No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Welbeck Manor

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Sparkwell , Plymouth, PL75DF

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The complex consists of a 11 Bedroom hotel and 9 hole golf course. Welbeck Manor is situated in just off the A38, 3 miles from Plympton and 7 miles from Plymouth. The hotel is surrounded by picturesque Devonshire countryside.

The Manor house was designed and re-built in 1847 by Isambard Kingdom Brunel on the site of the old manor house built in 1480.

Welbeck Manor House and Sparkwell golf course offers something for everyone, whether you want to host your wedding reception, have a break from the rat race or just a lesuirely round of golf then Welbeck Manor House & Sparkwell Golf Course is the place for you.
Picture of Welbeck Manor, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 280 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

welbeck manor
Friendly welcome. Nice eve meal and pleasant room with fantastic view.
downside was bar locked up and no one about after 9.15. Also problem with tv and just told not sure how the tvs work so cant help.
breakfast menu limited.

Reviewed by
david k

From Lowestoft, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not for buisiness users
Scruffy little place in a pretty rural location. Quiet and remote. Wifi can be best described as patchy, the TV's are barely functional, the grounds are fantastic, but the building is run down. Expect dust on the rads and skirting boards, the power to trip out occaisionally, and the heating to be tempermental.
Breakfast is hearty and billed from 8am, but don't expect to be out before 1/2 past.
If yo want to get away from it it is fine, if you need to be at work on time, forget breakfast.

Reviewed by
T D

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a lovely place!!!
We recently stayed at Welbeck manor, as we had a day experience planned for Dartmoor zoo, this hotel was in a perfect location as it meant we could walk to the zoo. It was a perfect stay from start to finish, we were greeted by the nicest man ever on reception, singing away to himself, it was such a trusting place, not once were we asked for payment details. The man on reception was so helpful, he really could not do enough for you, he even offered to take us in to Plymouth centre on his way home one evening to save us paying for a taxi, which I thought was so amazingly thoughtful of him!
We ate in the restaurant on the first night, it was really great food, and the chef was a really nice man, who was cooking food and serving at the bar, he was obviously very busy.
The grounds of Welbeck Manor were gorgeous, such a great view from our room, We would 100% visit this place again, really did make our weekend away fantastic! Thank you xx
only down side to the entire stay.... was the typical English weather.. rain!! =)

Reviewed by
nichaila bishop

From Cannock, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Although the property is dated and in need of a complete overall we was made to feel very welcome by all of the friendly staff. Our room was spacious and comfortable.
Would definately visit again.

Reviewed by
Sharon P

From Sleaford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was exceptionally clean as were the bed clothes.
Breakfast was fantastic.
Stunning veiws around the manor.
Helpful & very friendly staff.
Perfectly placed for Dartmoor Zoo. ( which is well worth a visit)

Reviewed by
R Saunders

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money but very tired
Only paid £39 for two of us for b&b. Lovely building,parking, large room, clean beds, but dusty from waist down, wallpaper pealing off, lots of marks on wall near bedheads, no bedside table and light on one side, tiny television. There was evidence of improvements, ie new central light fitting, new curtains, white bed linen. Our room overlooked the car park for the golf course and as we always sleep with the window open, it was very noisy on Saturday morning - probably not normally a problem but there was a competition on - also I believe you can play for free if you stay in the hotel. Good basic breakfast, you get what you pay for.

Reviewed by
laila w

From Seaton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Friendly
Excellent host, made to feel very welcome. Have stayed here a few times now & always good value for money

Reviewed by
Donna Rees

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fawlty Towers
Such friendly staff. It was fun to be there and enjoy the banter with bar/chef/waiter, who produced yummy food!

Reviewed by
Katy P

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.The manager was a pleasure to have around while passing through the hotel. A very happy bubbly man.The staff all very polite and curious.
I would most definitely. Stay again.very good.

Reviewed by
Andrew Levers

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Service
Good friendly service on the bar and the chef was excellent
A nice quiet place to stay. Beautiful grounds

Reviewed by
Hannah E

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next