No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Citybest Hotel Limited

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
31-33 Mansfield Road, Ilford, IG13BB
City Best Hotel is located in the heart of Ilford and is easily accessible through A406 AND M11.
We are a 37 bedroom newly refurbished hotel in Ilford (East London) where each room has been tastefully decorated according to the needs and comfort of each guest. We are located just 25 minutes from Central London and are easily accessible by public transport. All our rooms are en-suite and have T.V, Tea/Coffee making facility as standard.

We have a 24 hour reception and the premises are monitored by 24 hour CCTV. Our well trained staff strive to serve our customers and make their stay a pleasant one.

We are just 10 minutes away by public transport from the Olympic Village, where the Glorious London Olympics 2012 will be held.
Picture of Citybest Hotel Limited, Ilford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awake all night
This hotel would have been great but one of the rooms we had as a group was in a different block and for 2 nights we only got 3 hours sleep , the first night there was constant arguing and conversations going on in the hall ways and outside the entrance , the second night was pretty much the same with the added extra of the main door being slammed closed every half hour , it was as if someone was running "a business" in one of the other rooms , we reported it to reception but was given no explanation

Reviewed by
Craig Needham

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very decent and pleasant hotel.
We stayed there for one night as it was the cheapest option and close to Straford. I read some reviews and had mixed feelings for the hotel. Booked an en-suite room and specified in the booking that we need an ensiute and we will be arriving late so dont expect any problems. When we arrived, the check in was very swift, they had expected us, the room was ready and as we requested. It was a nice size, very clean, very nice bed. The first negaitive was a small warderobe almost next to the bed so doors can not be fully opened but this was a minor issue. The second negative was that the room was overlooking the car park and as it was a Saturday night there was a lot of commotion and noice. The bathroom was a bit small but clean, the shower was very good.
Very nice buffet breakfast and reasonable check out by 11am.
Overall a good experience, recommended.

Reviewed by
Vadim Y

From Feltham, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor hotel accommodation
After spending 2 night in this hotel I got sick because of the bed and water, now I had spent more than £50 in medicine. Is total regret.

Reviewed by
Chika A

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was a nice stay, it was my second time at the hotel, the rooms are well kept would definatly stay here again

Reviewed by
t Thompson

From Nottingham, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The accommodation while basic was spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable. The showers were lovely and hot and the staff were very friendly and polite. I would be happy to recommend it to any friends travelling.

Reviewed by
Elena V

From Birchington, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Make sure you have a record of en-suite booking
Very disappointing stay. I have stayed before but this time they put me in a room with no en-suite facilities and claimed that this was clearly stated on the website when booking. Standing at reception, it was difficult to check. However, later I did and no such clarifications is present. I have therefore lost trust in this hotel and will not stay again

Reviewed by
D Ellis

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location a priority
Hotel was nice and comfortable, travelling as two women a 2nd floor room would have been better than on the ground floor. Pillows in the room were hard as rock and made it difficult to sleep.

Reviewed by
H Parmar

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Utterly disgusting
Upon arriving at this hotel, we were in for several surprised: the room we had booked was not availible due to a leaking roof. We were put in another room, for three persons instead of two, but were told that after two days (into our five day stay) we would be moved to a two-person room without a bathroom, even though we had booked this. Lacking an alternative, we accepted this at first. We then went into our 'new' room. Although we didn't expect any form of luxury, we did expect a basic standard of hygiene from the room. Unfortunately, this was not the case. The carpet was moldy. The mirror was moldy. The walls were moldy. The lamps were moldy! There were dead insects inside the lamps, and alive insects near the windows. The watercooker had not been cleaned at stank. There were still left overs from previous guests in the room. There were even bloodstains on the pillow of my friend. Because we arrived here in the middle of a heat wave, we wanted to open up our windows to cool the room of. This was impossible: the windows were locked. The reception was so kind to give us their keys to upon up the windows, but none of the keys fit. Because of this, the reception promised to open them for us, but never showed up. The final straw came when we plugged in my laptop: the electric outlet nearly caught fire. We booked a different hotel as quickly as possible, and luckily we were able to get a refund of three of our five nights.
Although we were very angry at the state our room was in, we must be fair to the hotel staff. They were very friendly and generally very assistant. Our money was refunded on the same day we left the hotel. But, unfortunately, I will never stay here again. It was horrible.

Reviewed by
Jonas V

From Belgium
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

CONCERT WEEKEND
on arrival at our hotel we were told that we were now staying at their sister hotel nearby,this was only a slight inconvenience,but my booking confirmation stated clearly that we were staying at the hotel we arrived at, had we been informed prior to our arrival it would have saved us another 20 minutes stuck in traffic getting to the other hotel.

Reviewed by
ALAN M

From CORBY, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bare minimum of shelter from the elements with a half decent breakfast
area - very rough, nothing to be done about that
Initial - staff friendly and 24 hr reception is very handy.
Look - think a ymca hostel and you would be roughly there
Room - decor non existant, bathroom facilities the minimum to be sanitary. Beds were cheap and uncomfortable. There was no air conditioning and little means tk ventilate the room which was like an oven. On the other hand the bedding was clean and what was there was hoovered and dusted.
Breakfast was an all you can eat buffet of eggs bacon sausage and toast with freshly made (half decent) coffe. Not bad at all.
All in all a no frills hotel designed for a lads night inlondon. Not one to book the wife into

Reviewed by
jody S

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next