Reviews - Florence House Boutique Hotel and Restaurant


The Florence House Hotel, 2 Malvern Road, Portsmouth, PO5 2NA

Price From 218.25 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (18)

94% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • A Brazier

  • September 2015

A very pleasing stay

They have made the effort and the outside garden and walkways are so clean and to a high standard.

Every thing inside is so lovely and clean and stayed in a very furnished room. The bed was so much more comfortable than my own bed at home. We had lovely nights sleep as really quiet. The breakfast room is very clean and won't be disappointed and the staff are lovely, The food was perfect. There is a restaurant as well so parking it limited but got lucky and got a space. We would certainly use again on our next visit this way.

  • Rakesh B

  • April 2015

The room was spacious and tidy.

The bed was comfortable. The bathroom had a decent shower. The staff was friendly and helpful. Would recommend the stay.

  • Karen W

  • April 2015

Lovely hotel

What a lovely hotel, receptionist was so kind and nothing was to much trouble.

Room was comfortable and clean. Plenty of parking in the road and close to shops and seafront. Went to the restaurant for an evening meal and it was extremely good. Only one small niggle was the noise at night, we had the window open and although in a residential area, there was a few people driving into the road and running engines, made worse by the fact that it seemed to make everything echo. But that was just a small problem compared to the rest of the stay

  • Jeremy T

  • February 2015

Relaxing weekend

Quirky set of hotels next to each other so your room will probably be in a different building to where you have breakfast.

The hotel is 2 minutes walk from Southsea sea front so very handy for walking along the coast into Portsmouth, which is a fabulous walk. Car parking is at a premium, as we arrived early we managed to bag one of the parking spaces and then left the car there for the duration. The room was very pleasant and clean. The food was superb and the staff were all very keen to please and attentive. The only minor quibble was a lack of hot water on the second morning. When we mentioned it at reception on checking out, they said we should have contacted them immediately about it and it would have been sorted. Would definitely return in the future.

  • Robert C

  • December 2014

Excellent Boutique Hotel

Stayed in a suite, large well furnished room, deep double bath, good nights sleep and and one of the best breakfasts I have had in a hotel, Great place to stay.

  • Anna McLindon

  • November 2014

Lovely room with great service

I highly recommend Florence Hotel.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and my room was lovely. Much nicer than the chain hotels and at a much better price too. Will be staying again if I am back in Portsmouth.

  • Marcin Lepka

  • November 2014


Bathroom door should be changed.

  • C Acott

  • October 2014

Florence Hotel Southsea

Extremely clean and welcoming hotel located in the centre of Southsea.

It is however, within easy reach of all sightseeing/museums/points of historic interest. Only downside of Florence Hotel - Room 1 Bathroom is quite small

  • r heaney

  • June 2014

Great stay

Hotel lovely and in great location

Food great

Staff very welcoming

Will be coming back

  • Shaun B

  • June 2014


Over the last 2 months I have stayed here at least 4-5 times and honestly could not fault it.

The staff have been fantastic, as a frequent traveller this has to be the best place I have stayed. Food was pure quality.