Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > North West England > Cheshire > Chester Hotels > ABode Chester - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - ABode Chester - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Grosvenor Road , Chester, CH1 2DJ

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

ABode's fifth opening and the first new build. The hotel features 84 Comfortable, Desirable, Enviable and Fabulous bedrooms all fitted to ABode'€™s high standards and boasting magnificent views of Chester and the Welsh hills.

At the centre of it all is a stunning fifth floor Michael Caines Restaurant and Champagne bar. There is also a vibrant MC Cafe© Bar & Grill and an intimate Lounge Bar which are located on the ground floor and offer the opportunity for alfresco eating and drinking. ABode Chester also offers private dining and versatile meeting and event spaces for up to 100 guests.

The Secret Sanctuary within ABode Chester offers a wide range of luxurious and relaxing beauty treatments and there is also a residents€™ gym equipped with state of the art Technogym equipment.

Situated alongside Chester'™s historic racecourse and five minutes walk from the city centre ABode Chester is the perfect place to stay whatever your reason for visiting.

Group bookings constitute over 6 bedrooms and the hotel may contact you to issue a separate cancellation policy.
Picture of ABode Chester - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 142 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night was enough
The room was clean and fresh but difficult to see why it cost more than double the price of a premier inn. The room was no bigger and what it offered no better. Our room didn't have a bath but the shower worked - but wouldn't you expect it to?
We chose to eat in town so can't comment on the bar and restaurant.
Maybe we are not easily impressed and should expect less.

Reviewed by
Stuart C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend city break
Stayed at the Abode with my husband and another couple for a weekend break. Room was nice and bed was VERY comfortable. However 6 coat hangers for 2 people for 3 nights not good. Also light switch combination was a little complicated when operating from the bed. My husband became very frustrated with having to have our room access cards reactivated every day. Breakfast was barely warm and the first morning we had to remind the waiter that we had ordered 4 breakfasts as only 2 turned up. The last morning the continental buffet had run out of most things and was not replenished. We ate in the grill on 2 evenings and generally it was ok but the chicken dishes were very poor. One was a tiny over grilled breast with a small amount of fries which was supposed to Cajun but had never seen any spices and the other was in a thin sauce and not served with anything else, however stem broccoli was requested but when it arrived it was ordinary broccoli and not stem.
Would stay again but on a room only basis.



Reviewed by
Susan E

From England
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic restaurant.
The champagne bar and restaurant is outstanding, the best I have been to. Although pricey, it is a great experience and the service is outstanding.

Reviewed by
Anthony Davies

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chester
The hotel was clean & tidy ,The decoration was lovely . The room was great ,there was no noisefrom next door or above.The breakfast was ideal ,though slightly over priced compared to other hotels

Reviewed by
A johnson

From Leyburn, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rainy Chester, damp squid experience.
Had booked via Laterooms so had a good deal. On arrival offered upgrade for £15. Hotel very quiet so it would have been nice to have a free goodwill upgrade. Bill was incorrect and newspaper ordered never arrived. Expect better service than this. Champagne bar not open and bar was a disappointment. Long Island iced tea tasted watered down. Nice room redeems this review a little.

Reviewed by
S Ramsay

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice, but it's got noisy doors.
Bed was really comfy and got a good night's sleep.
Only one niggle......because we were on holiday, we wanted a lie in. Because we stayed Sunday night, there were obviously people staying on business and getting up early on Monday morning. The door closers could do with sorting out so that, depending upon proximity of the door, it didn't sound as though someone was discharging a firearm in your room.
However, that said, looking to go back to Chester again before Christmas and will definitely look to book at this hotel again.

Reviewed by
Ian T

From Barnoldswick, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

aBode Chester
Quality hotel. Friendly and efficient reception staff, good, clean comfortable room. Great location for either the racecourse or the city centre. Great weekend in a great hotel.

Reviewed by
Ian Patterson

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A place to relax
Nothing was too much trouble, the staff were friendly and the hotel airy and spacious. Situated within five minutes of the centre of Chester too and overlooking the race course. We would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Sian H

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay and great hotel

Reviewed by
c holdcroft

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Generally satisfactory but special requirement not provided, Breakfast OK but choice limited, Would have been difficult to eat in room because no table provided and only 1 chair. Decided not to eat in restaurant because very poor review at Canterbury Hotel. Not good enough for Michael Caines restaurant.

Reviewed by
J Powell

From Clevedon, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next