No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Welbeck Manor

3สไตล์เฉพาะตัว โรงแรมแบบบ้านสไตล์คันทรี Ratings explained
Sparkwell , Plymouth, PL75DF

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The complex consists of a 11 Bedroom hotel and 9 hole golf course. Welbeck Manor is situated in just off the A38, 3 miles from Plympton and 7 miles from Plymouth. The hotel is surrounded by picturesque Devonshire countryside.

The Manor house was designed and re-built in 1847 by Isambard Kingdom Brunel on the site of the old manor house built in 1480.

Welbeck Manor House and Sparkwell golf course offers something for everyone, whether you want to host your wedding reception, have a break from the rat race or just a lesuirely round of golf then Welbeck Manor House & Sparkwell Golf Course is the place for you.
Picture of Welbeck Manor, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 286 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business stay
I have not seen a higher grade Laterooms review and frankly, they deserve it. Fantastic value, great breakfast, beautiful setting and friendly hosts. Not surprised that there are a few negative comments because so many people want to be "different", and they are different to normal. The fact is this is amazing value package. I would have liked somewhere to sit with a desk / worksurface but have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Reviewed by
STUART B

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and friendly staff
Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful, took care of ordering a taxi for us and even made a late breakfast for two of the group. Room was huge and clean, could do with a little bit of updating but can't complain for the price paid. Great value for money, and a good find. Would recommend.

Reviewed by
ashley g

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not impressed with this hotel
When we arrived we were greeted with a warm welcome. The family room we were staying in was not as good as our welcome, certain windows wouldn't close, no heating but plenty of radiators, tiles missing on the bath, rotten windows full of mold, wallpaper peeling off, toilet door wouldn't close due to falling off its hinges, just a total lack of maintenance. The menu in the room looked great but when we came to order the manager sent the waitress over to tell us we only had the choice of paella and nothing else?? We tried it and could tell it was leftovers from there failed afternoon party and retreated to the room for crisps and biscuits. I never complain normally but this was just too much. Never staying here again...

Reviewed by
michael lees

From Ashton Under Lyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Manor House
I went to Plymouth with my best friend , I have to say I liked the manor bed and breakfast, the rooms were decent size, had all the essentials amenities, I liked the settings, the people were nice, the breakfast was good, I would say good value for money.

Reviewed by
K CHATTERJEE

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A trip to fulfil my daughters wish
A very warm welcome, owner was friendly, helpful and informative. Room was a lovely size and the beds were really comfortable. Children's room had some soft toys as an extra touch. The breakfast was lovely and the grounds and views are stunning. It was just down the road from Dartmoor Zoo, which was the purpose of our visit. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Sarah Baker

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Lovely house in a beautiful setting, very clean, nothing too much trouble for the staff. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
c b

From Elland, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Experience of the bridal suite
We booked this room as a special treat, as we had just got engaged and this was meant to be the best room in the hotel sit a four poster bed. Lovely view, but room very tired, with a very stained carpet. Thin towels, cracked shower screen, only toiletries were 2 small bars of soap next to the two disposable plastic cups. First morning went to breakfast with wet hair as no hair drier (no phone in room to ask for one over phone)- one was put in the room when I asked for one for the next day. A bath mat appeared second day. The bar was closed by 10.10pm when we got back the first night, but managed to get a drink the second, though it was locked up when we went to return the glasses. The second night there was no milk in the room- the tea/coffee had not been replenished, but no-one around to ask for anything.
Breakfast was basic, with no fruit available. No menu. Service from the grandchildren potentially cute, but lucky the toast landed on the table.
Overall there was no attention to the quality of the food and this hotel compares unfavourably with others. Yet they display a late rooms award, and I really don't see how.
We would not book this hotel again unless they had a serios rethink, as we think they pay more attention to their golfing business than to the hotel.
If this had been a real honeymoon couple, they would have been seriously disappointed.

Reviewed by
John A

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nostagic but tired accommodation
Very friendly,cheerful and helpful staff, lovely full English breakfast. Setting is beautiful with great views over the countryside as you eat breakfast. Downside is that the rooms are tired looking,dingy and in need of updating and at least a really good clean(curtains hanging off poll and grubby nets,cobwebs and dust around the ceiling,the shower cubicle had mould on the tiled walls,furniture old and tired).

Reviewed by
Anne S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Short Stay
Wellbeck Manor was situated right next to Sparkwell golf course and the view from our large room was wonderful.
We were warmly greeted on arrival and all the staff were extremely friendly.
It made a pleasant change from staying at big chain hotels where the staff are very stuffy.
It was a long drive from Northampton, but Dartmoor Zoo, which we were visiting, was a very brief walk from the hotel.
All in all, a very pleasant short stay.

Reviewed by
Christopher Jones

From Northampton,, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room not as described
The Hotel is in a very nice location. Public rooms all very nice. The bedroom had no view of the grounds as described in the room description. The room overlooked a scruffy courtyard where the staff smoke.and also overlooks the washing line.The Bathroom Fan was not working and the bathroom would benefit with a total refurbishment. The 2 mugs were left with tea in them from the previous guests.The Manager was very polite and helpful. I would not class this as a Superior Room very disappointed.

Reviewed by
Ronald N

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next