Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > North West England > Cheshire > Chester Hotels > ABode Chester - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - ABode Chester - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Grosvenor Road , Chester, CH1 2DJ
ABode's fifth opening and the first new build. The hotel features 84 Comfortable, Desirable, Enviable and Fabulous bedrooms all fitted to ABode'€™s high standards and boasting magnificent views of Chester and the Welsh hills.

At the centre of it all is a stunning fifth floor Michael Caines Restaurant and Champagne bar. There is also a vibrant MC Cafe© Bar & Grill and an intimate Lounge Bar which are located on the ground floor and offer the opportunity for alfresco eating and drinking. ABode Chester also offers private dining and versatile meeting and event spaces for up to 100 guests.

The Secret Sanctuary within ABode Chester offers a wide range of luxurious and relaxing beauty treatments and there is also a residents€™ gym equipped with state of the art Technogym equipment.

Situated alongside Chester'™s historic racecourse and five minutes walk from the city centre ABode Chester is the perfect place to stay whatever your reason for visiting.

Group bookings constitute over 6 bedrooms and the hotel may contact you to issue a separate cancellation policy.
Picture of ABode Chester - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 132 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Gorgeous hotel in a great location. Just across the road from the wonderful bar/restaurant "Convivio". Would definitely stay here again, room was huge and the cost was fab.

Reviewed by
Tracy D

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A well presented, quality hotel
I booked the hotel as a treat for my boyfriend's 30th and I chose the enviable plus room which was spacious and modern. The room was clean with all expected facilities and the Michael Caines restaurant was pricey but delicious.

Reviewed by
Jade W

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent opportunity to relax after Christmas endulgance

Reviewed by
p quinn

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gathering
Great hotel

Reviewed by
Tim H

From Tarporley, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room but poor duvet
What a fantastic room and hotel. Just a shame about the lumpy duvet and super small bed !

Reviewed by
Mark M

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel good location
As above

Reviewed by
mark williams

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor service at the reception...rude and unprofessional
Woken at 6am by the room next to us, as their child screamed and did what sounded llike shuttle runs up and down the room...I know this can not be helped by the hotel but the wood floors didn't help the cause. The The reception staff didn't ask how our stay was, didn't smile and were generally rude...on check out I was charged for breakfast which I asked to be refunded for to which I recieved no apology. All in all not worth the cost of the hotel

Reviewed by
J Barlow

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room we found was not as good as some 4* hotels we have stayed in. The lighting was poor in respect of doing hair and makeup as I personally do not use the Bathroom for this. The bar on 5th floor lacked atmosphere as it was more like a waiting room pre Dinner and Breakfast. Good that the hotel was full but no evidence of this in Bars! became aware of this though at breakfast when we had to wait for a table and waited quite a while for our meal and did not like the self serve items being displayed outside on the bar.

Reviewed by
M Hughes

From Oswestry, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Very Disappointing Stay
On arrival at 5pm I was told at the reception desk that there was a problem with the desirable room I had booked and that I would have to be down-graded to a comfortable room, although the room rate was reduced this was very disapointing as normally I would have expected to have been up-graded. The reason given was simply that the room had been 'trashed' which took us aback as we thought we had booked a decent hotel. What was also disappointing was that the hotel had had from 12pm checkout time to my arrival at 5pm to ring me and inform me of the change of accommodation, they didn't bother to do this. The room itself was not exactly 'comfortable', it was pokey, awkwardly shaped and freezing cold, not at all what I was expecting, my partner had to ring reception to get the heating turned on!! The TV remote didn't work either and the hair dryer kept switching itself off. The breakfast was awful, we had ordered the hot continental breakfast, the bacon and sausage was served on a heated baguette which was so hard it was impossible to eat. The fresh fuit was served chopped up in a bowl!! The only good thing I can say about our stay was that we dined in the Cafe Bar and Grill, and although my partner had to send back the linguine because it was tasteless and stodgy, the staff were marvellous, very friendly and attentive even though we were late due to the our room being so cold we had to wait for it to warm up before we could get changed and showered, and of course the hair dryer problem. All in all this was a very disappointing stay for us, this was supposed to be a romantic retreat for us, definitely wasn't value for money and I would not consider booking this hotel again.

Reviewed by
Paul Roberts

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean modern room with a great view from the balcony. Great location, just a short walk in the centre of chester.

Reviewed by
mike k

From Winsford, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next