No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Station Hotel Norwich

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
5 - 7, Riverside Road , Norwich, NR1 1SQ
Located opposite the River Wensum, the Yacht Station and Pull’s Ferry, we are just two minutes' walk from Thorpe Railway Station in Norwich.

Our hotel is a family-run business and originally the building consisted of three victorian houses which were converted to a hotel in 1929.

Rooms are en-suite and have TV, tea and coffee making facilities. Irons and ironing boards are available on request. Free Wi-Fi is also available throughout the building. Free permit parking is available on request.

Breakfast is included in all room rates. Check in time from 11am - 11pm.
Picture of The Station Hotel Norwich, Norwich at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 141 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
57% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap but needs a clean to be cheerful
The place needs a real good clean, a bit of a tidy up, poly filler and paint on the walls etc.
The breakfast was good.
The location is really good.

Reviewed by
Ben Chapman

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Great Nights sleep
It was a great place to stay.xx

Reviewed by
M Doyle

From Lowestoft, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Station Hotel ...get me out of here!!
The room was very shabby, in need of desperate redecoration. The wallpaper (lining paper) was coming off the walls. The shower cubicle was dirty & the door didn't close. There were drill holes in the tiles that were filled badly. Plug sockets were loose. However, when you went in the dining room for breakfast you thought you were in another hotel! It was lovely & clean, should have slept in there instead. Would not go back again. Shame because it is in a great location.

Reviewed by
C Sharples

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room very close to the city center
Nice room clean tidy huge rooms very good stay

Reviewed by
Callum Knott

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shower facility was poor, they are not provide soap.

Reviewed by
B Regi

From Smethwick, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and comfortable but a bit "tired". Rooms need refurbishing but dining room very nice

Reviewed by
Rona Gottesmann

From Halstead, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The worst hotel I have ever stayed in
The Station Hotel Norwich – The place is absolutely disgusting – not sure where to start – but here goes - Bare electrical wiring on the bathroom ceiling where the pull cord had been removed & replaced by a conventional light switch on the wall (is that legal?). Bathroom door would not stay closed (best you could get is 6 inches ajar). There were ceramic tiles missing from the window sill and around the shower enclosure. The exposed plumbing was a joke and has to be seen to be believed – the water must get dizzy before it gets to the toilet cistern – tiles have just been ‘smashed’ to get pipes through. More electrical issues in the bedroom – surface mounted wiring to the light switch – ok most of it was concealed inside plastic conduit – but not all! - Wiring under the ‘dressing table’? – It looked like a plate of spaghetti and some of it appeared to work – however not the case with the TV ‘black box’ (TV occasionally worked). One bedside lamp didn’t even have a socket to plug it into (made a nice ornament though). The bed head had been crafted from what appeared to be used shipping pallets – with no shortage of splinters and nails – I could go on – but what’s the point – in a nutshell - The place is absolutely disgusting and not even cheap – on the plus side – the breakfast was actually quite good – oh just one more thing the promise of a parking permit is just a marketing ploy – expect to pay £20 per night in the nearest car park

Reviewed by
s beardsall

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget B & B you don't get what you pay for
the decor in the room was dated and i had no hot water when i went for a shower and changing the channels on the tv was a nitemare as everytime i change the channel the tv switched off then when i switched the tv off it kept coming back on again so i had to unplug it

Reviewed by
Brian W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Hotel
Very good hotel to say at, would stay again.

Reviewed by
R Fisher

From Woodbridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget B&B
We stayed here because the location to the station was perfect for our onward travel. The B&B owners were very friendly but the room we stayed in felt like it needed a good clean, particularly the carpet. The bedding itself was fine and the size of the room was good.

Reviewed by
FEM C

From Hitchin, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next