No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Plough Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Plough Hotel, Bridge Street , Northampton, NN1 1PF
The Plough Hotel has been welcoming visitors for well over a hundred years, and continues to extend its warm and friendly greeting to this day. Originally built as a coaching inn in the 1890’s, the hotel now offers today’s levels of comfort and hospitality including freeview TV and Sky Sports channels plus free wifi in its bar area.
The hotel has ample free car parking for residents, and unlike many hotels a complimentary full breakfast is included in all rates.
We are conveniently located close to the town centre, a few minutes’ walk from the main shopping and commercial areas, the Royal and Derngate theatre and Northampton Rugby’s Franklins Gardens. Silverstone Race Circuit, Rockingham Motor Speedway, Santa Pod Raceway, Billing Aquadrome Althorp House and Stoke Bruerne Canal Museum are within easy driving distance.

Picture of Plough Hotel, Northampton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
52% recommended this accommodation to a friend 59% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Glad to be home
The reception was manned by people that clearly did not care whether you were there or not and were quite frankly rude. The room had damp up the walls, would suggest everyone stays away.
This hotel was cheap but still not worth the expense.

Reviewed by
J Dunn

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

old and tired furnishings and decor. bathroom was dirty and un-hygenic.
this hotel is poor quality and overpriced. we were extremely disappointed in the quality of the premises. the staff were friendly and helpful , but that was the only redeeming feature of the hotel.
we would not recommend the hotel to other visitors.

Reviewed by
C Blane

From England
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gd value. ntral location. Breakfast ended a bit early (8.30) and I missed it. Friendly staff. Wi-fi.

Reviewed by
Alastair S

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small, poky, no Wifi in room. Small bath (I'm 6 ft tall !!!!)
Noisy guests, slamming fire doors, food good but not enough.
Prices hike due to Moto gp weekend
Not staying here again

Reviewed by
g jones

From Amlwch, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic hotel / pub with rooms in a good position near the town centre
Basic hotel/pub full of labourers as clents. That's OK but I felt uncomfortable there wearing a suit. I would not stay there again. The hotel is in a great location and has good free parking facilties. They do not have en-suite facilities but have several seperate bathrooms wth showers. There was a serve yourself full breakfast included in the price. I suspect I paid the room rate and that two could have shared my room (with two beds) at the same cost. Basic hotel good but not great value for a single traveller.

Reviewed by
Chris P

From Buxton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

j
Very good hotel, friendly staff, nice airy room.

Reviewed by
j Bates

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Distinctly Average
Reception not manned all the time, breakfast terrible. Clean and generally ok for the price

Reviewed by
Brian F

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a happy traveller!
You know when you eneter a hotel and the way you are greeted, just how noce the stay will be.
The lady was nice, but so unprofessional it was ridiculous. For £100 for 2 nights I should have gone elsewhere...next time I will.

Reviewed by
B Allcorn

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a happy traveller!
You know when you eneter a hotel and the way you are greeted, just how noce the stay will be.
The lady was nice, but so unprofessional it was ridiculous. For £100 for 2 nights I should have gone elsewhere...next time I will.

Reviewed by
B Allcorn

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disgusting hotel - don't stay there,
The reception guy and bar maids were lovely but the night guy was an absolute pig. Hotel is filthy, room was dirty and like a prison cell. Stair carpets in communal staircase were filthy. Asked to buy a bottle of water, we're refused, they will not accommodate your needs at all!. Don't stay here unless you are desperate. £75 for a 1 night stay at this shit pit was an absolute con but we had no choice because we had to attend an inquest at the court next day and all other hotels were full. This "hotel" should not charge more than £40 max for a 1 night stay!

Reviewed by
k pitman

From Chislehurst, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next