Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > North West England > Cheshire > Chester Hotels > ABode Chester - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - ABode Chester - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Grosvenor Road , Chester, CH1 2DJ

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

ABode's fifth opening and the first new build. The hotel features 84 Comfortable, Desirable, Enviable and Fabulous bedrooms all fitted to ABode'€™s high standards and boasting magnificent views of Chester and the Welsh hills.

At the centre of it all is a stunning fifth floor Michael Caines Restaurant and Champagne bar. There is also a vibrant MC Cafe© Bar & Grill and an intimate Lounge Bar which are located on the ground floor and offer the opportunity for alfresco eating and drinking. ABode Chester also offers private dining and versatile meeting and event spaces for up to 100 guests.

The Secret Sanctuary within ABode Chester offers a wide range of luxurious and relaxing beauty treatments and there is also a residents€™ gym equipped with state of the art Technogym equipment.

Situated alongside Chester'™s historic racecourse and five minutes walk from the city centre ABode Chester is the perfect place to stay whatever your reason for visiting.

Group bookings constitute over 6 bedrooms and the hotel may contact you to issue a separate cancellation policy.
Picture of ABode Chester - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 142 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Girlie weekend
Hotel and staff were fab, champagne bar was buzzing. Will definitely come back. Only thing missing was the sunshine!

Reviewed by
denise s

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel
Absolutely wonderful place to stay, the room was excellent with a Lovely view over Chester. We ate it the restaurant which was truly superb. Couldn't fault our stay at all!

Reviewed by
T Carr

From Ellesmere, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All in all better than expected.
Very helpful staff, nice room with a view, no problems. Exceeded expectations to be fair.

Reviewed by
J Bradley

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Definitely recommend this hotel. The Bar lounge was nice and staff were very helpful. Great night

Reviewed by
Phil R

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could be improved in so many ways
The room was not really what I expected, I thought it was of the quality of a travelodge, considering I paid twice what a travelodge costs I would expected a few more facilities. There was no mini bar or fridge in the room, wardrobe space was limited, the bathroom was basic and the room only had freeview tv. Although the bed was comfortable and the room was very clean, a few more luxuries could be had for the money.
I ate in the cafe bar and grill just as it opened at 5. I was the only person in there, but the steak was not really what I expected for the Michael Caine label. Service was ok, but should have been as I was the only one eating. The desert menu could have been a bit more imaginative.

Reviewed by
Adam S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City break
The Abode is an excellent choice when staying in Chester. Very handy for the town centre. The views across the racecourse are lovely. Rooms are very clean, staff are very friendly and the food is excellent.

Reviewed by
SIMON R

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Definitely return again soon
Was a very enjoyable stay, didnt see many of the hotel staff, as we went out for dinner. Would stay here again, SUBERB views to wake upto, and the breakfast was delicious.

Reviewed by
R Macaulay

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel, location and cleanliness is of a very high standard

Reviewed by
michelle b

From atherton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

17th May!
It was our 17th wedding anniversary staying here on the 17th May! Nice spacious room, staff very friendly, a really lovely meal in Michael Caines restaurant. Overall a very nice stay & would definately stay again.

Reviewed by
Debra B

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing!
Wow, what can I say other than wow?!?
The hotel is in the heart of the city, just a 5 minute walk from the town centre shops and restaurants etc. It was easy to find and has an underground car park (£10) although spaces are a bit limited. The hotel is very modern both inside and outside and you just know it's gonna be good as soon as you see it.
The receptionist upgraded our room purely to make us smile which I thought was wonderful.
The room...wow (again). The bathroom was immaculate and again very modern. It was a really decent size, comparable to a good family bathroom. Little attentions to detail made it really good, like a section of the giant mirror that didn't steam up when the rest of the mirror did making it instantly ready for doing hair/makeup etc.There were yummy smelling complimentary soaps etc too.
The room was very spacious and oh my god the bed was huge! I'm 5'8" and when I laid sideways on the bed I could easily have slept that way on it. The mattress was incredibly soft and squishy but in a really nice way (not an old, unsupportive way). I would actually go as far to say that I want that bed! The only downside with the bed was that it was actually 2 beds pushed together (probably two 3/4 doubles) with one giant duvet over the top. This only caused a slight problem when I snuggled up to my boyfriend as it meant one of us was on the join which wasn't too bad but wasn't the best either. Having said that I still slept like a baby!
The room had floor to ceiling windows and we had gorgeous views.
The hotel bar looked good but we didn't eat or drink in there as it was too close to town to stay in.
The staff were very friendly and they let me remain in the carpark for the day even though we checked out that morning.
Overall I would say I've never stayed in such a wonderful hotel (that's even comparing it to top 5 star hotels around the world). It doesn't have a spa etc that the 5*'s offer but the room itself was head and shoulders above the rest. I would love to stay there again and am going to look to see what other hotels they have and probably arrange weekends away around their other locations!
All that and a snip at £89! I would have expected to pay £150 for it!
As I guess you've already noticed, I cannot praise the Abode enough, it truly was delightful!

Reviewed by
Jessica S

From Walton on Thames, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.