel staff rude , very noisy hotel , floor boards creeked very loudly , poor nights sleep, upon check in other guests complaining about quality/ cleanliness of their room and insisting they were moved

Reviewed by
d bessant

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our weekend away
We arrived at the hotel quite late in the day, and due to wolverhampton being unknown by us the signs were a little confusing and ended up driving straight past and having to go all round the houses to get back there. upon finally arriving the staff were lovely very pleasant and helpful and attentive. signed in really quick and headed to the room. the room was small but clean and well presented. everything tidy in the bathroom and well lit. During our stay i used the pool and steam room and again everything was lovely and clean and easy to use. The only issue that i had for my stay was that having issues with my hip and knee i use a crutch and the rooms were up at least 1 flight of stairs (2 for us ) and even though they had disabled parking bays they didn't have a lift which would make me think twice about booking if you have a mobility issue

Reviewed by
Avril Robinson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bad room & experience
Room only had single glazing windows so v noisy road noise as is positioned on a dual carraigeway & also from other guests chatting while smoking outside hotel entrance & v noisy when heavy rain came on windows. Terrible nights sleep & then no hot water for shower & shave in morning so went to meeting feeling worse than if I'd have driven down from home early the morning. Won't stay there again & would have refused to pay other than the receptionist being so nice.

Reviewed by
Adam Yates

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next