ABode Chester - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants

4

Grosvenor Road, Chester, CH1 2DJ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (127)

87% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Nicole B

  • June 2015

ABode Chester - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants

Just a little problem, not enough light in a room.All the rest was nice.

  • Brett W

  • May 2015

Disappointing!

Quality of the finish in the room was really poor, and value for money was an absolute joke.

I paid an upgrade to the room as it was for our anniversary that we booked to go to Chester and with no disrespect to the Travelodge but we'd have been better staying there for the room quality, size and value for money. Flowers and chocolates were purchased in addition to the room via the online concierge system but we arrived to near dead flowers and 5 thimble size chocolates in a battered box that you'd have thought had been thrown around the room a few times. To sum up the stay I'd say massively underwhelmed, disappointed and an occasion spoiled by the high cost and low quality. If the room would've been £60 then this would've been expected but not for over double that price. And the extras purchased can't be excused!!

  • Michelle Adams

  • May 2015

Understaffed

We arrived Saturday evening and checked in, booked a table in the Cafe and Grill bar for food.

everything went wrong, Wrong starter, waited ages for main course, ran out of food. When I asked what the problem was, informed no chef, but the serving staff were superb considering the abuse they were receiving from the majority of dinners complaining.

  • S Matthews

  • April 2015

Great room

Great room.

Lovely food in restaurant. Need more parking spaces for hotel guests though!

  • R Halliwell

  • April 2015

Not worth the £150 cost for the night.

Room was a bit shabby. Paintwork needed touch up lots of scuffs. Bulbs not working. Bedding had a big rip in in. To be honest, it wasn't bad...just not £150 worth. Stayed in better for less.

  • steven h

  • April 2015

excellent

Hotel in great position, very clean and has everything you could want on site.

  • K Jones

  • April 2015

great location, a little expensive though

  • David M

  • April 2015

Easter 2015

A little disappointing if I'm being honest.

The staff were friendly, but it just lacked attention to detail. Only one towel in the bathroom. Only 3 packets of milk. Lovely window views, but did nothing to keep noise out. Although a newish hotel, the room was looking a little tired.

It cost £136 for the night, in a superior room, with overnight park.

I've had better stays at Premier Inn for half the price.

  • Terence M

  • April 2015

One night stay

Room was quiet and clean.

I was meeting Colleagues for dinner after arriving a little later than planned at the hotel. Stepped into the shower and found that the drain was blocked and the shower tray was overflowing with gunge around my feet.....yuk!. Reported it to Reception on my way out and to be fair, it was sorted when I landed back in the hotel around 9.30pm. Overall, reasonable experience and the location is close to city centre amenities.

  • Tracey James

  • April 2015

This was booked as a treat for my birthday.

We had a room over looking the racecourse, the view was lovely. The room was big enough for our needs with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was big enough was an amazing power shower. We had booked into the restaurant for a meal and we were torally impressed by the atmosphere service and standards. The staff were completely attentive and the food impeccable. I would highly recommend this hotel and restaurant to all my friends and family.