You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel

3

Pinfold Lane, Penkridge, STAFFORD, ST19 5QP

Price From 147.74 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (13)

46% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • A White

  • July 2016

Dated !!old bathroom fitting ie taps didn't match

  • Peter W

  • October 2015

Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel

Ok

  • KATHERINE A

  • April 2015

Not worth the Mercure name

I stayed here recently on a trip visiting family and had a small 5 month old baby with us.

We were given a family room which was down a flight of stairs and so as you can imagine getting a heavy buggy up and down the was no mean feat. The room was clean although could definitely do with some modernisation. we had no fridge and the tea and coffee facilities were rationed, and no biscuits. The bathroom taps were awful as it took forever for the water to come out hot from the hot tap and even the cold water came out tepid. We did not have dinner but paid extra for the breakfast rate. We paid £92 per night for two nights and feel this is way over the top for the village of Penkridge as you can stay in a much better hotel for a fraction of that price and the only reason we booked the Mercure was because of the leisure facilities which when we got there were told that the pool was closed due to maintenance. I feel they could have let us know this beforehand as we called the night before to confirm we had a family room and there was no mention of it which would have been the best time to advise. I guess I know the reason why they didn't as then we would have booked elsewhere and they would have lost our business. We arrived for breakfast around 10 minutes before the cut off time and there was no one to get us and all the tables were set up for dinner. I appreciate we were only ten minutes before but with a small child it is not easy get up and dressed for a set time. Then when someone finally came (I had to get someone from reception) we felt he was then reluctant to offer us a cooked breakfast. The service was shocking and we got awful looks from the staff which was not appreciated. Overall, with so many things going wrong I feel I wouldnt be comfortable staying here again in the future as the price they charge is only for the Mercure name and not for the Mercure service or luxury that one may expect. such a shame as the hotel has such potential but I would recommend anyone looking at this stay at another hotel instead.

  • t trigger

  • March 2015

Fantastic

Fantastic greeting on arrival, easy to find the room.

Despite only being a couple and got a family room so bundled all the duvets and pillows on the king size bed and settled in. Room service was reasonably priced and food was yummy and quick to arrive!

  • Philip Coward

  • December 2014

Great and bad!

Room was ok.

Swimming pool ok although new it would be small. Steam room was colder in it then it was I before you opened the door. Staff great. Room good but very noisy all night with guests in corridor and trains. Food was nearly very good but steak was medium to well done when asked for medium to rare and veg was sent back as not cooked even though we like El Dante and a second portion arrived after we had finished meal and again the microwave had not managed to cook all the veg. Would we stay again. Maybe if part of journey but otherwise no. After service very helpful as we thought we had left something behind - we hadn't in fact but the staff where very understanding. Thanks

  • D White

  • December 2014

Not quite what i expected!

This hotel may have been something at one time but it needs a complete make over now, its very dated.

Stayed for one very over priced evening meal. Probably wouldn't stay there again!.

  • Thomas Stuart

  • November 2014

Fantastic for travellers with a dog

We spent two nights here and the staff were so accommodating with us and our little dog Tilly.

Excellent food served in lovely bar area.

  • R Horsburgh

  • November 2014

adequate

adequate

  • J Steele

  • October 2014

Excellent

Excellent place to stay, easy to find and helpful friendly staff.

Room very comfortable.

  • Christopher Smith

  • October 2014

Outside hotel needs revamp,noisey outside room window, carpets stained, bed soft otherwise good.