Reviews - ABode Chester - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants

4

Grosvenor Road, Chester, CH1 2DJ

Price From 359.24 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (92)

89% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • J Mackenzie

  • September 2014

Great location in Chester

Stayed here for three nights.

Hotel in a great location for city centre, five minute walk. Parking on site but £10 per day so disappointing to have to pay on top of nightly rate. Free wifi good and balcony on room. Used restaurant for breakfast, very good. Thought the restaurant lacked atmosphere so chose to eat out in the evenings. Lots of eateries nearby and would highly recommend place next door for drinks and food. Out of front door, turn left and short walk, about 300yards .

  • Jason B

  • September 2014

Beautiful hotel, location to the city centre is perfect.

service in restaurant is a little slow. I would highly recommend this hotel

  • david taylor

  • August 2014

Super

Beat place we have ever stayed

  • Paul M

  • August 2014

Decent.

Restaurant was booked out for a function, which was disappointing.

  • steven boardman

  • August 2014

excellent choice

Had a balcony room even though small it suited the room and made a pleasant change to some hotels where opening the window seems impossible.

great location have stayed at the blossoms and the Grosvenor before and even though the Grosvenor has the edge on luxury ( but you do pay for it) but the ease of parking and excellent friendly and professional team here made for a very pleasant stay. Cant comment on Michael Caines as we only had breakfast there but that was excellent and once again service excellent. That impressed we booked again for 2 nights for my wifes birthday next month and also a good excuse to try the restaraunt

  • AMANDA WORRALL-ARROWSMITH

  • July 2014

40th birthday stay

Stayed at the Abode for my 40th birthday with my wife and my parents.

The hotel itself is lovely, the rooms are very clean and to a high standard of decor, the bed is the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in, didn't want to get out of it haha. The breakfast was lovely, as much as you could eat for £11.50, sounds a lot but it was great value for money all in all. The staff were exceptionally helpfull and the girls in reception went out of their way to do what they could for us, even getting extra pillows and milk for us. The only thing that I wasn't really pleased about was that the champagne bar was closed on Sunday evening as the restaurant wasn't open. I think that whether the restaurant is open or not, the champagne bar should be available as we wanted to celebrate me being 40 with a glass of champagne on the roof top. All being said, I would recommend this hotel for a central place to stay, its a great base, only 5 minutes walk from the town centre and 2 minutes walk from the river Dee.

  • Matt W

  • July 2014

Very good

  • J White

  • July 2014

trip for work

The hotel was very well located, comfortable, very reasonably priced.

However the staff at breakfast although very attentive keep forgetting items, like the coffee, butter etc.

  • N Ward

  • July 2014

fantastic

Lovely hotel would go again :)

  • Damian B

  • July 2014

Another great stay

I always enjoy staying here.

The location is great, a short walk into the city centre, overlooking the racecourse and on the city walls. The rooms are always clean with plenty of towels. A proper steam iron (not those horrible tiny ones you get in some hotels), room safe and the usual teas and coffees. The bed may be a bit soft for some people's liking but it is luxurious to relax in, especially with a noon check out. This visit was the first time I ordered room service and it didn't disappoint. Good quality, quick and ok'ish price. The bathroom was sparkly clean although for those used to lots of lotions and potions, there is only a bar of soap and a combination body and hair wash, so don't forget to bring your own. A taxi from the train station will costs between £5-6, walking will take around 15-20 minutes. If you are driving there is a large underground carpark on-site.