No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Welbeck Manor

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Sparkwell , Plymouth, PL75DF
The complex consists of a 11 Bedroom hotel and 9 hole golf course. Welbeck Manor is situated in just off the A38, 3 miles from Plympton and 7 miles from Plymouth. The hotel is surrounded by picturesque Devonshire countryside.

The Manor house was designed and re-built in 1847 by Isambard Kingdom Brunel on the site of the old manor house built in 1480.

Welbeck Manor House and Sparkwell golf course offers something for everyone, whether you want to host your wedding reception, have a break from the rat race or just a lesuirely round of golf then Welbeck Manor House & Sparkwell Golf Course is the place for you.
Picture of Welbeck Manor, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 273 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

what a beautiful place
clean tidy and a lovely setting. and the food is out of this world having an upgrade at the moment but well worth a visit thank you

Reviewed by
p pearce

From England
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place, would go back in a heartbeat!
Staff could not have been more helpful, despite turning up to check in very late the staff were happy to cook food for us and serve in the bar even though we were the only ones still up at the hotel!

Reviewed by
James C

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Value - Fantastic Location
Although this hotel is low cost the quality of accommodation is excellent, the rooms are spacious, spotless and warm. We actually thought it was worth more than the price charged.
We will definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Guy Allensby

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great unique location
Welbeck manor is a old house in a great location. The view from the breakfast room in the morning is worth staying for itself. Coming back to the hotel on a foggy night we heard hounds baying, very creepy. Turns out it is wolves at a local zoo! Fantastic. This hotel is everything that chain hotels aren't and I'd recommend it to any travellers.

Reviewed by
Stephen H

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place
The building is tired in places but clean and being updated to a good standard and sympathetically to the style of property. The staff were friendly and efficient. The food very good. The views amazing. Excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
Sarah A

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

best hotel in plymouth
very friendly, helpful, kind and just a great place to stay -because of the people who run it and work at it. restuarant is five star -and well worth the money

Reviewed by
jeannie r

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and welcoming!
Warm welcome and pleasant stay ! Would stay again!

Reviewed by
Norman Knape

From Yelverton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

an amazing find
Homely. Lovely and warm. Food good. Friendly helpful staff. Beautiful surroundings. Would stay there again without hesitation.(Alfie is a star)

Reviewed by
patricia goddard

From Bedworth, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Different
Spent 2 nights at Welbeck Manor if you like quirky and strange you will love it ( we did ). This hotel is straight out of a dickins novel the building and grounds are beautiful but the hotel is in need of major TLC. We stayed in the bridal suite the room was huge and had a fourposter bed but in major need of updating the room did not have a romantic feeling about it and had we been newly weds we would have been very upset the bathroom was very basic and not plush as we thought it would be being the bridal suite this room is a large double room and nothing else. The whole place had a strange and eerie feeling to it (which we loved) was waiting for a ghost to turn up and make are bed lol. Outside lighting is badly needed at night on the driveway and the car park as its pitch black at night and walking from the car park was dodgy to say the least had to go down a slope and could not see where we was walking. Staff where friendly and breakfast was good. We will be staying there again and you will either love welbeck manor or hate ( we loved it).

Reviewed by
p lowry

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Booked through late room . com and got what I thought was an excellent rate for one nights accommodation. However, on arrival the room was grubby and was sure it was not usually a 'letting room' electrical wires not pinned to the wall and what I considered dangerous was the heater in the but emphasize it was very efficient but had the duvet gone on to the heater during the night it would have gone up in flames. The en-suite wad adequate but no attention had been paid to detail, toilet roll holder almost falling off the wall.

Reviewed by
I Hannaford

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next