No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Coach House Hotel

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
20-22 MARYGATE , YORK, YO30 7BH
Charming 300 year old Coaching Inn. Very close to York Minster and all main
attractions whilst enjoying a quiet position down a side road. Privately
owned by Julie Thomson who ensures a warm Yorkshire welcome serving local
food and local award winning beers. All rooms are en-suite and individually
designed. They are equipped with modern facilities and some rooms have views
of the Minster.
Picture of The Coach House Hotel, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice and local
Booked very last minute and me and girlfriend has a real nice time, the place was more of a flat which we had access to for the weekend with some communal areas needing a bit of a brush up but the flat itself was top notch. Very clean & the people were friendly.
My only down point about why i wouldn't say it was excellent is that we had to put a throw over the bottom of the window as the blinds only travelled so far down.
The location was fantastic for a nice walk into town as well.

Reviewed by
Paul B

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel famtastic location.
We will defiantly be back, perfect distance from the centre, great service, would definitely recommend staying at this hotel.

Reviewed by
A Jenner

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
We had a lovely stay at the coach house hotel. The staff were very friendly, the food good & bed very comfortable. The hotel although small is in an excellent location for exploring York, definitely recommend this lovely hotel.

Reviewed by
colin b

From Loughton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, helpful staff. Lovely bar area, clean, comfortable bedroom. Could not connect to internet.

Reviewed by
Clare T

From Ashby De La Zouch, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value
Very helpful at all times comfort and cleanliness could not find any faults that even let us leave our case in reception while we went shopping and returned later to pick it up fantastic

Reviewed by
Brian Turner

From sunderland, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean comfortable and convenient
Relaxing, friendly Yorkshire folk, comfortable (especially the beds) and within minutes of city centre. Wouldn't feel any need to stay anywhere else. Free parking and complimentary coffee and cake all day.

Reviewed by
Ian Monk

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Coach house York
A warm friendly accommodation, food was good but not excellent. Room was small but all you need for a couple of nights stay and very conveniently located by the museum gardens.

Reviewed by
C Challinor

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short trip to York
I stayed at the hotel with my mum for one night as we were enjoying a shopping trip to York. The location of the hotel is great as so close to the centre but as it's down a side street you don't get traffic noise! From the moment we arrived we felt welcome by the lovely staff & invited to enjoy fresh tea/coffee and cake before we headed out! Lovely touch! The room was lovely with views of the minster. The breakfast was lovely too. I will be recommending this hotel and hope to return soon! Thanks again for a lovely stay!

Reviewed by
Kirsty B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, lovely room and superb staff.
We visited York for a mid week city break and couldn't have been happier with The Coach House's location. All the main sites and sounds of York are within easy walking distance, in fact the beautiful public park acts as a great short cut from the hotel to the city centre.
The hotel has off road parking and we didn't actually use our car once during our stay.
Our room was clean, tidy and tastefully decorated with a modern bathroom.
If we had to make one criticism it would only be that the breakfasts seemed to be made by different people on different days, as the cooking quality varied a little (Wednesday was excellent if that helps!!).
The staff were really friendly and helpful. Don't expect corporate "don't care" attitudes - the owner of The Coach House was on site every day and there was much more of a family vibe to the place than anything like a Holiday Inn, or suchlike.
For the per night price we were left feeling that the hotel is extremely good value for money.
Overall we would highly recommend the Coach House for any couples looking to enjoy York, and will definitely be staying there again in the future ourselves.

Reviewed by
Peter R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room in the attic
The hotel has an excellent location. The staff were friendly and made us welcome and the room was spotlessly clean.
However, our room in the attic was very uncomfortable in that there was only a small width along the room where I could actually stand upright. The bed was so close to the velux window that our heads were less than a foot away from the glass pane, and when it rained in the night it was like a drum roll.The linoleum flooring, although very clean, was not what I have ever seen before in any hotel charging £110 per night and gave the effect of being austere, which is a shame because other fittings were very nice. The painted artex is well due for a replacement however!
If there had been any suggestion on the booking information that the room was in the attic and had limited headroom we would not have booked. I have a mobility issue and am over 6 feet tall and as a result was bruised in several places from hitting the wooden joists (not olde world charm- just painted wooden joists!!!) several times.

Reviewed by
Andrew W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next