No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa

5AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa Station Rise, York, YO1 6GD

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Opened in May 2010 the Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa revives the splendor and luxury of the golden age of travel. As York's first 5 star hotel attention to detail is at the heart of The Grand; from the accessories in the rooms to the wine on the table, everything is handpicked to create a unique and memorable experience. Guests can expect a warm Yorkshire welcome – The Grand is serious about service but never stuffy.

At The Grand every room really is unique, and guests will discover all manner of quirky architectural flourishes – from port-hole windows to wide skylights. All rooms come with luxury Molton Brown bath products, Egyptian cotton linen, powerful high speed WiFi connections, a wide choice of international TV channels and movies as well as flat screen TVs. It is also possible to upgrade to a deluxe room or one of The Grand’s 13 suites including the penthouse.

The Spa at the Grand offers the ultimate in luxury with beauty treatments for men & women by Germaine de Capuccini, a 14m swimming pool with therapy jets, whirlpool spa, sauna, steamroom, air-conditioned gym & relaxation room.

We offer valet parking at an offsite NCP car park, charged at £20.00 per 24 hours up until 12 noon on day of departure.
Picture of Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 138 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel & accommodation were superb. The beds were sooooo comfy and with Molton Brown toiletries in the B'Room a real treat.Concierge & bar staff were very friendly&efficient.
My only criticism - I didn't feel Sunday lunch was value for money- as we were first ones in the Dining room ,our food was nevertheless lukewarm at best.

Reviewed by
Chris P

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel and great value for money

Reviewed by
Claire S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel and excellent welcome
Welcome was excellent as were the facilities and location in York. Bedrooms were a decent size and the spa facilities were nice too. A couple of tiny issues with the bathroom taps (difficult to turn on and slight smell of drainage) but overall a great experience.

Reviewed by
Rebecca B

From England
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brief overnight stay - will definitely return
I stayed at this hotel because of its proximity to York train station. I checked in at 11pm and unfortunately had to leave at 7am the following morning. The young guy doing night shift on the reception was efficeint and welcoming despite the late hour. The room was spacious with a range of amenities you would expect from a 5 star hotel, and an extremely confortable bed. I will definitely return when I have more time to take advantage of the rest of the hotel's facilities.

Reviewed by
katrina v

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant excellent and awesome stay.
I really can't rave enough about this place. It is pricey if not for the deal price but wow.
The service is just amazing from start to finish. The valet parking is well worth the extra, the rooms are spotless and so well finished, a proper 5 star hotel. If possible get an executive room and definately stop by tge spar, it's well equipped and intimate in feel. Whilst out about the town many people asked where we stayed and then commented its supposed to be the best in York. I must admit I think it would be hard to beat. Only draw back is the price, everything is exdpensive but then you tend to expect that. Would i pay the flat price? Probably not, would I go back if I could! Oh yeah if given the chance I'd move in!

Reviewed by
L Ganley

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

discouted stay spotted online
we saw a discounted rate online and decided to stay for one night .The original price was 300 reduced to 175

Reviewed by
j smith

From Chester le Street, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent experience!
We will certainly be returning!

Reviewed by
Denise C

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing stay
Room was absolutely beautiful,there was no view but the facilities made up for it. The spa facilities were excellent,and very quiet. Breakfast was an expensive extra but there was a huge amount of choice and the service was very good.

Reviewed by
Beth M

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Grand stay
We stayed at the Cedar Court Grand for one night on a bed and breakfast deal. From the moment we arrived until we reluctantly left we were very well looked after. Our room was fabulous, we were lucky enough to be allocated a deluxe room and it was the perfect home from home. We made the most of our stay, enjoying a drink in the sumptuous cocktail lounge, a leisurely swim in the pool and indulging in the stunning afternoon tea. I have stayed in the hotel before and we will definitely be back again. Thanks to everyone who made us feel so pampered and special.

Reviewed by
Graham Stewart

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We enjoyed a fantastic night away celebrating our wedding anniversary courtesy of the Cedar Court Grand Hotel. All of the staff made a real effort in making our stay special, nothing was too much. A beautiful hotel offering a luxury experience in a great central location. Well worth a visit.

Reviewed by
Susan D

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next