No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Welbeck Manor

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Sparkwell , Plymouth, PL75DF

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The complex consists of a 11 Bedroom hotel and 9 hole golf course. Welbeck Manor is situated in just off the A38, 3 miles from Plympton and 7 miles from Plymouth. The hotel is surrounded by picturesque Devonshire countryside.

The Manor house was designed and re-built in 1847 by Isambard Kingdom Brunel on the site of the old manor house built in 1480.

Welbeck Manor House and Sparkwell golf course offers something for everyone, whether you want to host your wedding reception, have a break from the rat race or just a lesuirely round of golf then Welbeck Manor House & Sparkwell Golf Course is the place for you.
Picture of Welbeck Manor, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 282 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Second Visit
Although the accommodation could do with a refurbish it represents excellent value for money. This is our second visit and look forward to staying again.

Reviewed by
Ronald N

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Made Welcome
Guests are made welcome by all staff. Any problems are sorted immediately.

Reviewed by
R E

From Ellesmere Port, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel for the price.
A great little hotel for business travellers, clean and tidy with a nice little bar in which to have an after work drink.
The staff, when you see them, are really friendly and helpful with nothing too much trouble.
The hotel is surrounded by a golf course so at night it is really dark and quiet, just what you need for a good night's sleep if you have an early start in the mornings.
The food is good although I can't comment on breakfast as this doesn't start until 8am by which time I have been at work for over an hour!!
All in all a good place to stay on a budget - I have no complaints!

Reviewed by
S Sutton

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fautless and very friendly staff right from time we got there til the time we left

Reviewed by
p trim

From Alton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful
Great place to stay it remember it's a manor house not a hotel

Reviewed by
C Featherstone

From Beccles, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine but ..........
Rather dated hotel, owing to electrical problems some of the sockets in my room did not work and breakfast was eaten in darkness.

Reviewed by
Robert C

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Country leisure
The hotel was quiet and peaceful yet staff were always available if needed. The faded grandeur of the house was a delight and the beds very comfortable and clean. A lovely place to stay with amazing scenery all around.

Reviewed by
R Attwood

From Petersfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welbeck Manor: Can't praise highly enough
I booked a stay at the Welbeck Manor, because, although it is a little out of Plymouth itself, it was much cheaper than anywhere in the city that could accommodate my family (wife and 2 daughters, aged 2 months and 23 months). I was quite nervous about going on holiday with such young children, but I needn't have worried. All of the staff were gracious, kind, warm and wonderful with the girls. The room in which we slept was very substantial and well equipped, and we were all very comfortable there.
The hotel is in a beautiful setting, so coming and going was a delight, and it is very well situated, both for Dartmoor Zoo (2 minutes' drive away), and the A38. My wife and I felt truly blessed to have found this gem of a hotel, and we shall definitely be returning to Welbeck Manor next time we are heading down to Plymouth.

Reviewed by
P Griffin

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average.
The breakfast host was fab. Attention to detail in the rooms was lacking. Television was too small for the room. Shower curtain and fixtures were very old. View and breakfast host and breakfast saved the stay.

Reviewed by
Paul A

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only a couple of negative points to mention.....shower tray didn't drain very quickly, maybe blocked. And there was a fan going all day and night. And the second point, room was very dated. Needed updating in my view, certainly modern furniture would of made the room more attractive. Otherwise breakfast was nicely presented and bought out very hot to you. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Could do with lights at rear of property where parking is situated. Very dark and spooky as property is part of a golf course.

Reviewed by
D Heninghem

From Barnsley, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next