No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Welbeck Manor

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Sparkwell , Plymouth, PL75DF
The complex consists of a 11 Bedroom hotel and 9 hole golf course. Welbeck Manor is situated in just off the A38, 3 miles from Plympton and 7 miles from Plymouth. The hotel is surrounded by picturesque Devonshire countryside.

The Manor house was designed and re-built in 1847 by Isambard Kingdom Brunel on the site of the old manor house built in 1480.

Welbeck Manor House and Sparkwell golf course offers something for everyone, whether you want to host your wedding reception, have a break from the rat race or just a lesuirely round of golf then Welbeck Manor House & Sparkwell Golf Course is the place for you.
Picture of Welbeck Manor, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 275 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired room, stained dirty carpet

Reviewed by
Tamsin A

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great experience
We had a lovely experience in a quiet, peaceful, beautifully situated grand house. The scenery from the breakfast room windows was magnificent. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and our room was very comfortable. Will be going back again.

Reviewed by
R Richmond

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant
Overall comfortable environment but could do with a little updating. The thing that let it down the most was that it was freezing and I mean freezing which is saying something for me. Second night was warmer. First night was disappointed with food choice as I had decided what to go for but then was told menu in room was only a sample! What I had was good though. Second night went for dinner and it was't open and no-one around to enquire whether they would be open! Place has real potential

Reviewed by
J Coulson

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant

Reviewed by
Emma C

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welbeck Manor
Excellent friendly service, definitely revisit, loved the whole experience, great quality, didn't want to leave.

Reviewed by
allison c

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Une grande maison...
This is a lovely old house set in a quiet rural setting. This is our 3rd visit. Each time it gets better.
The house is gradually being refurbished and still has a way to go but it is comfortable and clean, lovely fresh linen and very good value. John , Julie and staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are superb! All staff are really helpful and jovial. Lovely views of golf course from some rooms but not all.We stayed for 2 weeks and felt like one of the family when we left.We will be back !! :-)

Reviewed by
Christine H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

second visit to welbeck manor and enjoyed it just as much as the first time

Reviewed by
m white

From Sutton in Ashfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This Manor House is an Unspoiled Gem
At the price we paid, our expectations were not too high. However what a surprise on first glimpses as we approached this delightful old Manor House along the narrow drive through the Golf Course. It certainly looks very photogenic and on entering, it is clearly old and unspoiled retaining all it's old charm and impressive features. The staff treated us really well on arrival and throughout our stay so we will certainly revisit again next time we are looking for a quiet weekend break.

Reviewed by
Vicki R

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The best one night stop ever!!!!
Beautiful setting, excellent welcome and the room with view - amazing! Couldn't fault this place in million years.

Reviewed by
M Cameron

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay in Novemnber
Amazing grounds and the building has potential to be amazing. Its a quirky place but very charming, the staff are very laid back but courteous and very helpful. The building needs a refresh and I think this is on the cards, fantastic value for money and we had a game of golf the next morning within the grounds, the golf course was very good especially for the price. Its not 5 star but i would certainly recommend , we had a lovely 24 hours here

Reviewed by
J Wilson

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next