No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Welbeck Manor

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Sparkwell , Plymouth, PL75DF

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The complex consists of a 11 Bedroom hotel and 9 hole golf course. Welbeck Manor is situated in just off the A38, 3 miles from Plympton and 7 miles from Plymouth. The hotel is surrounded by picturesque Devonshire countryside.

The Manor house was designed and re-built in 1847 by Isambard Kingdom Brunel on the site of the old manor house built in 1480.

Welbeck Manor House and Sparkwell golf course offers something for everyone, whether you want to host your wedding reception, have a break from the rat race or just a lesuirely round of golf then Welbeck Manor House & Sparkwell Golf Course is the place for you.
Picture of Welbeck Manor, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 282 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fawlty Towers
Such friendly staff. It was fun to be there and enjoy the banter with bar/chef/waiter, who produced yummy food!

Reviewed by
Katy P

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.The manager was a pleasure to have around while passing through the hotel. A very happy bubbly man.The staff all very polite and curious.
I would most definitely. Stay again.very good.

Reviewed by
Andrew Levers

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Service
Good friendly service on the bar and the chef was excellent
A nice quiet place to stay. Beautiful grounds

Reviewed by
Hannah E

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed due to all the very good reviews
I can only repeat what Paul C wrote:
"Friendly staff, beautiful site. The house was lovely, but rather dilapidated. The room also needed refurbishment, but fairly good value for money (£39 for twin). "

Reviewed by
J Roehl

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend getaway
We have stayed here before en route home from holiday ... it is a lovely Hotel in beautiful setting and the chap who runs the place is rather a character will definitely go back again

Reviewed by
Graham D

From Yeovil, France
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another great stay. Good to see John and all his helpful and friendly staff. Service excellent as always. Can't wait for our next visit. Yes this hotel requires updating but the welcome and helpfulness of everyone makes you feel very welcome. The rooms have everything you may require and have central heating. Our room was so warm that we switch the heating off. The view from the dining room over the golf course while you have having breakfast is lovely. David cooked us a lovely meal in the evening and his food can be recommended. Yum yum.

Reviewed by
Gillian Pepper

From Camborne, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay
Welbeck Manor is an old building which comes along with the usual expectations...if like us you accept this you will have no problems at all....It is a lovely place with lovely views and John is a lovely man and makes you very welcome.... we love our stay there tyvm John

Reviewed by
GRAHAM DUNPHY

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
A manor house is what u get. Old with character and the staff are very helpful and cheerful

Reviewed by
D Jowitt

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, beautiful site. The house was lovely, but rather dilapidated. The room also needed refurbishment, but fairly good value for money (£39 for twin).

Reviewed by
Paul C

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hidden gem, about to book again....
Everyone was lovely, they went out of their way to help us with everything even our really late arrival! The staff were so attentive, even calling us by name, which is a lovely personal touch, which made us feel so welcome and more like staying at a friends rather than in a hotel. Couldn't have asked for a nicer hotel, breakfast was lovely. We are about to book another over night stay for us and our parents

Reviewed by
Rebecca W

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next