No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa

5AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa Station Rise, York, YO1 6GD
Opened in May 2010 the Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa revives the splendor and luxury of the golden age of travel. As York's first 5 star hotel attention to detail is at the heart of The Grand; from the accessories in the rooms to the wine on the table, everything is handpicked to create a unique and memorable experience. Guests can expect a warm Yorkshire welcome – The Grand is serious about service but never stuffy.

At The Grand every room really is unique, and guests will discover all manner of quirky architectural flourishes – from port-hole windows to wide skylights. All rooms come with luxury Molton Brown bath products, Egyptian cotton linen, powerful high speed WiFi connections, a wide choice of international TV channels and movies as well as flat screen TVs. It is also possible to upgrade to a deluxe room or one of The Grand’s 13 suites including the penthouse.

The Spa at the Grand offers the ultimate in luxury with beauty treatments for men & women by Germaine de Capuccini, a 14m swimming pool with therapy jets, whirlpool spa, sauna, steamroom, air-conditioned gym & relaxation room.

We offer valet parking at an offsite NCP car park, charged at £20.00 per 24 hours up until 12 noon on day of departure.
Picture of Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 115 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning hotel
This is a stunning hotel in York. My wife and I visited and it was our first time away without children in 18 years. Hence we wanted a special, luxurious experience. Our double room had 2 bathrooms and was beautiful. The staircase and corridors take your breath away. The staff were friendly, approachable and nothing was too much trouble. Our Whitby haddock and poached egg breakfast was a pleasant change from the norm. In all we could not fault it. It was so much better than a chain hotel. Thank you.

Reviewed by
S Lane

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dreadful customer service. Noy worth the money

Reviewed by
stephen lovely

From East Boldon, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cedar Court York
The customer service was superb with staff anticipating your needs. The room was very large with excellent bathroom facilities and extra services, shoe cleaning, turn down service included. I did feel the breakfast did not come up to 5-star standard. To elaborate the cooked breakfast - even porridge was £5 extra on top of a £20, breakfast charge. The choice of cereals was very limited. Pastries were dry and bread rolls inedible being the half baked variety. I would expect fresh bread, all varieties and something better than Costco selection pastries. We have had much better in other establishments including 4-star Hotels and B&Bs. The 4-star Majestic in Harrogate being a very good example. Just one other comment to make was the decor which in the public rooms - bars etc - work well, but the bedroom was very bland and dull and reminiscent of the austerity years. Overall because we travel to many hotels for business, we had a reduced rate but the normal charge rate would prove incredibly poor value for money.

Reviewed by
K Wongsam

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel
Couldn't fault this hotel, situated smack bang in the heart of the city. Room was spacious and luxurious, bath big enough for 2, bed was extremely comfortable so had a great night’s sleep. Food in the restaurant was second to none and service exemplary.

Reviewed by
Richard O

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grand Hotel, York
First class hotel, excellent. Concierge service (Graham), room was fantastic and location ideal for visiting the city

Reviewed by
A Blaker

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel staff very nice and attentive, great breakfast, pool lovely. Only gripe was doorman didn't know about York tour bus concierge wasn't there to ask so we spent 1hour standing in the cold for bus that didn't come.
Highly recommend Red Chilli restaurant around the corner probably best Chinese food ever had.

Reviewed by
linda i

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful!
Having stayed for New Year's Eve, we found this hotel out of this world! Room was fantastic and was of a high standard! Made to feel very welcome and staff were very helpful! Sad to have only stayed one night! Would definitely recommend this hotel to everybody.

Reviewed by
Sophie C

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay at the Cedar Court Grand
Gorgeous hotel, definitely lives up to it's 5 star rating. Very clean and pleasant surroundings, even the standard suite is of excellent quality, it has everything you need and more.
The spa area is fantastic and consists of a large, heated indoor pool, jacuzzi and saunas, I did not try any of the spa treatments however the spa experience alone without any treatments was still great.
Continental breakfast was also of exceptional quality with a wide variety of delicious breakfast food featuring exotic fruits, croissants, a selection of cheeses, ham and salmon and muffins.

Reviewed by
Emily Anne Cochrane

From Hebburn, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

noise guests
Friday night 12th very noisy had to call for night porter.totally spoiled our nights sleep.i chose this hotel to celebrate my 70 th birthday but my stay was spoiled.

Reviewed by
mabel ward

From Bridlington, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class service
From driving up to the entrance to leaving was treated like royalty

Reviewed by
Aidan H

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next