No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Welbeck Manor

3สไตล์เฉพาะตัว โรงแรมแบบบ้านสไตล์คันทรี Ratings explained
Sparkwell , Plymouth, PL75DF

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The complex consists of a 11 Bedroom hotel and 9 hole golf course. Welbeck Manor is situated in just off the A38, 3 miles from Plympton and 7 miles from Plymouth. The hotel is surrounded by picturesque Devonshire countryside.

The Manor house was designed and re-built in 1847 by Isambard Kingdom Brunel on the site of the old manor house built in 1480.

Welbeck Manor House and Sparkwell golf course offers something for everyone, whether you want to host your wedding reception, have a break from the rat race or just a lesuirely round of golf then Welbeck Manor House & Sparkwell Golf Course is the place for you.
Picture of Welbeck Manor, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 286 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

worth a stay
Warm and friendly welcome, nice clean room, lovely breakfast. Great value for money

Reviewed by
d shaw

From sheffield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welbeck Manor
Excellent hotel the staff were very friendly and accommodating the food was first class and so was the room.
I have told my office to use this hotel for other members of our management team in the future

Reviewed by
Eddie Cork

From , UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Breakfast, dusty room
When you arrive, the sign is very difficult to see from the road, so we drove past and had to come back. Satnav took us past the turn which is opposite the Treby Arms. The car park was unmade, at the back of the Manor and unlit at night, so take a torch. The room was quite dated with large patterned wallpaper (roses) on all walls. Bed had a sort of canopy over the pillow area- high up. The room was nice and big and radiators worked fine. The lamp shades and the canopy were dusty. Inside the wardrobe were some wire and broken hangers. In the chest of drawers there were old trade magazines. We did mention this and some better quality hangers were added ...and the trade magazines in the drawer were tidied up - but left in the drawers!
The shower was temperamental and did not work very well. A man did come during the second day there and said you had to "feel" it about the '6' or '7' mark and it would work...
Breakfast was very good, tasty and served by a young man and girl, with the daughter cooking the food. If something shone at Welbeck Manor it was the staff that we met at breakfast. Unfortunately we left early as I was affected by the dust in the room. There are other rooms which I believe have been refurbished but were not available for us to swap for the rest of our stay. If you enjoy a lovely breakfast - this is good value.

Reviewed by
Kevin K

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Accommodation just requires updated some rooms had been updated, But apart from that it was a nice place and really Freindly people. It was Value for Money.

Reviewed by
Gordon Barker

From Stanley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welbeck manor
Stayed here as we had a table booked at the treby arms just opposite.
room was perfectly clean i have to say, but desperately needed updating. wouldn't have wanted to spend any time in the room other than to sleep - which obviously is the main reason for booking!
the quality of the accommodation is reflected in the price though - £39 for a couple on a saturday night with breakfast included - excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
S Hillman

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place..... But
The hotel is set in a beautiful grounds and golf course with beautiful views. It is friendly and low key. We did not have dinner, but the included breakfast was a pleasant surprise and set us up for the day.
However, I would like to point out a couple of little things that could have made a good stay great. The mattresses in our room were worn out, not the best nights sleep. The toilet seat would not stay up - for a man it's a pain. The shower waste was slow to drain away so you were standing your own dirty water. And last but not least, the mirror's in the room, they were fine if you were under 5ft.
These are things that could be put right quickly and easily. It will not stop me from using the hotel again. I really want this to be helpful.

Reviewed by
Michael L

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bridal Suite
Value for money was exceptional, idylic location and setting, room had a balcony looking out over the golf course, the weather was great which made the stay even better. The room and en suite were fantastic with a lovely 4 poster.... would definetely recommend...

Reviewed by
John W

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place to stay in Plymouth
Superb Value for Money when booked in advance.
Great place for countryside retreat on edge of Dartmoor.
Great with families.
Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Jonathan H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly
Friendly, helpful staff. Comfortable room. Good value for money. Nice breakfast.

Reviewed by
A Burns

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful setting

Reviewed by
Debbie M

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next