No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Station Hotel Norwich

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
5 - 7, Riverside Road , Norwich, NR1 1SQ
Located opposite the River Wensum, the Yacht Station and Pull’s Ferry, we are just two minutes' walk from Thorpe Railway Station in Norwich.

Our hotel is a family-run business and originally the building consisted of three victorian houses which were converted to a hotel in 1929.

Rooms are en-suite and have TV, tea and coffee making facilities. Irons and ironing boards are available on request. Free Wi-Fi is also available throughout the building. Free permit parking is available on request.

Breakfast is included in all room rates. Check in time from 11am - 11pm.
Picture of The Station Hotel Norwich, Norwich at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 112 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
58% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy and comfy

Reviewed by
Sarah L

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An Overnight at the Station Hotel
Friendly service a reasonable room and a good breakfast . Good value for money

Reviewed by
houston brown

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hotel was very shabby, out dated and uninviting!
Our room was tatty with very poor paintwork, the door into the room was battered and looked like a dog had scrapped at it with its paws! The en-suite was equally tatty, bare plaster board which had obviously been put up some time ago as that too was mucky! The window sill had cigarette burns as did the tatty lino in the en-suite. The ceiling above the shower was flaking and cracking. The toilet had an issue with refilling (had to call the owner to sort out at 11:30 pm the night we arrived. The toilet roll holder had fallen off before our stay and had just been left on the toilet cistern. Our daughters room was worse, it stank of damp, tiles missing from around the wash hand basin and along the wall, raw plugs of different colors exposed where yet again a toilet roll holder should have been. The decor very dated and shabby! The dining hall however was a shock when we first saw it as totally different contrast to the rest of the building, it looks as if it has been newly refitted, but again decor poor and jobs unfinished. Thew breakfast was about the only thing going for the hotel, we had a full English which to be fair was rather good. The hotel is very well situated for the city and the parking permit was a plus. I do not think i shall be staying again.

Reviewed by
Annette W

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top Budget
Great value budget hotel with a super breakfast.

Reviewed by
John L

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, comfortable and good value
You know the saying you get what you pay for!!
This hotel suited our needs perfectly for a night out in Norwich and the parking was free unlike other hotels near by, nice breakfast and friendly staff.
Early check in and early check out.

Reviewed by
sandie y

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap, efficient and no nonsense
Close to Norwich city centre this is a very affordable basic hotel. The no frills will suit a frugal traveller. Another plus is that breakfast is included and it is cereal plus full fry-up.

Reviewed by
J Whitaker

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant and highly convenient stay!
I found the hotel to be incredibly handy in its location to the train station and the buses to the UEA campus. Whilst based in the town centre it was quiet and I got an excellent night's sleep. Whilst a little thing needed to be fixed in the bathroom- the shower door would not completely close properly, the room was perfect for me- spacious, tea and coffee facilities, a window with good ventilation, a small flat screen television. I had a double bed which was a nice surprise with booking a single room. The breakfast was lovely and the hotel owner was friendly and very helpful in providing me with a hairdryer.

Reviewed by
Hannah B

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff, excellent breakfast included. Basic room but perfect for what we needed. Would use again.

Reviewed by
S Morris

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but friendly
Seems to be currently having some work done so may change in time. Very friendly helpful staff but can't get away from the fact that the hotel is tired and shabby. Good sized room and fair value for the price.

Reviewed by
James D

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Once again
On my infrequent trips to Norwich I use this hotel for its proximity to the station, good value for money, excellent breakfasts and lovely staff. It was cosy and warm over a bitterly windy weekend.
the breakfast staff are kind and attentive and provide good food and unrationed coffee, cereals and juices. Here is a place where you get good hot toast

Reviewed by
J TWISTON DAVIES

From Bagshot, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next