Reviews - The Grand Hotel & Spa


Station Rise, York, YO1 6GD

Price From 353.01 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (69)

87% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • m langthorne

  • June 2014

Suberb surroundings

Superb surroundings and service.

  • B s

  • June 2014

A lovely hotel with good customer service.

  • R Davey

  • May 2014

A little bit of luxury, perfectly located

  • Catherine Glenn

  • April 2014

Amazing short break!

My husband and I booked this hotel as a treat as we were unable to have a honeymoon when we married 18mths ago.

The room was beautiful, the staff were friendly, everything was more than we ever expected!

  • Jane P

  • April 2014

Birthday Treat to me

This is the first time I have stayed at Cedar Court and it will not be the last.

I am a frequent visitor to York as a day visitor but this was the first time I have stayed at the Cedar Court. It has been recommended by a friend who lives in York as a five star hotel and it did not disappoint. From the moment I stepped into the hotel I felt "special" and the valued as a customer which I have not always experienced at other five star UK hotels.

I had upgraded to an executive room and this was very spacious and lovely to have a separate bath and shower rooms.

I will be returning to Cedar Court this year and have no excuse such as a birthday treat, I just want to as it was so lovely.

  • N Jones

  • April 2014


Beautiful rooms with excellent service and a touch of class throughout.

  • Antony B

  • April 2014


Nothing bad to say

  • C Haynes

  • April 2014

Slightly disappointed guest

I felt that this hotel did not quite live up to its reputation we only stayed one night so it did not seem worth trying to sort out the problems in the room ,the bath was not quite as clean as it could have been this was probably due to some plumbing problems as the water did not drain away whilst using the shower and I ended up stood in about 10cm of dirty water not pleasant.

We ordered a pot of darjeeling tea and this was served in a teapot with jam smeared around the bottom of the pot .I think a little more care and attention were needed. However the staff were very freindly and helpful.

  • Maxine M

  • April 2014

a most enjoyable stay in York

made to feel very welcome.

valet parking cost was fair. friendly helpful staff. comfortable surroundings. lovely swimming pool. hotel very well situated

  • James Armstrong

  • April 2014

Something Missing

The only problem was the restaurant.

We intended to eat each evening I the restaurant. However on the first evening we had to ask for our wine when after we had started our starters. At breakfast my "full English" was not warm, bad presentation and cold, untoasted toast. My wife had a very small portion of smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, again badly presented. Therefore, we ate out for breakfast and dinner - a new experience for us.