Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > North West England > Cheshire > Chester Hotels > ABode Chester - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - ABode Chester - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Grosvenor Road , Chester, CH1 2DJ

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

ABode's fifth opening and the first new build. The hotel features 84 Comfortable, Desirable, Enviable and Fabulous bedrooms all fitted to ABode'€™s high standards and boasting magnificent views of Chester and the Welsh hills.

At the centre of it all is a stunning fifth floor Michael Caines Restaurant and Champagne bar. There is also a vibrant MC Cafe© Bar & Grill and an intimate Lounge Bar which are located on the ground floor and offer the opportunity for alfresco eating and drinking. ABode Chester also offers private dining and versatile meeting and event spaces for up to 100 guests.

The Secret Sanctuary within ABode Chester offers a wide range of luxurious and relaxing beauty treatments and there is also a residents€™ gym equipped with state of the art Technogym equipment.

Situated alongside Chester'™s historic racecourse and five minutes walk from the city centre ABode Chester is the perfect place to stay whatever your reason for visiting.

Group bookings constitute over 6 bedrooms and the hotel may contact you to issue a separate cancellation policy.
Picture of ABode Chester - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 142 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent. Restaurant was booked out for a function, which was disappointing.

Reviewed by
Paul M

From Winsford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent choice
Had a balcony room even though small it suited the room and made a pleasant change to some hotels where opening the window seems impossible.
great location have stayed at the blossoms and the Grosvenor before and even though the Grosvenor has the edge on luxury ( but you do pay for it) but the ease of parking and excellent friendly and professional team here made for a very pleasant stay.
Cant comment on Michael Caines as we only had breakfast there but that was excellent and once again service excellent.
That impressed we booked again for 2 nights for my wifes birthday next month and also a good excuse to try the restaraunt

Reviewed by
steven boardman

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

40th birthday stay
Stayed at the Abode for my 40th birthday with my wife and my parents. The hotel itself is lovely, the rooms are very clean and to a high standard of decor, the bed is the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in, didn't want to get out of it haha. The breakfast was lovely, as much as you could eat for £11.50, sounds a lot but it was great value for money all in all. The staff were exceptionally helpfull and the girls in reception went out of their way to do what they could for us, even getting extra pillows and milk for us. The only thing that I wasn't really pleased about was that the champagne bar was closed on Sunday evening as the restaurant wasn't open. I think that whether the restaurant is open or not, the champagne bar should be available as we wanted to celebrate me being 40 with a glass of champagne on the roof top. All being said, I would recommend this hotel for a central place to stay, its a great base, only 5 minutes walk from the town centre and 2 minutes walk from the river Dee.

Reviewed by
AMANDA WORRALL-ARROWSMITH

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good

Reviewed by
Matt W

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

trip for work
The hotel was very well located, comfortable, very reasonably priced. However the staff at breakfast although very attentive keep forgetting items, like the coffee, butter etc.

Reviewed by
J White

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic
Lovely hotel would go again :)

Reviewed by
N Ward

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another great stay
I always enjoy staying here. The location is great, a short walk into the city centre, overlooking the racecourse and on the city walls.
The rooms are always clean with plenty of towels. A proper steam iron (not those horrible tiny ones you get in some hotels), room safe and the usual teas and coffees.
The bed may be a bit soft for some people's liking but it is luxurious to relax in, especially with a noon check out.
This visit was the first time I ordered room service and it didn't disappoint. Good quality, quick and ok'ish price.
The bathroom was sparkly clean although for those used to lots of lotions and potions, there is only a bar of soap and a combination body and hair wash, so don't forget to bring your own.
A taxi from the train station will costs between £5-6, walking will take around 15-20 minutes. If you are driving there is a large underground carpark on-site.

Reviewed by
Damian B

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very impressed
I really enjoyed staying at abode the next time I will visit I will be booking the luxury room. The staff where very kind and helpful and a serice with a smile wich is a big part of the job really pleased can't wait to book again.

Reviewed by
L Florence

From Abergele, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay on business
Excellent hotel in good location. Parking expensive (£10) but probably worth it for security and convenience. Breakfast £11.50 but definitely worth it for quality & service

Reviewed by
Chris W

From Holywell, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Away break in Chester
Excellent Chester hotel overlooking racecourse and within 10 minutes of central Chester.

Reviewed by
Steve P

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next