No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Pinfold Lane Penkridge, Stafford, ST19 5QP
Formerly The Hatherton Country House Hotel.
This property is at the heart of rural Staffordshire in the peaceful village of Penkridge. You would scarcely believe that you are staying just a few minutes away from the M6 motorway and within easy reach of all the main commercial centres of the West Midlands. We have 51 spacious En-suite bedrooms to provide you with all the necessary facilities for you to enjoy a relaxing stay whether it's for business or pleasure. All of our bedrooms are equipped with direct dial telephones, Widescreen TV’s with Freeview, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryers and FREE WiFi. Ironing boards are available upon request. During your stay, why not take advantage of our excellent Fitness Suite which is FREE for residents. This includes a heated indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room, a fully equipped cardiovascular gymnasium, and squash court. The solarium is available for a small charge. NON-SMOKING ROOMS ONLY!!

Dog Friendly Hotel, additional cost at £5 for 1 and £8 for 2.

Picture of Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House, Stafford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outside hotel needs revamp,noisey outside room window, carpets stained, bed soft otherwise good.

Reviewed by
Christopher Smith

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was really clean and tidy and staff were all really helpful an friendly
The only thing that let the hotel down were the leisure facilities the pool was very small and not vey hot the steam room was very dirty inside,the men's sauna wasn't working at all

Reviewed by
Steven Ashton

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A cold night in Stafford
After a long day-the hotel felt cold. The reception was cold, although staff were nice enough, and the radiator never came on in my room. Awoken in the night by the West coast main line nearby. In the morning, check-out delayed by the receptionist chasing after some guests who seemed not to have paid their bill! There was no obvious sign of a restaurant and I did not eat.

Reviewed by
Stephen P

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two night stay at hotel (Fri-Sat)
Very comfortable room and all hotel staff friendly and helpful.
Useful to be able to book room only ie. not breakfast. Wish there was more UK accommodation of this type. Would stay again but only on weekday nights or Sunday as this hotel is a wedding venue and it was very noisy on the Saturday night we stayed as guests retired very late and very noisily. Also - not sure you can do anything about the following but all room doors are very noisy when they shut however carefully you shut them - due to the locking mechanism, they make a real clonk which resounds through the hotel walls. Despite these 2 things - would rate our stay as very comfortable.

Reviewed by
G Sharp

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient for a one night stay
The room was very clean and comfortable, although they had set it for one person rather than two. However, new towels came very quickly. Reception welcome could be worked on but I think he was inexperienced - so it will improve over time. Bar staff excellent - bar food came quickly and service was in a timely fashion. Perfect location to break up a long journey.

Reviewed by
Samantha G

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointing.
Skipping over the tired decor in the shabby room and the slamming doors from 0700, I'll move on to the most disappointing aspect; the breakfast.
I prepaid at the suggestion of the receptionist and we arrived 40 minutes before it closed to
find empty juice jugs and a very small smattering on the cold buffet which was absolutely nothing like advertised on the menu...no meats, no cheese, no freshly baked bread, just a couple of old croissants and a bowl of apple salad with the odd grape, plus some cheap yoghurts. The top 3 bowls had food debris caked on them, to which the senior waitress/manager said "she'd throw them at the washer-up" as if it was a joke; I assure you I was not laughing. I also asked for a probiotic drink (as advertised on the menu) and was told by the waitress that she didn't even know what they were and she'd never heard of them. Finally, the full English requested was missing several items from the menu.
Your breakfast menu boasts that "every breakfast's a treat with us" amongst several other claims and stunning photography; I know this as I took my own photos of your menu as I was so astonished at the difference between fact and reality. It was not a treat.

Reviewed by
A Sharp

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend visiting family
This is the second time we have stayed here in order to visit family in Stafford. The first time was a year ago for a family wedding. The hotel provided an excellent wedding reception for over 150 guests.
This time we were on a flying viist of one night. My husband and I thought we would go for a swim but we were dissapointed by the size of the pool, however the gym facilities looked great.
We thought it a great shame that the exterior of the hotel/grounds look run down especially if you go to use the gym and pool. Despite this we would certainly use the hotel again.

Reviewed by
P Perham

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stafford visit

Reviewed by
Patrick B

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
Hotel is over priced for the general standard of the stay.
The building is in need of repair and had an air of neglect about it and the decor in the public rooms and in the bedrooms is tired and dated. This could be remedied by input from Mercure.
In our room, the curtains were coming off their hooks - why had housekeeping not noticed? In the bathroom, the lavatory was very difficult to flush and the shower screen leaked. The bathroom fitments were very old.
The hotel doesn't have to be like this - even if there is no investment for a major refit, Maintenance and Housekeeping could improve the surroundings and rooms and show guests that their comfort and convenience matters.

Reviewed by
J Balme

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Return visit
We have stayed at this hotel before and whilst in the area we were happy to stay again. We have a dog and find the staff very welcoming and the atmosphere very relaxing, we would stay again if in the area.

Reviewed by
d lacey

From Bognor Regis, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next