No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa

5AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa Station Rise, York, YO1 6GD

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Opened in May 2010 the Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa revives the splendor and luxury of the golden age of travel. As York's first 5 star hotel attention to detail is at the heart of The Grand; from the accessories in the rooms to the wine on the table, everything is handpicked to create a unique and memorable experience. Guests can expect a warm Yorkshire welcome – The Grand is serious about service but never stuffy.

At The Grand every room really is unique, and guests will discover all manner of quirky architectural flourishes – from port-hole windows to wide skylights. All rooms come with luxury Molton Brown bath products, Egyptian cotton linen, powerful high speed WiFi connections, a wide choice of international TV channels and movies as well as flat screen TVs. It is also possible to upgrade to a deluxe room or one of The Grand’s 13 suites including the penthouse.

The Spa at the Grand offers the ultimate in luxury with beauty treatments for men & women by Germaine de Capuccini, a 14m swimming pool with therapy jets, whirlpool spa, sauna, steamroom, air-conditioned gym & relaxation room.

We offer valet parking at an offsite NCP car park, charged at £20.00 per 24 hours up until 12 noon on day of departure.
Picture of Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 137 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary Night Away without the kids
We enjoyed our stay at rhe Cedar. We arrived by train and were thrilled to find the hotel only 5 minutes away from the station. As we had arried before check in at 3pm we asked if we could leave our luggage with concierge which was not a problem. Reception advised they would call us if the room was available earlier. We had booked a double room - the room was on the ground floor (room 12) and this was very clean and well presented, we were pleased with it. We changed into our swimming gear and went downstairs to enjoy the spa and pool. Unfortunately the jacuzzi was out of order, this was disappointing as this was one of the reasons for booking the Cedar, we went in the pool, sauna and steam room but only stayed for about an hour- we would have spent longer in there if the jacuzzi had been in use. Very clean spa area and great lighting! We went for drinks in the bar in the evening before heading out into york for our evening meal. We asked concierge for any restaurant recommendations and they were happy to help, booked a table and also organised a taxi as it was raining. Bar prices were ok, i had a glass of champagne which was about £10 and my husband a beer which was about £4 so thought the bill was reasonable and the atmosphere was nice and chilled! The bed turned out to be 2 singles pushed together which wasn't the most comfortable and my husband didnt find his pillow very comfortable. The bed and the jacuzzi were its only downfall but i would definitely still return. It was a last minute booking and it was an offer so believe we got a good deal.

Reviewed by
Nicola G

From England
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wow
Best hotel I've ever stayed in.

Reviewed by
I R PUGH

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
We absolutely loved staying here, and hope to stay again soon.
The staff were excellent, helpful, and enjoyed talking to customers.
The room was amazing.
The food was exquisite!
Room service was prompt.
Choice of films on the TV was better than Netflix.
Seriously... Stay here... It won't be disappointing in the slightest.

Reviewed by
Thomas H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

5 star hotel and 5 star service
From the moment we arrived outside the hotel til the moment we left the staff treat us like royalty, nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel was ideally situated for the centre of York. No need for taxis.
Would definately go back again just for the expereince. 5 star accomodation and 5 star service.
Keep up the good work!!

Reviewed by
t robinson

From England
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth the expense
Fantastic hotel and lovely staff they were lovely and I can't wait to return

Reviewed by
C Hardy

From Ryton, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and down to earth staff.
The only thing myself and my wife are'nt keen on with this type of hotel is the over the top fuss, like having your car parked and bag carrying as i would rather do it myself, but then again that's five star i suppose.
Overall, it's probably the best hotel we have stopped in, even better than some in London.
Room was amazing and me and the wife wished we could of taken the bed home with us as it was so comfy.

Reviewed by
D Barker

From Grimsby, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Yorkshire's best.
What a place to stay at! If you have a chance to stay in the great city of York, you need to stay here. It's a dream hotel from the moment you pull up to the front entrance. I can't put in to works the service the staff and hotel gives you.....Top class...Thank you.

Reviewed by
p dodds

From Driffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

just celebrated are ruby wedding at the ceder court wanted to make it special and it was just that .cannot find one single thing that did not live up to the five star rating we paid extra for that expereance but it was well worth it we will be back one day thanks george g

Reviewed by
george g

From Skelmersdale, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

exceptional luxury
From first entering the hotel to leaving the service provided was second to none. Nothing was too much trouble for all of the very friendly and proficient staff. Our room was everything we expected from a five star hotel - brilliant.

Reviewed by
Jennifer S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfection!
Wow, what a wonderful hotel! It's not often I encounter the level of customer service offered at Cedar Court, it's very obvious that they pay attention to the last little detail that will make your stay extra special.
The hotel is a beautiful old building that has been sympathetically converted. The rooms are luxurious and comfortable and the service from the moment you pull up outside is second to none.
I was half expecting it to be quite stuffy and pretentious but it couldn't have been less so. All of the staff wwe encountered were so friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Helen L

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next