No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Oakwheel

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
17-19 COASTAL ROAD , SCARBOROUGH, YO13 0HR
A Traditional family run inn situated in the village of Burniston, 4 miles north of Scarborough and 16 miles south of Whitby just of the main A171.

A friendly local with a warm welcome. offering a well stocked bar with a selection of real ales. The Inn opens Monday to Thursday from 5.00pm, Friday and Saturday from 4pm and Sunday from 12 noon.

We also offer Homecooked bar meals with Special Boards, prepared and cooked by Chef/Landlord Dave Kemp and his team, using fresh local produce were possible from Fresh Fish, Homemade Steak pie, Fresh chicken dishes, Gammon, selection of Steaks and many more choices.

FOOD SERVED :-
LUNCH – SUNDAY FROM 12 NOON TILL 2.30PM
EVENING MEALS – TUESDAY TO SATURDAY FROM 5.30PM TILL 8.30PM
(MONDAY EVENINGS FRO 5.30PM TILL 8.30PM FROM APRIL TO NOVEMBER)
Picture of The Oakwheel, SCARBOROUGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Both my wife and myself visit the oakwheel every year, great place to say and the food is excellent.

Reviewed by
Gary Grace

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great pub
Stayed at the Oakwheel for two nights, room was clean, everything worked, and was not a noisy room, despite being right above the door/ bar area. The only down side was the bed, mattress in particular was not the most comfortable. It was ok, but not brilliant, might have been better if it was only 1 person sleeping in the bed, but for two the mattress wasn't very comfortable.
Staff were great, and the pub downstairs was really good. I would have liked to try the food as I believe it is good (and certainly it was busy when we arrived on Monday evening) but just didn't get the chance.

Reviewed by
Beth F

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

East Coast Weekend
Everything as advertised on the website, good sized room & bathroom, only niggle was the noisy extraction fan in the bathroom- easily fixed by turning it off, great food, huge helpings, friendly staff, good value for money

Reviewed by
steven f

From stafford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B&B with absolutely superb food and staff!
We stayed at the Oakwheel for two nights during the recent BH. Due to the late nature of the booking only the twin room was available. The room was spotless clean as was the bathroom. The linen and towels were like new and crisp white. The furniture was a little dated and old but again was adequate for our stay. All the staff were extremely friendly. The food was absolutely amazing and have already recommended it to friends and family.

Reviewed by
L Hewitt

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good honest accommodation at a great price
We had a really nice evening here after a very long motorcycle ride. The staff were lovely, they really made us feel very welcome. The young barmaiand waitress were excellent at their jobs. The food was excellent, big portions and very tasty. The room was comfortable and spacious enough for us, it did have a curious slope to it but this didn't bother us! Thanks you for a very nice evening and stay. Would happily recommend

Reviewed by
Warren F

From Broadstairs, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good and quiet
staff pleasant ,quiet clean nice countryside and good parking.

Reviewed by
b adam

From Penrith, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb!
We will definitely be back again! Our room was fab and clean. We loved that we had our own keys to the building so we can come back anytime we want even late at night. Highly recommended!!

Reviewed by
Nikolas M

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming family feel
The oakwheel was a very welcoming place to stay. The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for us. The breakfast was fantastic. Rooms were nice and spacious and a lot bigger than most hotel rooms with tv and more storage space than any other hotel I have stayed in. I would definitley stay here again.

Reviewed by
Dean Whittle

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't wait to go back
Great place to stay, very friendly, great food, very comfortable large rooms, loved it, exacylt what we want on a break.

Reviewed by
David Robinson

From Lincon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little Gem
Lovely pub in a very picturesque village

Reviewed by
Susan P

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next