No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Coach House Hotel

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
20-22 MARYGATE , YORK, YO30 7BH
Charming 300 year old Coaching Inn. Very close to York Minster and all main
attractions whilst enjoying a quiet position down a side road. Privately
owned by Julie Thomson who ensures a warm Yorkshire welcome serving local
food and local award winning beers. All rooms are en-suite and individually
designed. They are equipped with modern facilities and some rooms have views
of the Minster.
Picture of The Coach House Hotel, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Coach house York
A warm friendly accommodation, food was good but not excellent. Room was small but all you need for a couple of nights stay and very conveniently located by the museum gardens.

Reviewed by
C Challinor

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short trip to York
I stayed at the hotel with my mum for one night as we were enjoying a shopping trip to York. The location of the hotel is great as so close to the centre but as it's down a side street you don't get traffic noise! From the moment we arrived we felt welcome by the lovely staff & invited to enjoy fresh tea/coffee and cake before we headed out! Lovely touch! The room was lovely with views of the minster. The breakfast was lovely too. I will be recommending this hotel and hope to return soon! Thanks again for a lovely stay!

Reviewed by
Kirsty B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, lovely room and superb staff.
We visited York for a mid week city break and couldn't have been happier with The Coach House's location. All the main sites and sounds of York are within easy walking distance, in fact the beautiful public park acts as a great short cut from the hotel to the city centre.
The hotel has off road parking and we didn't actually use our car once during our stay.
Our room was clean, tidy and tastefully decorated with a modern bathroom.
If we had to make one criticism it would only be that the breakfasts seemed to be made by different people on different days, as the cooking quality varied a little (Wednesday was excellent if that helps!!).
The staff were really friendly and helpful. Don't expect corporate "don't care" attitudes - the owner of The Coach House was on site every day and there was much more of a family vibe to the place than anything like a Holiday Inn, or suchlike.
For the per night price we were left feeling that the hotel is extremely good value for money.
Overall we would highly recommend the Coach House for any couples looking to enjoy York, and will definitely be staying there again in the future ourselves.

Reviewed by
Peter R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room in the attic
The hotel has an excellent location. The staff were friendly and made us welcome and the room was spotlessly clean.
However, our room in the attic was very uncomfortable in that there was only a small width along the room where I could actually stand upright. The bed was so close to the velux window that our heads were less than a foot away from the glass pane, and when it rained in the night it was like a drum roll.The linoleum flooring, although very clean, was not what I have ever seen before in any hotel charging £110 per night and gave the effect of being austere, which is a shame because other fittings were very nice. The painted artex is well due for a replacement however!
If there had been any suggestion on the booking information that the room was in the attic and had limited headroom we would not have booked. I have a mobility issue and am over 6 feet tall and as a result was bruised in several places from hitting the wooden joists (not olde world charm- just painted wooden joists!!!) several times.

Reviewed by
Andrew W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location location location
The room we got offered originally was so small their was no place to put our suitcase..
The second room although bigger was very dated. Im really not sure how this justifies the price other than the location.
The car parking was a nightmare. You leave you keys for the staff to juggle people coming in and out. Ive ended up was a massive gouge in my wing mirror of which there was total denial by the owner...
I enjoyed the stay but have come away very disappointed in regards to the damage to my car..

Reviewed by
Lee Wright

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely complimantary cake

Reviewed by
Terry W

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rustic charm
ideally situated , close to all of yorks main attractions , wether you are there to sight see , or shop , the staff were very warm and friendly , once booked in offered tea , coffee and cake , in the lounge area , the room was very well decorated and spotless , with a king size bed , good size bathroom , linen and towels again spotless and of good quality.The breakfast was excellent and the service was good , the only downside was the limited parking space at the rear , but what do you expect cars wern"t around 300 yrs ago , when this charming coach house was built ,so leave keys at reception as staff may need to move cars around , but not a drama excellent value for money , would stay again , and already recommened to friends

Reviewed by
b lee

From st helens, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

an enjoyable stay,
visited this hotel with two friends who i booked into a double room,and had a single for myself.the hotel was situated very close to the city walls and offered a very good view of the minster from both our rooms,the beds were very comfy,and the rooms had a very nice touch with home made brownie and tea? coffee,plus there was complimentary tea and cake served in the communal lounge every afternoon.and the breakfast was both large and very well cooked,and offered cereals fruit toast and the full English for the hungry riser.i found the coach house an excellent stay and a pleasing one for my travelling companions.

Reviewed by
Robert Windle

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lord Review.
We ate here four years ago and said then we'd stay here next time we came to York.
Bad idea. Nothing stays the same.

Reviewed by
S Grant

From Fordingbridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Atmospheric
The hotel and room was excellent, just what you look for when staying in York, close to everything you want to see and visit. We love York and have been many times, our next visit will definitely include the Coach House, thank you.

Reviewed by
Tracy P

From Wigston, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next