Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > North West England > Cheshire > Chester Hotels > ABode Chester - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - ABode Chester - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Grosvenor Road , Chester, CH1 2DJ
ABode's fifth opening and the first new build. The hotel features 84 Comfortable, Desirable, Enviable and Fabulous bedrooms all fitted to ABode'€™s high standards and boasting magnificent views of Chester and the Welsh hills.

At the centre of it all is a stunning fifth floor Michael Caines Restaurant and Champagne bar. There is also a vibrant MC Cafe© Bar & Grill and an intimate Lounge Bar which are located on the ground floor and offer the opportunity for alfresco eating and drinking. ABode Chester also offers private dining and versatile meeting and event spaces for up to 100 guests.

The Secret Sanctuary within ABode Chester offers a wide range of luxurious and relaxing beauty treatments and there is also a residents€™ gym equipped with state of the art Technogym equipment.

Situated alongside Chester'™s historic racecourse and five minutes walk from the city centre ABode Chester is the perfect place to stay whatever your reason for visiting.

Group bookings constitute over 6 bedrooms and the hotel may contact you to issue a separate cancellation policy.
Picture of ABode Chester - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 135 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay
Lovely design and feel. I stayed in a basic room as only needed somewhere to stop over. As a 4-star hotel I assumed the bottled water on the table was complimentary and only saw the price list once it was open. I also didn't find the kettle/tea in the cupboard until the morning. If coming back for a weekend break I would probably choose a higher grade of room but overall a pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
K Brown

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spoilt by extras
The hotel is in an excellent location in the heart of Chester. The quality of the accommodation was excellent, our room was very comfortable and spacious, with very modern furnishings and everything you would want for a very comfortable stay. I did sleep well, but I thought that the mattress was a bit too soft for my preference. I was quite taken aback when informed at reception that I had to pay an additional £10 per night parking charge. They were quick to point out that it was advertised as such, but I wasn't aware of this and feel that it should be clearer when booking the accommodation.
We booked in for evening meal in the Michael Caines restaurant. The quality of food was very good, but felt that it was expensive and found it very annoying that there were additional charges for bread (£1.50 pp )and then for any side dishes (£3.50) per portion. We had wine with the meal, which was once again in my opinion expensive even at hotel prices and on reflection was horrible and I should have brought this to the attention of the manger.
We also used the gym facilities, which were good but limited due the small size.
Overall I enjoyed my stay and would return, a

Reviewed by
S Wilson

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful room! Fabulous staff. love it there!!!

Reviewed by
E Williams

From Llangefni, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wasnt what expected
photos that had been shown on website were what made us choose room & hotel only to be disappointed with a room that seemed like a standard double room not a superior!

Reviewed by
l edwards

From Holyhead, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chester short stay
Location excellent. Staff all very friendly and helpful, early check-in was no problem. Room spacious, well equipped and clean. Food very good in Michael Caines with attentive staff and excellent views from restaurant. Unexpected £10 parking charge per day!

Reviewed by
MIKE R

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Valentine's & 40th birthday celebrations
Staying at The Abode on Valentine's night with my husband and it was also his 40th birthday celebration too. We had an amazing weekend the hotel is pure luxury. We stayed in a luxury double room which had a bath in the room which was an added pleasure in the beautiful room. Unfortunately we couldn't get a place in the Michael Caine restaurant but it looks amazing. We where very happy eating in the lounge bar the food was gorgeous and the cocktails delicious. We went out for an evening meal then came back and enjoyed time in the champagne bar on the top floor it's gorgeous and so relaxing. They had a special cocktail platter on for valentines which came beautifully set out with the added touch of sweets perfect combination. All the staff where so friendly and went out of their way too make u feel welcome and relaxed nothing was too much trouble. Have no complaints cannot fault this hotel had the best weekend ever would highly recommend it and we will definately be back to stay again loved every minute.

Reviewed by
Dawn Baines

From Widnes, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location
A great hotel, new modern and has everything you need with super safe parking. I would stay again when visiting Chester again. Restaurant is very good. A bit pricey but you would expect that with this quality. A very quiet hotel great soundproofing. A real pleaseure to stay there.

Reviewed by
J CARR

From Glenrothes, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant hotel
Great hotel very clean and tidy. Room service absolutely brilliant.

Reviewed by
Nathan H

From Buxton, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved it!
Great room, modern and clean, great location just a few mins mins walk to centre of Chester. car parking on site a bonus. Would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
Dean P

From Dronfield, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best hotel stay in a long time
The hotel and service was fantastic. Couldn't fault a thing

Reviewed by
L Reid

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next