Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > North West England > Cheshire > Chester Hotels > ABode Chester - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - ABode Chester - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Grosvenor Road , Chester, CH1 2DJ

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

ABode's fifth opening and the first new build. The hotel features 84 Comfortable, Desirable, Enviable and Fabulous bedrooms all fitted to ABode'€™s high standards and boasting magnificent views of Chester and the Welsh hills.

At the centre of it all is a stunning fifth floor Michael Caines Restaurant and Champagne bar. There is also a vibrant MC Cafe© Bar & Grill and an intimate Lounge Bar which are located on the ground floor and offer the opportunity for alfresco eating and drinking. ABode Chester also offers private dining and versatile meeting and event spaces for up to 100 guests.

The Secret Sanctuary within ABode Chester offers a wide range of luxurious and relaxing beauty treatments and there is also a residents€™ gym equipped with state of the art Technogym equipment.

Situated alongside Chester'™s historic racecourse and five minutes walk from the city centre ABode Chester is the perfect place to stay whatever your reason for visiting.

Group bookings constitute over 6 bedrooms and the hotel may contact you to issue a separate cancellation policy.
Picture of ABode Chester - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 145 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful room!
We were upgraded and the room was the nicest room I have ever stayed in!

Reviewed by
J Lister

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Accomodation and location.

Reviewed by
Rob Bailey

From Leek, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very good hotel
Stayed for one night whilst attending a wedding in Chester. The rooms was a great size, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was modern, clean and in a boutique style. It was a good size despite not having a bath. (Upgrades will get you a room with a bath). Room service was good and reasonably priced for this type of hotel. The location is excellent opposite the castle and adjacent to the racecourse (If you like a decent view then try for a room overlooking either) - bars and restaurants are a short stroll away - there's a good level of parking available on site - check out was noon which enabled a morning walk around Chester before leaving (or a lazy lie in) - staff were very helpful on the desk and in the restaurant - all is all no complaints at all and would certainly recommend.

Reviewed by
N Howard

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Girlie weekend
Hotel and staff were fab, champagne bar was buzzing. Will definitely come back. Only thing missing was the sunshine!

Reviewed by
denise s

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel
Absolutely wonderful place to stay, the room was excellent with a Lovely view over Chester. We ate it the restaurant which was truly superb. Couldn't fault our stay at all!

Reviewed by
T Carr

From Ellesmere, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All in all better than expected.
Very helpful staff, nice room with a view, no problems. Exceeded expectations to be fair.

Reviewed by
J Bradley

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Definitely recommend this hotel. The Bar lounge was nice and staff were very helpful. Great night

Reviewed by
Phil R

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could be improved in so many ways
The room was not really what I expected, I thought it was of the quality of a travelodge, considering I paid twice what a travelodge costs I would expected a few more facilities. There was no mini bar or fridge in the room, wardrobe space was limited, the bathroom was basic and the room only had freeview tv. Although the bed was comfortable and the room was very clean, a few more luxuries could be had for the money.
I ate in the cafe bar and grill just as it opened at 5. I was the only person in there, but the steak was not really what I expected for the Michael Caine label. Service was ok, but should have been as I was the only one eating. The desert menu could have been a bit more imaginative.

Reviewed by
Adam S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City break
The Abode is an excellent choice when staying in Chester. Very handy for the town centre. The views across the racecourse are lovely. Rooms are very clean, staff are very friendly and the food is excellent.

Reviewed by
SIMON R

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Definitely return again soon
Was a very enjoyable stay, didnt see many of the hotel staff, as we went out for dinner. Would stay here again, SUBERB views to wake upto, and the breakfast was delicious.

Reviewed by
R Macaulay

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.