No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Welbeck Manor

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Sparkwell , Plymouth, PL75DF

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The complex consists of a 11 Bedroom hotel and 9 hole golf course. Welbeck Manor is situated in just off the A38, 3 miles from Plympton and 7 miles from Plymouth. The hotel is surrounded by picturesque Devonshire countryside.

The Manor house was designed and re-built in 1847 by Isambard Kingdom Brunel on the site of the old manor house built in 1480.

Welbeck Manor House and Sparkwell golf course offers something for everyone, whether you want to host your wedding reception, have a break from the rat race or just a lesuirely round of golf then Welbeck Manor House & Sparkwell Golf Course is the place for you.
Picture of Welbeck Manor, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 287 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relax here!
Lovely old house of Isambard Kingdom Brunel set in lovely tranquil surroundings. Plans to extend and renovate so hope it doesn't lose its slightly Fawlty Towers atmosphere! The Staff are great and the place comes well recommended.

Reviewed by
Peter H

From Alfreton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Serene, picturesque piece of history
They don't make them like this anymore. Extremely pleasant, if a little beyond its prime, the service was incredibly friendly, the room was spacious and clean (if ...a little beyond it's prime), and the stay very pleasant.

Reviewed by
P Harrison

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissapointed in the cleanlliness of the room
Lovely grounds. Public rooms ok but lobby had a damp musty smell. We had the twin room no 2. Which was filthy with dated old worn furniture. Bedding didn't smell fresh and was paper thin. The carpet had an iron burn which had gone through to the floor boards - the waste paper bin had been placed on up of it to hide it. Windows were filthy. Radiator was filthy and as this was close to one of the beds you couldn't help but notice it when you got into bed. The bedside lamp and table were also filthy. Bathroom was acceptable although the lighting was low so difficult to see how clean it really was. Overall the standard of accommodation was unacceptable even for the reasonable price. Such a shame as the setting was lovely and we would loved to visit again but will not be doing so.

Reviewed by
T Persse

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed for business purposes
We stayed here for one night . Welcoming was great room pleasent excellent food both evening (a bit expensive) and at breakfast. The hotel has a great history to it and as such needs some updating but plans are afoot for this . would reccomend this hotel to anyone

Reviewed by
julian f

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our family room was in desperate need of a serious revamp and was not fit for paid for accommodation. There were damp patches on the walls, peeling paint, stained carpets and the toilet door did not close. Also we were without electricity during the night.

Reviewed by
Neil S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business stay
I have not seen a higher grade Laterooms review and frankly, they deserve it. Fantastic value, great breakfast, beautiful setting and friendly hosts. Not surprised that there are a few negative comments because so many people want to be "different", and they are different to normal. The fact is this is amazing value package. I would have liked somewhere to sit with a desk / worksurface but have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Reviewed by
STUART B

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and friendly staff
Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful, took care of ordering a taxi for us and even made a late breakfast for two of the group. Room was huge and clean, could do with a little bit of updating but can't complain for the price paid. Great value for money, and a good find. Would recommend.

Reviewed by
ashley g

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not impressed with this hotel
When we arrived we were greeted with a warm welcome. The family room we were staying in was not as good as our welcome, certain windows wouldn't close, no heating but plenty of radiators, tiles missing on the bath, rotten windows full of mold, wallpaper peeling off, toilet door wouldn't close due to falling off its hinges, just a total lack of maintenance. The menu in the room looked great but when we came to order the manager sent the waitress over to tell us we only had the choice of paella and nothing else?? We tried it and could tell it was leftovers from there failed afternoon party and retreated to the room for crisps and biscuits. I never complain normally but this was just too much. Never staying here again...

Reviewed by
michael lees

From Ashton Under Lyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Manor House
I went to Plymouth with my best friend , I have to say I liked the manor bed and breakfast, the rooms were decent size, had all the essentials amenities, I liked the settings, the people were nice, the breakfast was good, I would say good value for money.

Reviewed by
K CHATTERJEE

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A trip to fulfil my daughters wish
A very warm welcome, owner was friendly, helpful and informative. Room was a lovely size and the beds were really comfortable. Children's room had some soft toys as an extra touch. The breakfast was lovely and the grounds and views are stunning. It was just down the road from Dartmoor Zoo, which was the purpose of our visit. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Sarah Baker

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next