No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Station Hotel Norwich

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
5 - 7, Riverside Road , Norwich, NR1 1SQ
Located opposite the River Wensum, the Yacht Station and Pull’s Ferry, we are just two minutes' walk from Thorpe Railway Station in Norwich.

Our hotel is a family-run business and originally the building consisted of three victorian houses which were converted to a hotel in 1929.

Rooms are en-suite and have TV, tea and coffee making facilities. Irons and ironing boards are available on request. Free Wi-Fi is also available throughout the building. Free permit parking is available on request.

Breakfast is included in all room rates. Check in time from 11am - 11pm.
Picture of The Station Hotel Norwich, Norwich at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 140 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
58% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room very close to the city center
Nice room clean tidy huge rooms very good stay

Reviewed by
Callum Knott

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shower facility was poor, they are not provide soap.

Reviewed by
B Regi

From Smethwick, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and comfortable but a bit "tired". Rooms need refurbishing but dining room very nice

Reviewed by
Rona Gottesmann

From Halstead, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The worst hotel I have ever stayed in
The Station Hotel Norwich – The place is absolutely disgusting – not sure where to start – but here goes - Bare electrical wiring on the bathroom ceiling where the pull cord had been removed & replaced by a conventional light switch on the wall (is that legal?). Bathroom door would not stay closed (best you could get is 6 inches ajar). There were ceramic tiles missing from the window sill and around the shower enclosure. The exposed plumbing was a joke and has to be seen to be believed – the water must get dizzy before it gets to the toilet cistern – tiles have just been ‘smashed’ to get pipes through. More electrical issues in the bedroom – surface mounted wiring to the light switch – ok most of it was concealed inside plastic conduit – but not all! - Wiring under the ‘dressing table’? – It looked like a plate of spaghetti and some of it appeared to work – however not the case with the TV ‘black box’ (TV occasionally worked). One bedside lamp didn’t even have a socket to plug it into (made a nice ornament though). The bed head had been crafted from what appeared to be used shipping pallets – with no shortage of splinters and nails – I could go on – but what’s the point – in a nutshell - The place is absolutely disgusting and not even cheap – on the plus side – the breakfast was actually quite good – oh just one more thing the promise of a parking permit is just a marketing ploy – expect to pay £20 per night in the nearest car park

Reviewed by
s beardsall

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget B & B you don't get what you pay for
the decor in the room was dated and i had no hot water when i went for a shower and changing the channels on the tv was a nitemare as everytime i change the channel the tv switched off then when i switched the tv off it kept coming back on again so i had to unplug it

Reviewed by
Brian W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Hotel
Very good hotel to say at, would stay again.

Reviewed by
R Fisher

From Woodbridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget B&B
We stayed here because the location to the station was perfect for our onward travel. The B&B owners were very friendly but the room we stayed in felt like it needed a good clean, particularly the carpet. The bedding itself was fine and the size of the room was good.

Reviewed by
FEM C

From Hitchin, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I wouldn't be hurrying back soon
The staff are nice but as positive as I tried to be it was probably the worst accommodation I've ever stayed in. Location is great that's the best thing about it. The rooms are small and look very grubby. The whole place looks like it needs a whole over hall. Smells like smoke in the hallways. I only had hot water the first morning - the rest of the time I didn't. I didn't have the breakfast so I can't comment. There were some reviews that said they didn't like the bed but to be fair I slept well, but I can sleep anywhere. It was what it was a roof over my head. They really shouldn't be charging this much at all - I recon £25 a night max. But like I said the owner and lady I met the first day were nice and pleasant. Depends what your looking for but if your on business no! If you are going on a night out and just want a place to stay then maybe!

Reviewed by
Gemma S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not worth the fee charged.
The Maryland was cheaper and offered a better service, presentation of the room and breakfast. The owners were friendlier too.

Reviewed by
Maria S

From Kempton Park, South Africa
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Station Hotel
As other reviews say the hotel could do with a little spruce up, but the location is excellent and the vale for money was excellent too! My only complaint really is not much room in bathroom with toilet positioned right next to the shower.

Reviewed by
M CRESSWELL

From Ashbourne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next