You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Welbeck Manor

3

Welbeck Manor & Sparkwell Golf Course, Sparkwell, Plymouth, PL75DF

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (122)

80% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • M Cameron

  • November 2014

The best one night stop ever!!!!

Beautiful setting, excellent welcome and the room with view - amazing.

Couldn't fault this place in million years.

  • Othmar E

  • November 2014

unusual hotel with old-fashioned charm

This is a somewhat unusual hotel - an old manor house (apparently designed by IK Brunel) within a golf course with lots of charm and clearly old-fashioned appeal.

The family room we stayed in was huge, in fact a suite of two bedrooms linked together. The rooms have old-fashioned, but beautiful furniture (somewhat worn, but this adds to the character if you like that kind of thing). The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the bar two nights - the pizzas were excellent, real ale on tap and board games available for entertainment. We would definitely go back if we visit the area again. The only things to criticise were the electricity supply (power outage for no apparent reason in our room, but not in the corridor etc) and the hit-and-miss wifi - not working in our room, but OK in the lounge.

  • Jill F

  • November 2014

The hosts were extremely helpful and very pleasant. They couldn't do enough for us.

The Manor is very old, with no central heating in the room, although a very efficient electric fire.

There was no double glazing. The patrons were lovely and very helpful. There is a 9 hole golf course right outside the door if you so wish.

  • J Cobb

  • October 2014

Country Manor

Pleasant room in quiet old Manor House.Decoration slightly tired but comfortable and tranquil.

  • Raquel A

  • October 2014

Excellent customer service

We only stayed for one night, but it was s great experience.

Everyone was friendly and the room was lovely. Perfect for a weekend gat away

  • Michelle H

  • October 2014

Shame, stunning location, beautiful building, just needs lots of TLC....room was not good, bathroom worse....

Breakfast was reasonable, but the food in the bar (available some evenings) was good and the chef was chatty and told us all about the surrounding area.. Stayed there for Dartmoor Zoological park (across the road) as have always wanted to go there, what a disappointment has put me off zoos for a long time...

  • ELAINE S

  • October 2014

Only saw one member of staff, fleetingly, when he gave us the room keys.

Never saw anyone else, staff or guests, the whole stay. The lobby was in darkness and restaurant and bar were both closed, although we were not told this on arrival. Several attempts were made to contact staff by ringing the bell at reception for assistance were in vain. Although we booked bed and breakfast, there was no sign of breakfast as dining room was again in darkness. Same applied to checking out. No-one to be seen.

  • R Reynolds

  • October 2014

hmmm... not sure about this place

We stayed here for 1 night ready for a day at Dartmoor Zoo early the next morning.

On arriving at the hotel there was no-one around but a bunch of very dead Iris in the fireplace. A note on the desk advised us to call a number for attention, we called several times but the number was always engaged then I tried a mobile number I found on the exterior door which was answered and a man came to give us our keys. We had breakfast included in the cost of the room and I asked what time this would be served. Breakfast was 8am until 9.15am, I asked if we might be able to get anything earlier as we had to be at the zoo for 8am and was told we would be able to get a coffee but at 7.45am the next morning there was no-one around or any sign of coffee let alone breakfast!. We paid our bill in the golf shop(!) and left hungry for our day at the zoo

  • Ronald N

  • October 2014

Second Visit

Although the accommodation could do with a refurbish it represents excellent value for money.

This is our second visit and look forward to staying again.

  • S Sutton

  • October 2014

Great hotel for the price.

A great little hotel for business travellers, clean and tidy with a nice little bar in which to have an after work drink.

The staff, when you see them, are really friendly and helpful with nothing too much trouble. The hotel is surrounded by a golf course so at night it is really dark and quiet, just what you need for a good night's sleep if you have an early start in the mornings. The food is good although I can't comment on breakfast as this doesn't start until 8am by which time I have been at work for over an hour!. All in all a good place to stay on a budget - I have no complaints!