Reviews - Welbeck Manor


Sparkwell, Plymouth, PL75DF

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (253)

83% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • S Sutton

  • October 2014

Great hotel for the price.

A great little hotel for business travellers, clean and tidy with a nice little bar in which to have an after work drink.

The staff, when you see them, are really friendly and helpful with nothing too much trouble. The hotel is surrounded by a golf course so at night it is really dark and quiet, just what you need for a good night's sleep if you have an early start in the mornings. The food is good although I can't comment on breakfast as this doesn't start until 8am by which time I have been at work for over an hour!. All in all a good place to stay on a budget - I have no complaints!

  • R E

  • October 2014

Made Welcome

Guests are made welcome by all staff.

Any problems are sorted immediately.

  • p trim

  • October 2014

fautless and very friendly staff right from time we got there til the time we left

  • C Featherstone

  • October 2014

Cheap and cheerful

Great place to stay it remember it's a manor house not a hotel

  • Robert C

  • September 2014

Fine but ..........

Rather dated hotel, owing to electrical problems some of the sockets in my room did not work and breakfast was eaten in darkness.

  • Paul A

  • September 2014


The breakfast host was fab.

Attention to detail in the rooms was lacking. Television was too small for the room. Shower curtain and fixtures were very old. View and breakfast host and breakfast saved the stay.

  • P Griffin

  • September 2014

Welbeck Manor: Can't praise highly enough

I booked a stay at the Welbeck Manor, because, although it is a little out of Plymouth itself, it was much cheaper than anywhere in the city that could accommodate my family (wife and 2 daughters, aged 2 months and 23 months).

I was quite nervous about going on holiday with such young children, but I needn't have worried. All of the staff were gracious, kind, warm and wonderful with the girls. The room in which we slept was very substantial and well equipped, and we were all very comfortable there. The hotel is in a beautiful setting, so coming and going was a delight, and it is very well situated, both for Dartmoor Zoo (2 minutes' drive away), and the A38. My wife and I felt truly blessed to have found this gem of a hotel, and we shall definitely be returning to Welbeck Manor next time we are heading down to Plymouth.

  • R Attwood

  • September 2014

Country leisure

The hotel was quiet and peaceful yet staff were always available if needed.

The faded grandeur of the house was a delight and the beds very comfortable and clean. A lovely place to stay with amazing scenery all around.

  • P Harrison

  • September 2014

Serene, picturesque piece of history

They don't make them like this anymore.

Extremely pleasant, if a little beyond its prime, the service was incredibly friendly, the room was spacious and clean (if ...a little beyond it's prime), and the stay very pleasant.

  • D Heninghem

  • September 2014

Only a couple of negative points to mention.....shower tray didn't drain very quickly, maybe blocked.

And there was a fan going all day and night. And the second point, room was very dated. Needed updating in my view, certainly modern furniture would of made the room more attractive. Otherwise breakfast was nicely presented and bought out very hot to you. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Could do with lights at rear of property where parking is situated. Very dark and spooky as property is part of a golf course.