No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa

5AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa Station Rise, York, YO1 6GD

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Opened in May 2010 the Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa revives the splendor and luxury of the golden age of travel. As York's first 5 star hotel attention to detail is at the heart of The Grand; from the accessories in the rooms to the wine on the table, everything is handpicked to create a unique and memorable experience. Guests can expect a warm Yorkshire welcome – The Grand is serious about service but never stuffy.

At The Grand every room really is unique, and guests will discover all manner of quirky architectural flourishes – from port-hole windows to wide skylights. All rooms come with luxury Molton Brown bath products, Egyptian cotton linen, powerful high speed WiFi connections, a wide choice of international TV channels and movies as well as flat screen TVs. It is also possible to upgrade to a deluxe room or one of The Grand’s 13 suites including the penthouse.

The Spa at the Grand offers the ultimate in luxury with beauty treatments for men & women by Germaine de Capuccini, a 14m swimming pool with therapy jets, whirlpool spa, sauna, steamroom, air-conditioned gym & relaxation room.

We offer valet parking at an offsite NCP car park, charged at £20.00 per 24 hours up until 12 noon on day of departure.
Picture of Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 135 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel
Our stay at the Cedar Court was very enjoyable. From the valet parking to the continental breakfast it was a 5 star experience all the way. The room was lovely , exceptionally comfortable bed, everything that you could possibly need. Room service was prompt, and the staff were very helpful and friendky. The spa was beautiful, a very relaxing hour was spent there. I would highly recommend this hotel, and will most definately visit again

Reviewed by
sally d

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Special Birthday
Husband booked this night for my 50th Birthday . Have stayed before and thoroughly enjoyed it and was looking forward to our break .This occasion we felt the hotels previously high standards had slipped sadly. Staff not as pleasant and and attentive as out stay 2 years ago. Dinner excellent in the grill restaurant ,breakfast average and not worth the high cost. Mistake made on our Spa booking which was rectified but caused much upset . Spa manager was terribly rude and unprofessional and because of this we will not book the hotel again. Aromatherapy massage from lovely friendly girl which is worth noting .

Reviewed by
L MATTSON

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Hotel, though expensive. Worth it!

Reviewed by
S Genda

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was fabulous, the staff excellent.

Reviewed by
D Austin

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa
Very friendly service, nice rooms and lovely cocktails in the welcoming lounge! Would definitely stay here again!

Reviewed by
Sarah M

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday break at Cedar Court
From leaving our baggage and car prior to check in time, to leaving our car after check out time, we were looked after. The room was large and well appointed. The bathroom was luxurious with the prerequisite thick towels dressing gowns and bmoulton brown toiletries. All in all a great stay. It is very expensive but great for a special occasion. I would deffinately stay again.

Reviewed by
G Flatters

From Pudsey, England
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place for a relaxing stay
This lovely hotel gives a warm welcome, the rooms are a good size and well stocked with everything you need for your stay.
The spa on site is well maintained, I had a lovely relaxing swim followed by a massage.
The hotel is centrally located so near to everything we needed

Reviewed by
V Decroo

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissappointed with welcome and porter service
Upon arriving the female member of staff at the front desk was very frosty and unhelpful. We were assured upon booking that an early check-in would not be a problem. When i enquired about this i was met with a frosty glare and told "no chance, check-in doesnt start until 3pm". Not the warm welcome you expect from a 5* establishment! I was then told that if a room became available i would be contacted on my mobile straight away. After a couple of hours this didnt happen and upon returning to the hotel at around 13.30 we were met with a number of other guests checking in. I then enquired to the same member of staff if we could also check-in to which she replied "yes of course" after earlier informing me i had "no chance" before 3pm! We proceeded to check-in and made our way to our room after being informed a porter would be straight up with our luggage. This service took 30 minutes!! 30 minutes wasted in our room with no luggage. Again not the service one would expect from a 5* establishment! All in all a very frustrating and dissappointing start to our stay at the Cedar Court to celebrate our engagement.

Reviewed by
J Jackson

From Saltburn by The Sea, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location for York sightseeing / shopping. We didn't use the Spa, so review only applies to hotel. Our standard double room was spacious and well appointed. Food was ok, but not great, however the attentive and responsive customer service we received throughout our stay more than made up for this.

Reviewed by
Cathy E

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ExcellentTop Class Hotel and 100y from York Rail Station
One of the best hotels I've stayed in ( and I've stayed in Hundreds) Its just about everything you would expect. The deluxe rooms are spot on ! Food is expensive (£32 a steak Full English £20) but with so much choice in York its not a problem) I WOULDNT HESITATE TO STAY HERE FOR A 5* EXPERIENCE.......Some how my stay had been entered on the wrong date on the booking system by the hotel but there was no trauma what so ever took less than one minute to sort and was upgraded to Deluxe room ...SPOT ON CUSTOMER SERVICE !

Reviewed by
Peter A

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next