Reviews - Welbeck Manor

3

Sparkwell, Plymouth, PL75DF

Price From 106.48 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (266)

83% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • P Brown

  • March 2015

Great Location for dartmoor zoo park.

When we got there we were later than expected.

We had to ring a mob for assistance. All info provided so no problems. The room itself was clean bedding was clean but the decor is dated. We had a zoo experience booked for an 8.00 am start so its a great location for this although breakfast isnt served until 8.00 am they advised us to come down at quarter to and we could have coffee. (in all fairness we didnt make it down in time for coffee). The staff were friendly we didnt eat at the hotel we went into town but theres not much town close by. The price and location were great and the staff friendly. It could do with updating so if luxury is what you are after this isnt for you. Great spot two mins from the zoo.

  • L Taylor

  • March 2015

A great find!

We booked Welbeck Manor as it was fairly cheap but were blown away by the quality.

Very friendly and helpful. We will be back!

  • T Lawrence

  • February 2015

Disappointed

Hotel and car parks in great need of improvement.

Our room and bathroom was very dark( very low wattage bulbs), I opened the curtains to get some light, only to see staffolding and a dingy back yard. Hairdryer didn't work (which they knew!) Shower was either hot or cold. My husband couldn't use it as he has a heart condition. But the 2 guys who run it are very nice and helpful. The bed was comfortable and the bedding nice and clean. We went out to have something to eat as the whole set up didn't look or sound very inspiring.

  • robert hunter

  • February 2015

wonderful setting

No designated Reception, and it was a bit difficult to locate a very small bell which we rang without result.

After spotting a notice on the wall with phone number, lucky that my phone was fully charged, a friendly voice told us to go along the passage under the stairs to a door leading to the Golf Shop. Our room was very nice, though not boutique, so some might be disappointed, very restful and lovely to hear the wildlife very faintly. We saw lots of Squirrels before Breakfast. Breakfast was pleasant with our Host and Hostess serving and taking orders. Our Hosts were charming and attentive and we were fortunate to meet their very adorable Pug, Alfie.

  • A English

  • February 2015

Fantastic as always

Everyone is always very kind and polite at all times.

You are always made to feel very welcome and nothing is any trouble. This is not the first time we have stayed there and we will be certainly visiting again. Thank you to everyone at Welbeck Manor.

  • D Cooper

  • February 2015

Lovely hotel with character

we booked a two night stay at Welbeck Manor with a teenager.

Host was very welcoming and obliging and the breakfast was excellent. I am a vegetarian and had a veggie cooked breakfast which was very good. The chef was able to provide a supper of sanwhiches and salad despite it being a Sunday and his evening off. Welbeck is having renovations done and no doubt it will be lovely when finished. We stayed in the bridal suite and the room space was great. Our teenager had his own room and enjoyed his stay too.

  • G Dunphy

  • February 2015

Welbeck Manor

We have stayed at this Hotel on numerous occasions and would recommend to everyone.

  • T Villiers

  • February 2015

Surprise Location

We were skeptical on arrival as building work in progress outside, but totally unfounded once settled in our room.

Very friendly and comfortable feel to the Hotel, a very interesting old manor house very clean and excellent food. Also a bonus if you are a golfer splendid

nine hole course with a great view from the dining room.We were there in mid Feb,so would be terrific in summer.

  • R Richmond

  • February 2015

Welbeck Manor

Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • p lowry

  • February 2015

sadly disapointed

having stayed before and left review i was sadly disappointed I've been in 3 rooms now bridal suite see last review ( dec 2015 different ) was put in room 6 which as no wi-fi so was moved to room 8 where wi-fi was weak .

the rooms where very drab and badly maintained . floorboards were loose and had not been nailed back down properly .wardrobe was held back by a large wedge and top didn't open carpet was badly worn and felt dirty the bathroom wasn't any better toilet seat was loose and cheaply and badly decorated . the whole room had the feel of a cheap bed sit . this place needs major investment and tlc and rooms need major updating . cant fault the staff they are helpful and polite and breakfast is good as is the dining room and lounge area and the view from the dining area is beautiful ideal place if your looking for basic accommodation and get it at the right price and not looking for any kind of luxury really hope welbeck manor gets the tlc and investment it needs as this could be a beautiful place to stay