No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Oakwheel

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
17-19 COASTAL ROAD , SCARBOROUGH, YO13 0HR
A Traditional family run inn situated in the village of Burniston, 4 miles north of Scarborough and 16 miles south of Whitby just of the main A171.

A friendly local with a warm welcome. offering a well stocked bar with a selection of real ales. The Inn opens Monday to Thursday from 5.00pm, Friday and Saturday from 4pm and Sunday from 12 noon.

We also offer Homecooked bar meals with Special Boards, prepared and cooked by Chef/Landlord Dave Kemp and his team, using fresh local produce were possible from Fresh Fish, Homemade Steak pie, Fresh chicken dishes, Gammon, selection of Steaks and many more choices.

FOOD SERVED :-
LUNCH – SUNDAY FROM 12 NOON TILL 2.30PM
EVENING MEALS – TUESDAY TO SATURDAY FROM 5.30PM TILL 8.30PM
(MONDAY EVENINGS FRO 5.30PM TILL 8.30PM FROM APRIL TO NOVEMBER)
Picture of The Oakwheel, SCARBOROUGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good honest accommodation at a great price
We had a really nice evening here after a very long motorcycle ride. The staff were lovely, they really made us feel very welcome. The young barmaiand waitress were excellent at their jobs. The food was excellent, big portions and very tasty. The room was comfortable and spacious enough for us, it did have a curious slope to it but this didn't bother us! Thanks you for a very nice evening and stay. Would happily recommend

Reviewed by
Warren F

From Broadstairs, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good and quiet
staff pleasant ,quiet clean nice countryside and good parking.

Reviewed by
b adam

From Penrith, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb!
We will definitely be back again! Our room was fab and clean. We loved that we had our own keys to the building so we can come back anytime we want even late at night. Highly recommended!!

Reviewed by
Nikolas M

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming family feel
The oakwheel was a very welcoming place to stay. The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for us. The breakfast was fantastic. Rooms were nice and spacious and a lot bigger than most hotel rooms with tv and more storage space than any other hotel I have stayed in. I would definitley stay here again.

Reviewed by
Dean Whittle

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't wait to go back
Great place to stay, very friendly, great food, very comfortable large rooms, loved it, exacylt what we want on a break.

Reviewed by
David Robinson

From Lincon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary stay
Staff very helpful. Food was good and served nicely. Enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
Jacqueline W

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little Gem
Lovely pub in a very picturesque village

Reviewed by
Susan P

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic mid week break
Spent 2 nights here and could not fault it. We booked the superior room with the larger bed. The room facilities were of high quality. The bedding and towels were lovely and white. We ate at the Oak wheel on the first evening, the quality and presentation of food was excellent. We then remained in the pleasant bar and took part in the pub quiz

Reviewed by
Margaret T

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

oakwheel scarborough
We stayed here for one night in the back room above the cellar, we could hear some kind of cooling fans on arrival but these were turned off well before bed time so were not a problem. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very quiet and clean. We reserved a table for our evening meal which I would recomend as it was very busy, food was excellent and a generous portion, breakfast was equally as good, all ingredients of a high quality. We would recomend and certainly use it again.

Reviewed by
anthony blackmur

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The homely welcome and great service made the stay all that better. The quality and large portions of the food made paying that little extra all worth it. They had a vast array of drinks and beverages for all tastes from iconic local brews/ales to a good selection of wines. The 'local' pub feel really was a plus as well offering holiday makers or passers by the option of stopping off for a lovely meal. The quiet village feel came into its own after busy days out with somewhere peaceful and relaxing to come back to.

Reviewed by
Ian Jones

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next