Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Central and South England > Hampshire > Portsmouth > Southsea Hotels > Florence House Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Florence House Boutique Hotel and Restaurant

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Florence House Hotel, 2 Malvern Road , Southsea, PO5 2NA
Florence House Boutique Hotel and Restaurant is just a 2-minute walk from
Southsea Beach and Seafront. The stylish bedrooms all feature digital TVs
and comfortable beds are adorned with Egyptian cotton sheets. Individually
designed bathrooms feature fluffy towels and designer toiletries whilst some
have either walk-in showers, spa or free standing baths. A cooked or
continental breakfast is available. The hotel is two minutes' walk from the
Seafront, close to Southsea Common and Southsea Castle and Southsea
Hovercraft Port is about 1 mile away, a quick route to reach the Isle of
Wight. Gunwharf Quays is 10 minutes by car. Free parking is available at the
hotel.



We have a fine-dining restaurant at the hotel with freshly cooked food 7
evenings a week. Pre-booking is advisable.
Picture of Florence House Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, Southsea at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Hotel lovely and in great location
Food great
Staff very welcoming
Will be coming back

Reviewed by
r heaney

From Hayes, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Attractive room, spotlessly clean
Very nice room in good condition and very clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. Note that there is no car park as advertised on here, you get a parking permit for the surrounding residential roads though.

Reviewed by
James C

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

amazing
Over the last 2 months I have stayed here at least 4-5 times and honestly could not fault it. The staff have been fantastic, as a frequent traveller this has to be the best place I have stayed. Food was pure quality.

Reviewed by
Shaun B

From Haddington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were very helpful with luggage and in the restaurant. They were very pleasant and friendly and cheerful. Always wanting to assist.

Reviewed by
ALMA ORGAN

From Pershore, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Florence House Hotel Southsea
What a fantastic little hotel, we were welcomed warmly the moment we arrived. We had a clean, stylish, light and spacious room. Great facilities, friendly staff, great decor. On street parking outside, great little restaurant, in their sister hotel next door. An outstanding experience, five stars to them.

Reviewed by
Rebecca Young

From Warminster, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what we booked
Arrived at Florence House Hotel & were advised that we would be staying in the sister hotel across the road, Somerset house, after being escorted to our room, we found ourselves in an attic room with sloping ceilings, that was less well appointed than the hotels we had previously stayed in within the group, you coud barely stand & shave in the bathroom mirror withot banging your head against
the velux window above you, same problem getting into bed, we added our head bang marks on the wall to the others, that clearly had done the same on the sloping ceiling.
The occupants in the room next to ours had been smoking in their room, this was evident as you could clearly smell it & the smoke detector kept sounding at random intervals, nobody came to investigate & it was not clear, where the fire escape route was from our room.
Unfortunately we were there on the night of one of the recent storms & it sounded as if the roof
was coming off all night, breakfast was in the Florence House hotel across the road, and if like us you had pre-ordered an evening meal this mean't you had to go to yet another hotel called number 5 the other side of Florance House?. We decided to cancel this as we wanted to change & wander down to a nice meal in the hotel we booked, not run the gauntlet in the pouring wind & rain.
If this is a boutique hotel then its clearly on the shabby side of shiek.
Shame as our stay in number 4 hotel a year earlier was faultless, somebody has taken their eye of the ball, & it certainly was not what we booked.

Reviewed by
s Martin

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous hotel just a couple of niggles
The hotel was AMAZING! however we booked to stay in the Florence only to drive 8 hours and arrive to find that the hotel was undergoing refurbishment and that we would be staying at the sister hotel which was luckily situated next door. Having said this when we arrived the alternative hotel was just as lovely as the Florence (Number 5) and the room was as expected. Besides the extremely difficult to open room door we enjoyed our stay and the hospitality was top notch! The staff where extremely friendly and couldn't do enough for you - including tracking down a bottle of rose from another hotel just because they didn't have any left. Plenty of choice for breakfast and the evening meal was delicious!

Reviewed by
S Banks

From Birkenhead, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Customer Service
Spent one night at the hotel, was a bit strange to book into one hotel but actually stay at one across the road. The room was lovely and very comfy, the only down side was the toilet, it was in a very small room (closet) and was not a nice experience. The window was also open and was so high up that we could not reach to close it. Not sure why it is like this as the bathroom was plenty large enough to have the toilet in. The stay were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them and anything we asked for was given. The breakfast was a bit of a let down but think that might be the time we arrived for breakfast as there was not much left. Would of liked to have a selection of cold pastries but that is me just being fussy. I would go back and stay again

Reviewed by
Leanne C

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mostly great!
When we arrived on the Friday night we were greeted with the warmest welcome- Mary was fantastic, made us both feel really welcome and nothing seemed too much of a trouble. The room was great also with a really comfy bed. We woke up very happy until breakfast when the staff were unfriendly and everything seemed to be a hastle, we had to wait for the breakfast items to come out and when they did it was small quantities and not of everything. We were given a table which hadn't been set up properly and weren't really acknowledged. I really wanted to give the best review as was a great place however the staff on sat morning need to be trained to the standard as Mary.

Reviewed by
S McAllister

From Forfar, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little venue, fantasic customer care, beautiful rooms and fabulous breakfast!
You couldn't ask for more!

Reviewed by
J N

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next