Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > North West England > Cheshire > Chester Hotels > ABode Chester - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - ABode Chester - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Grosvenor Road , Chester, CH1 2DJ

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

ABode's fifth opening and the first new build. The hotel features 84 Comfortable, Desirable, Enviable and Fabulous bedrooms all fitted to ABode'€™s high standards and boasting magnificent views of Chester and the Welsh hills.

At the centre of it all is a stunning fifth floor Michael Caines Restaurant and Champagne bar. There is also a vibrant MC Cafe© Bar & Grill and an intimate Lounge Bar which are located on the ground floor and offer the opportunity for alfresco eating and drinking. ABode Chester also offers private dining and versatile meeting and event spaces for up to 100 guests.

The Secret Sanctuary within ABode Chester offers a wide range of luxurious and relaxing beauty treatments and there is also a residents€™ gym equipped with state of the art Technogym equipment.

Situated alongside Chester'™s historic racecourse and five minutes walk from the city centre ABode Chester is the perfect place to stay whatever your reason for visiting.

Group bookings constitute over 6 bedrooms and the hotel may contact you to issue a separate cancellation policy.
Picture of ABode Chester - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 145 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean modern room with a great view from the balcony. Great location, just a short walk in the centre of chester.

Reviewed by
mike k

From Winsford, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Very Disappointing Stay
On arrival at 5pm I was told at the reception desk that there was a problem with the desirable room I had booked and that I would have to be down-graded to a comfortable room, although the room rate was reduced this was very disapointing as normally I would have expected to have been up-graded. The reason given was simply that the room had been 'trashed' which took us aback as we thought we had booked a decent hotel. What was also disappointing was that the hotel had had from 12pm checkout time to my arrival at 5pm to ring me and inform me of the change of accommodation, they didn't bother to do this. The room itself was not exactly 'comfortable', it was pokey, awkwardly shaped and freezing cold, not at all what I was expecting, my partner had to ring reception to get the heating turned on!! The TV remote didn't work either and the hair dryer kept switching itself off. The breakfast was awful, we had ordered the hot continental breakfast, the bacon and sausage was served on a heated baguette which was so hard it was impossible to eat. The fresh fuit was served chopped up in a bowl!! The only good thing I can say about our stay was that we dined in the Cafe Bar and Grill, and although my partner had to send back the linguine because it was tasteless and stodgy, the staff were marvellous, very friendly and attentive even though we were late due to the our room being so cold we had to wait for it to warm up before we could get changed and showered, and of course the hair dryer problem. All in all this was a very disappointing stay for us, this was supposed to be a romantic retreat for us, definitely wasn't value for money and I would not consider booking this hotel again.

Reviewed by
Paul Roberts

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing
After such a pleasant and comfortable stay, with such friendly and helpful staff, we would love to visit again in the future. The restaurant was amazing both in the evening and the morning with such high standards of both the food and service.

Reviewed by
Faye S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend city break
Stayed at the Abode with my husband and another couple for a weekend break. Room was nice and bed was VERY comfortable. However 6 coat hangers for 2 people for 3 nights not good. Also light switch combination was a little complicated when operating from the bed. My husband became very frustrated with having to have our room access cards reactivated every day. Breakfast was barely warm and the first morning we had to remind the waiter that we had ordered 4 breakfasts as only 2 turned up. The last morning the continental buffet had run out of most things and was not replenished. We ate in the grill on 2 evenings and generally it was ok but the chicken dishes were very poor. One was a tiny over grilled breast with a small amount of fries which was supposed to Cajun but had never seen any spices and the other was in a thin sauce and not served with anything else, however stem broccoli was requested but when it arrived it was ordinary broccoli and not stem.
Would stay again but on a room only basis.



Reviewed by
Susan E

From England
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night was enough
The room was clean and fresh but difficult to see why it cost more than double the price of a premier inn. The room was no bigger and what it offered no better. Our room didn't have a bath but the shower worked - but wouldn't you expect it to?
We chose to eat in town so can't comment on the bar and restaurant.
Maybe we are not easily impressed and should expect less.

Reviewed by
Stuart C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic restaurant.
The champagne bar and restaurant is outstanding, the best I have been to. Although pricey, it is a great experience and the service is outstanding.

Reviewed by
Anthony Davies

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chester
The hotel was clean & tidy ,The decoration was lovely . The room was great ,there was no noisefrom next door or above.The breakfast was ideal ,though slightly over priced compared to other hotels

Reviewed by
A johnson

From Leyburn, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice, but it's got noisy doors.
Bed was really comfy and got a good night's sleep.
Only one niggle......because we were on holiday, we wanted a lie in. Because we stayed Sunday night, there were obviously people staying on business and getting up early on Monday morning. The door closers could do with sorting out so that, depending upon proximity of the door, it didn't sound as though someone was discharging a firearm in your room.
However, that said, looking to go back to Chester again before Christmas and will definitely look to book at this hotel again.

Reviewed by
Ian T

From Barnoldswick, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rainy Chester, damp squid experience.
Had booked via Laterooms so had a good deal. On arrival offered upgrade for £15. Hotel very quiet so it would have been nice to have a free goodwill upgrade. Bill was incorrect and newspaper ordered never arrived. Expect better service than this. Champagne bar not open and bar was a disappointment. Long Island iced tea tasted watered down. Nice room redeems this review a little.

Reviewed by
S Ramsay

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

aBode Chester
Quality hotel. Friendly and efficient reception staff, good, clean comfortable room. Great location for either the racecourse or the city centre. Great weekend in a great hotel.

Reviewed by
Ian Patterson

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next