Reviews - ABode Chester - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants


Grosvenor Road, Chester, CH1 2DJ

Price From 688.22 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (90)

88% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Matt W

  • July 2014

Very good

  • J White

  • July 2014

trip for work

The hotel was very well located, comfortable, very reasonably priced.

However the staff at breakfast although very attentive keep forgetting items, like the coffee, butter etc.

  • N Ward

  • July 2014


Lovely hotel would go again :)

  • Damian B

  • July 2014

Another great stay

I always enjoy staying here.

The location is great, a short walk into the city centre, overlooking the racecourse and on the city walls. The rooms are always clean with plenty of towels. A proper steam iron (not those horrible tiny ones you get in some hotels), room safe and the usual teas and coffees. The bed may be a bit soft for some people's liking but it is luxurious to relax in, especially with a noon check out. This visit was the first time I ordered room service and it didn't disappoint. Good quality, quick and ok'ish price. The bathroom was sparkly clean although for those used to lots of lotions and potions, there is only a bar of soap and a combination body and hair wash, so don't forget to bring your own. A taxi from the train station will costs between £5-6, walking will take around 15-20 minutes. If you are driving there is a large underground carpark on-site.

  • L Florence

  • July 2014

Very impressed

I really enjoyed staying at abode the next time I will visit I will be booking the luxury room.

The staff where very kind and helpful and a serice with a smile wich is a big part of the job really pleased can't wait to book again.

  • Chris W

  • June 2014

Overnight stay on business

Excellent hotel in good location.

Parking expensive (£10) but probably worth it for security and convenience. Breakfast £11.50 but definitely worth it for quality & service

  • Steve P

  • June 2014

Away break in Chester

Excellent Chester hotel overlooking racecourse and within 10 minutes of central Chester.

  • A Truter

  • June 2014

This hotel was clean and very comfortable. The staff were very helpful and ensured you enjoyed your

  • Claire A

  • June 2014

Good location but just so pricey

This is the second time we have stayed at Abode so it can't be that bad.

I expect we will return as well but I do think it is over priced and we paid much less than the list price booking through late rooms. We paid extra for breakfast and for parking so it came to £135.00. The room was clean, nicely furnished but small. If we wanted a bath in our en-suite then we had to pay a further £15 which personally I think is a disgrace and strongly believe a bath should come as standard in a hotel of this quality. The views of the racecourse are lovely and the cooked breakfast was small but tasty and used good quality products. The staff are ok but it feels very corporate and formal rather than friendly.

  • S Cunliffe

  • June 2014

Weekend away

The abode was a lovely hotel, it's abit more than I would usually spend for a night but it was well worth it for a special occasion.