No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa

5AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa Station Rise, York, YO1 6GD
Opened in May 2010 the Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa revives the splendor and luxury of the golden age of travel. As York's first 5 star hotel attention to detail is at the heart of The Grand; from the accessories in the rooms to the wine on the table, everything is handpicked to create a unique and memorable experience. Guests can expect a warm Yorkshire welcome – The Grand is serious about service but never stuffy.

At The Grand every room really is unique, and guests will discover all manner of quirky architectural flourishes – from port-hole windows to wide skylights. All rooms come with luxury Molton Brown bath products, Egyptian cotton linen, powerful high speed WiFi connections, a wide choice of international TV channels and movies as well as flat screen TVs. It is also possible to upgrade to a deluxe room or one of The Grand’s 13 suites including the penthouse.

The Spa at the Grand offers the ultimate in luxury with beauty treatments for men & women by Germaine de Capuccini, a 14m swimming pool with therapy jets, whirlpool spa, sauna, steamroom, air-conditioned gym & relaxation room.

We offer valet parking at an offsite NCP car park, charged at £20.00 per 24 hours up until 12 noon on day of departure.
Picture of Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 116 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent friendly service, relaxing leisure centre and good facilities in an excellent location.

Reviewed by
Robert B

From Mirfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Romantic Overnighter
Had a Sunday night away at Cedar Grand and it was lovely & quiet. The room was spacious, clean, well decorated and with everything you need for your stay. The hotel spa area was very relaxing. Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, thoroughly recommend.

Reviewed by
J Roberts

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great for visiting York
very attentive staff, excellent facilities, large comfortable room and great location for central York

Reviewed by
Peter N

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous York luxury
Former North Eastern Railway HQ, great bar, excellent breakfast, real luxury and a proper Yorkshire welcome.

Reviewed by
Hugh Chaplain

From Dronfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel, with very nice touches and well restored. We upgraded to English breakfast but continental selection still good. Spacious high ceiling room was on first floor near lifts, but our concerns over noise were invalid. We heard nothing from anywhere around us, or even outside! Excellent location to explore York on foot.
However on trying to find the front door by car was frustrating and you have to drive over what appears to be a pedestrian area - not a fault of the hotel!

Reviewed by
Jill P

From Huddersfield, England
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth the money

Reviewed by
STU HOLDSWORTH

From Yarm, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

firzt class hotel
Good location next to train station and attractions

Reviewed by
d munro

From Renfrew, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real treat
Wow, what a super hotel. A beautiful building with a spa in the basement and very helpful staff. Just a bit tricky to find entrance in car - you drive over the pavement and you need to factor in £20 a day but it is valet parking which again was a lovely service

Reviewed by
Kate Upcraft

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel
Our stay at the Cedar Court was very enjoyable. From the valet parking to the continental breakfast it was a 5 star experience all the way. The room was lovely , exceptionally comfortable bed, everything that you could possibly need. Room service was prompt, and the staff were very helpful and friendky. The spa was beautiful, a very relaxing hour was spent there. I would highly recommend this hotel, and will most definately visit again

Reviewed by
sally d

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Special Birthday
Husband booked this night for my 50th Birthday . Have stayed before and thoroughly enjoyed it and was looking forward to our break .This occasion we felt the hotels previously high standards had slipped sadly. Staff not as pleasant and and attentive as out stay 2 years ago. Dinner excellent in the grill restaurant ,breakfast average and not worth the high cost. Mistake made on our Spa booking which was rectified but caused much upset . Spa manager was terribly rude and unprofessional and because of this we will not book the hotel again. Aromatherapy massage from lovely friendly girl which is worth noting .

Reviewed by
L MATTSON

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next