No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cawdor

4Visit Wales Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
72 RHOSMAEN STREET , LLANDEILO, SA19 6EN
The Cawdor, one of Carmarthenshire's landmark buildings is now one of Wales' leading boutique hotels.

The Cawdor in Llandeilo is a Grade II listed Georgian building and has played ‘a pivotal role’ in the history of Llandeilo. The hotel has a friendly home-away-from-home atmosphere, housed in an interesting mix of antique and contemporary styles.

Guests staying at The Cawdor are spoilt for choice! Each of the 23 rooms are individually designed, all with sensuous suede curtains, Melyn Tregwynt drapes and cushions, goose down pillows and duvets and crisp white Egyptian Cotton bedding. Every room is equipped with LCD screen TV's and DVD players and data points for internet access.

It's just the place to relax with friends or business colleagues with a glass or two of wine from the extensive wine list, and enjoy superb cuisine in their quality restaurant.

The Cawdor is the perfect retreat for a relaxing break in beautiful surroundings!
Picture of The Cawdor, LLANDEILO at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel
Rooms and bathrooms were very nice, staff friendly and accommodating.
Restaurant closed on day of visit (but fellow travelers rated it), bar food ok.
In the evening the bar/lounge area attracted quite a rowdy crowd of non-hotel guests that were eventually asked to leave by the bar staff, the general ambiance then improved greatly!

Reviewed by
D Crispin

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great room, quiet fantasic breakfast and good customer service by all.

Reviewed by
A Thomas

From Llanarth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All staff were friendly, professional and helpful and we enjoyed our stay. The food of the relief chef was too salty for my palate and menu prices would have been helpful. Main chefs food was enjoyable

Reviewed by
Janet C

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfy room
We had a 'standard double' room which was very large with a very comfortable bed. Lovely bathroom with the best shower I have ever used. Everything was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was ok but not the best ever though we have had an evening meal here before and that was very good. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly at reception. We will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Mark C

From Shoreham by Sea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb Stay
Wonderful food, beautiful room, friendly staff, what more could you want?!! Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Rebecca S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could have been better
Wifi signal in our room was non existent or in 2nd room we were allowed to try, staff tried to blame hot weather....honestly ! Breakfast was silghtly bizarre, I don't really expect to do my own toast, it's not that I'm incapable, just I expect kitchen to do it. Bed and breakfast I stayed at later brought it to my table, Grade of coffee was poor as was marmalade. The impression we had was that staff numbers had been reduced Room however was excellent, really appreciated the cool air tower as the weather was quite warm.Staff were very accommodating but just not enough of them particularly around breakfast time.

Reviewed by
M Sims

From Cwmbran, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful staff. Well equipped and very quiet room. It would have been helpful to have at least a shelf in the bathroom to put a few items on, but otherwise it was all very good. Also perhaps some de caffeinated tea, or fruit teas. Lovely bed.

Reviewed by
Carolyn S

From Frome, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gem
Beautiful building well presented with lovely food.

Reviewed by
Roy B

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room
The room was nice, especially the bathroom

Reviewed by
Murray L

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A near perfect stay - thank you
Good:
The staff were extremely busy the day we arrived. There was a wedding the next day, and guests had already arrived. Also there were two parties celebrating a 60th something birthdays. Nevertheless, they appeared to keep all the customers happy.
Liked that the head waiter took the time to descibe what was on the menu. All staff very professional.
Minor bad:
Central heating radiator did not appear to work in our room - but the room was warn enough anyway. I think radiator needs to be bled?
One mains socket did not work either.

Reviewed by
P Nicholson

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next