Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Central England > West Midlands > Staffordshire > Penkridge Hotels > Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Pinfold Lane, Penkridge, STAFFORD, ST19 5QP
3 star hotel close to J12 and 13 of the M6 motorway. Located in the market town of Penkridge. Short walk to Penkridge Rail station which offers links to Wolverhampton and Birmingham New Street. 36 miles from Alton Towers, 28 miles to Cadbury World, 23 miles to Drayton Manor and just 8 miles from Weston Park. Free WiFi throughout, free parking and complimentary use of health and leisure facilities. On site bar, restaurant and lounge. All rooms offer flat screen TV's with Freeview Channels.
Picture of Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, STAFFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great and bad!
Room was ok. Swimming pool ok although new it would be small.
Steam room was colder in it then it was I before you opened the door.
Staff great. Room good but very noisy all night with guests in corridor and trains!
Food was nearly very good but steak was medium to well done when asked for medium to rare and veg was sent back as not cooked even though we like El Dante and a second portion arrived after we had finished meal and again the microwave had not managed to cook all the veg!
Would we stay again? Maybe if part of journey but otherwise no.
After service very helpful as we thought we had left something behind - we hadn't in fact but the staff where very understanding. Thanks

Reviewed by
Philip Coward

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not quite what i expected!
This hotel may have been something at one time but it needs a complete make over now, its very dated. Stayed for one very over priced evening meal. Probably wouldn't stay there again!.

Reviewed by
D White

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic for travellers with a dog
We spent two nights here and the staff were so accommodating with us and our little dog Tilly. Excellent food served in lovely bar area.

Reviewed by
Thomas Stuart

From Barry, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

adequate
adequate

Reviewed by
R Horsburgh

From Broxburn, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Excellent place to stay, easy to find and helpful friendly staff. Room very comfortable.

Reviewed by
J Steele

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outside hotel needs revamp,noisey outside room window, carpets stained, bed soft otherwise good.

Reviewed by
Christopher Smith

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was really clean and tidy and staff were all really helpful an friendly
The only thing that let the hotel down were the leisure facilities the pool was very small and not vey hot the steam room was very dirty inside,the men's sauna wasn't working at all

Reviewed by
Steven Ashton

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A cold night in Stafford
After a long day-the hotel felt cold. The reception was cold, although staff were nice enough, and the radiator never came on in my room. Awoken in the night by the West coast main line nearby. In the morning, check-out delayed by the receptionist chasing after some guests who seemed not to have paid their bill! There was no obvious sign of a restaurant and I did not eat.

Reviewed by
Stephen P

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two night stay at hotel (Fri-Sat)
Very comfortable room and all hotel staff friendly and helpful.
Useful to be able to book room only ie. not breakfast. Wish there was more UK accommodation of this type. Would stay again but only on weekday nights or Sunday as this hotel is a wedding venue and it was very noisy on the Saturday night we stayed as guests retired very late and very noisily. Also - not sure you can do anything about the following but all room doors are very noisy when they shut however carefully you shut them - due to the locking mechanism, they make a real clonk which resounds through the hotel walls. Despite these 2 things - would rate our stay as very comfortable.

Reviewed by
G Sharp

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient for a one night stay
The room was very clean and comfortable, although they had set it for one person rather than two. However, new towels came very quickly. Reception welcome could be worked on but I think he was inexperienced - so it will improve over time. Bar staff excellent - bar food came quickly and service was in a timely fashion. Perfect location to break up a long journey.

Reviewed by
Samantha G

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next