No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kings Arms

5AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Kings Arms Hotel North road Charlton Horethorne, Sherborne, DT94NL
Nestling in the pretty village of Charlton Horethorne, the Kings Arms reopened on March 11th 2009.
Welcoming, cosy, lovely garden, good home cooked food, attractive comfortable accommodation. We take pride in everything we do, in every pint we pull, in every dish that leaves our kitchen and in the way we present every room to our guests.
Warm in winter with log fires. Cool in summer on the terrace next to the croquet lawn. Quintessentially English.
The Kings Arms country pub and hotel is in the centre of Charlton Horethorne just in Somerset but only a couple miles from the border with Dorset, and three miles from Sherborne, Wincanton and the A303.
It is owned and managed by Sarah and Tony Lethbridge who bought it in 2007 and have completely refurbished the building from cellar to loft – keeping the atmosphere of a traditional pub but adding all the comfort, convenience and facilities of the 21st century.
The imposing façade of the Edwardian building has been retained but behind it everything has changed. The main bar, the snug and the small restaurant offer a traditional welcome with good English oak floors in the snug and the small restaurant and real slate in the main bar. And behind the bars and through the atrium there is the newly built main restaurant decorated in strong warm stripes of crimson, red and purple.
Outside, the large garden terrace takes full advantage of the rural landscape sitting just below the Cleeve, as the hills behind the pub are locally known, and well away from the road, popular with walkers and perfect for a tranquil break from the city. The croquet lawn beside the terrace provides entertainment for onlookers and sport for those cracking the mallets!
Picture of The Kings Arms, Sherborne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place
Spent on night here on the way to Cornwall. Will definitely do so again.
Great food and service, great artwork displayed around the place - much of it for sale!

Reviewed by
Robert H

From Hertford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

King's Arms, Charlton Horethorne
The Kings Arms is lovely Hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
Our room was at the back of the hotel overlooking the garden. The room was spacious and the en-suite excellent with its walk in shower.

Reviewed by
D Davies

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
M Lothian

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent small hotel, lovely location, good attentive staff and the food is very good, a very high standard. Real value for money.

Reviewed by
J Leadsham

From Dover, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
We chose this hotel because it had great reviews which sadly was not our experience. When we arrived the staff were not prepared for us as they thought we were arriving the next day and for fewer nights. The first room we were shown to was very small with a tiny wardrobe we couldn't use as there was a shelf halfway down, so you couldn't even hang short clothes. We asked to be moved and were shown to a larger room with a decent wardrobe. There was a constant loud hum which sounded like an extractor fan. We asked the staff if this would stop later and they said it would stop at 10pm when the kitchen closed. The noise persisted and when we went to bed the sound was even louder when we lay down on the bed. At 11:30 pm we rang reception to ask to be moved but nobody answered. The noise was constant throughout the night and we were unable to sleep. The breakfast menu was limited and average. We were very disappointed as we had chosen the hotel for our anniversary based on the great reviews. We decided to check out and find another hotel after just one night which was inconvenient but at least the staff discounted the bill for our inconvenience.

Reviewed by
R Price

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very relaxing break
I found this hotel by chance and would thoroughly recommend it. We received a very warm welcome and the staff were very friendly and extremely efficient . The food was superb and reasonably priced. We will definitely be returning.

Reviewed by
C Miles

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful place to stay
Renovated to a high standard.The welcome was warm and sincere, the rooms were exceptionally clean, comfortable and the ensuite bathroom faultless. The food was of an exceptionally high standard and the waiters/waitresses knowledgeable and well trained.
This pub is well recommended

Reviewed by
E Davies

From Hayling Island, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very relaxing stay - If you want peace and quiet this is hotel for you !
Just returned from a 3 day stay at Kings Arm. The hotel is in a very quiet village but is a good base for exploring Dorset. We stayed in the Opal room which was nicely decorated, very clean and had a great wet room. The only down side was the wardrobe which had a shelf half way down making it impossible to hang dresses, skirts or longer tops in it without them getting very crumpled and creased. We had dinner on our first night and the food was very good indeed and the puddings to die for ! Service was excellent and wine reasonable priced. . All staff were very attentive and friendly and made us feel very relaxed and welcome. All in all a lovely small hotel and great place to stay for a short break.

Reviewed by
p sillett

From Rochford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay, highly recommended
We've stayed at the King's Arms a few times now and they do disappoint on any occasion! The rooms are a good size, with very comfortable beds and lovely walk-in showers. The management and staff are all lovely and very accommodating. The food is excellent and reasonably priced and they have a good choice of ales, ciders and wines. Can't fault it!

Reviewed by
Ben Cottam

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another relaxing visit
The King's Arms is a welcoming, vibrant local venue with a few smart bedrooms. It is comfortable & the staff could not be more accommodating. We asked for the duvet to be changed to a sheet & blanket - no problem. As we were preparing for a wedding we were hovering around the room when we ought not to have been - no problem. Did some shopping at the adjacent village deli - stored in the fridge - again no problem. The food is a big attraction & our previous stay was as result of a positive review in one of the major newspapers. The number of local people dining is an indication of the quality. This stay was more expensive but it was a bank holiday weekend.

Reviewed by
Angela Jackman

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next