No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Welbeck Manor

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Sparkwell , Plymouth, PL75DF

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The complex consists of a 11 Bedroom hotel and 9 hole golf course. Welbeck Manor is situated in just off the A38, 3 miles from Plympton and 7 miles from Plymouth. The hotel is surrounded by picturesque Devonshire countryside.

The Manor house was designed and re-built in 1847 by Isambard Kingdom Brunel on the site of the old manor house built in 1480.

Welbeck Manor House and Sparkwell golf course offers something for everyone, whether you want to host your wedding reception, have a break from the rat race or just a lesuirely round of golf then Welbeck Manor House & Sparkwell Golf Course is the place for you.
Picture of Welbeck Manor, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 279 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Serendipity!
We were a little apprehensive because it all sounded too good to be true but we found a friendly (if charmingly eccentric!) welcome into beautiful surroundings. The staff were friendly and efficient and ready to help and the food was delicious. The sun shone and we even liked our fellow guests! You are really an undiscovered treasure!

Reviewed by
Richard Wren

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
We came here as a family member was getting married in the village. The hotel was lovely and in glorious grounds. The staff were friendly, helpful and made us feel immediately welcome. It was perfect for a large family group to stay in and we have all agreed to go back for a family get together as it's so relaxing and we could just enjoy each other's company in gorgeous surroundings.

Reviewed by
Beth Burch

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great customer service
Really enjoyed our stay here, really friendly staff, comfy bed and beautiful location. Sure, there is some updating to be done but I liked it, lots of character!

Reviewed by
sarah b

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Biker Friendly!
We arrived on a motorcycle which are frowned upon by some hoteliers. Not here though. We were greeted by very friendly staff who were so interested in our Triumph that it was 20 minutes before we checked in.
The staff we wonderful and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. The prices were a bargain and the food was excellent. The barman knows some great jokes too. :-)
I would happily stay there again.
Bikers book with confidence, you'll be well looked after.
PS. The views are stunning!

Reviewed by
Yvonne B

From Hastings, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not what i expected realy this a golfers stayover place as there's nothing else to do
Bar in the village good but expensive and not open on Mondays. room not superior, window frames dirty and need replaced them whole. Apart from the views not good

Reviewed by
ernest l

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A most pleasant and delightful stay
We were impressed with the bedroom especially the bed and the view from the window was beautiful it was a most delightful stay and we will try and come back again another time.

Reviewed by
Helen B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stay
all good

Reviewed by
Patricia L

From Stalybridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful manor house
Lovely manor house, with amazing service. Set in a beautiful area.

Reviewed by
Jessica S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely family room
We stayed in the family room, it was very spacious. Dated but clean. We arrived on a Sunday early evening and there wasn't much going on. The breakfast was lovely, atmosphere busier.

Reviewed by
Chris E

From Malmesbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night Stay
Lovely old building with modern facilities. Customer service was excellent. Did get locked out on return from family wedding but phoned number and was let in without any problems.

Reviewed by
S Bramwell

From Scampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next