No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa

5AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa Station Rise, York, YO1 6GD

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Opened in May 2010 the Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa revives the splendor and luxury of the golden age of travel. As York's first 5 star hotel attention to detail is at the heart of The Grand; from the accessories in the rooms to the wine on the table, everything is handpicked to create a unique and memorable experience. Guests can expect a warm Yorkshire welcome – The Grand is serious about service but never stuffy.

At The Grand every room really is unique, and guests will discover all manner of quirky architectural flourishes – from port-hole windows to wide skylights. All rooms come with luxury Molton Brown bath products, Egyptian cotton linen, powerful high speed WiFi connections, a wide choice of international TV channels and movies as well as flat screen TVs. It is also possible to upgrade to a deluxe room or one of The Grand’s 13 suites including the penthouse.

The Spa at the Grand offers the ultimate in luxury with beauty treatments for men & women by Germaine de Capuccini, a 14m swimming pool with therapy jets, whirlpool spa, sauna, steamroom, air-conditioned gym & relaxation room.

We offer valet parking at an offsite NCP car park, charged at £20.00 per 24 hours up until 12 noon on day of departure.
Picture of Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 136 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

noise guests
Friday night 12th very noisy had to call for night porter.totally spoiled our nights sleep.i chose this hotel to celebrate my 70 th birthday but my stay was spoiled.

Reviewed by
mabel ward

From Bridlington, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class service
From driving up to the entrance to leaving was treated like royalty

Reviewed by
Aidan H

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

below par breakfast
paid for breakfast & did not expect to be offered a continental one.Very limited choice for money charged.
Late rooms description of breakfast incorrect & needs to be changed to what is actually offered by hotel

Reviewed by
Alan D

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An honest opinion
The staff are lovely, very accommodating and friendly. The only negative was the dinner menu. The portion of ribs was tiny and the apple crumble was apparently a deconstructed version which was very strange.

Reviewed by
D Donovan

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Impeccable service
A wonderful experience from arriving in the hotel to leaving.

Reviewed by
A Tracey

From Bingley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Service, Excellent Accommodation
I would highly recommend the Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa to young couples wanting to escape for a weekend together. The hotel is impressive and the service is professional and personable throughout. We stayed in an executive room, which was absolutely breathtaking and the molton brown smellies were an added bonus. Champagne and cocktails in the bar were the icing on the cake to a perfect weekend. Would also highly recommend the Oxo on the Mount restaurant for a fine dining experience whilst staying in York. I would definitely return and check out the spa next time!!

Reviewed by
K Mellows

From England
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great central location. Parking was extra £18 per day so has to be factored into budget. Felt the extra £5 for full breakfast was unnecessary. Spa great. Value for money was spoiled due to extra £5 for cooked breakfast. Just stupid.

Reviewed by
R Cranston

From Kilmacolm, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Incredible...This place is much more beautiful convenient and grand than you could ever imagine!
Greeted by doormen in bowler hats, valet parking and a beautiful venue. If you want something special this is the place! I have stayed in many so called 4☆hotels that are just a nice place....this place makes you feel like someone important. Nothing is too much to ask. I stayed with my wife who had her leg in plaster, they changed our room to a accessible one, helped her in and out the hotel and even supplied a footstool so she was comfy when eating in the restaurant. Fantastic people place and service if the weather was better it would have knocked the socks off the Burj al Arab!

Reviewed by
m meakins

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This service at this hotel is beyond expectation. The room was large and very well equipped
The hotel may be quite expensive but it is well worth it. the service is exceptional - never had anything like it at any other hotel. Very well located. Cannot wait to stay again

Reviewed by
Judith BEAUMONT

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful room and the service was fantastic nothing was too much trouble

Reviewed by
Karen J

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next