No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Park Central Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Park Central Hotel Exeter Road, Bournemouth, BH2 5AJ
Introducing Bournemouth's newest hotel, Park Central Hotel. This modern and stylish hotel boasts a prime location across from the Bournemouth International Center, minutes' walk from the Pavilion Theatre and Bournemouths town center. This stunning hotel offers 50 newly refurbuished bedrooms including our exquisite Signature rooms with modern and contemporary furnishings and panoramic views over Bournemouth's coast line. Indulge in a truly unforgettable culinary experience in Bournemouth's newest and finest seafood restaurant, Crab at Bournmouth. Relax and unwind in a comfort and style in the Crab's Bar, a trendy place not to be missed.
Picture of Park Central Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 89 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

luxury?
The hotel itself is in a fantastic position, the staff were friendly and helpful....but I am afraid that's where the good news stops.
The 1st night of our stay we had asked for a table at "the crab" as we had seen all the fantastic reviews online, the staff had supplied a birthday cake we had requested and we were looking forwards to a special meal, we opted for a drink at the bar 1st as we were there a little early for our reservation, after reminding them we were still there after 2 drinks we were seated 15 mins late, we ordered our food relatively quickly and waited to eat.....and waited.....and waited...for approx 2 hours in total, in the end I lost my patience and asked for the drinks bill as we were leaving, to the managers credit he waived all cost and insisted on providing the meal free of charge but what should have been a special meal was ruined....one place I will never be using again.
The room was very clean and well laid out but the "luxury" boastings about Egyptian cotton bedding, thick duvets and plush pillows are far fetched, they all felt like "value" options from the supermarket to us,we opted for breakfast in our room for the 1st 2 days at an extra cost of £8.50 per day and when it arrived it was stone cold, and the soft boiled eggs were solid, the 3rd and last morning of our stay we went to a nearby cafe and ate instead as going into the crab to eat was not an option for us, also as mentioned in another review there is no hot food option between certain hours of the day which seems strange.
All in all a hotel trying to be upmarket and I feel failing dramatically...we felt very mislead and will not be staying again

Reviewed by
Angela P

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

luxury?
The hotel itself is in a fantastic position, the staff were friendly and helpful....but I am afraid that's where the good news stops.
The 1st night of our stay we had asked for a table at "the crab" as we had seen all the fantastic reviews online, the staff had supplied a birthday cake we had requested and we were looking forwards to a special meal, we opted for a drink at the bar 1st as we were there a little early for our reservation, after reminding them we were still there after 2 drinks we were seated 15 mins late, we ordered our food relatively quickly and waited to eat.....and waited.....and waited...for approx 2 hours in total, in the end I lost my patience and asked for the drinks bill as we were leaving, to the managers credit he waived all cost and insisted on providing the meal free of charge but what should have been a special meal was ruined....one place I will never be using again.
The room was very clean and well laid out but the "luxury" boastings about Egyptian cotton bedding, thick duvets and plush pillows are far fetched, they all felt like "value" options from the supermarket to us,we opted for breakfast in our room for the 1st 2 days at an extra cost of £8.50 per day and when it arrived it was stone cold, and the soft boiled eggs were solid, the 3rd and last morning of our stay we went to a nearby cafe and ate instead as going into the crab to eat was not an option for us, also as mentioned in another review there is no hot food option between certain hours of the day which seems strange.
All in all a hotel trying to be upmarket and I feel failing dramatically...we felt very mislead and will not be staying again

Reviewed by
Angela P

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night in Bournemouth
The Park Central is excellently located, just a stones throw from Bournemouth pier. We opted for a superior room and were not disappointed. The bay window at the front of our room gave panoramic views of the seafront ... we could have spent hours just gazing! The room was very spacious and even included a seperate seating area with second TV. My only niggle was that the bathroom was relatively small in comparison. We ate in the Crab Restaurant. This also met my expectations. The food was wonderful and the pianist a delight to listen to.

Reviewed by
Chris A

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel / superb location
Stayed for one night, staff were extremely helpful polite and professional. Very central location and whilst we didn't use the restaurant for our evening meal we did have a drink in their restaurant bar and the menu / setting looked very inviting. I would stay here again next time in the area.

Reviewed by
A Patterson

From Greenock, Scotland
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient For BIC
We chose this hotel for its convenient proximity to the BIC and saved a few pounds by booking with LateRooms.com. The staff were excellent and very helpful. The rooms were spotless. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice. The only downside really was having to park in the BIC opposite, but it didn't spoil our stay.

Reviewed by
Kim H

From Stroud, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable hotel.. Excellent value for money and great location for concerts, beach and shopping

Reviewed by
Jan C

From UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, super location and fantastic room - we were really pleased with our stay and would definitely look to stay here again on out next visit to Bournemouth

Reviewed by
Jo T

From Chessington, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Completely overpriced!
We stayed here for one night with our two young children as we needed something in close proximity to the BIC. The location could not be better, as it is right across the road.
On arrival, the staff seemed helpful, offering to book us a restaurant for dinner. However, the hotel's restaurant was already fully booked until 9.30 p.m., which was rather disappointing.
The room was spacious, but really oddly designed with a kind of study that did not have a table. It was difficult to imagine what this room would be used for. TV remote controls did not work, the Internet access (which is free) did not work properly (very very slow). The accommodation was clean, but nothing special. The bathroom was a bit student dorm type.
Breakfast was included in our room rate. The cooked breakfast was nice, but the buffet was extremely limited. One thing the hotel should consider offering is porridge.
On check-out we were surprised to see that the newspaper we were offered on check-in was not complementary, but was charged at £2.50. Nobody had advised us of this. As the room is already priced at over £150, this seems awfully cheeky. The staff was not very apologetic when it was pointed out that we were not aware of the charge.
This hotel aims to be an upper class establishment, but is a bit like Fawlty Towers. We would not stay here again at such prices. £80 would have been a fair price.

Reviewed by
Desiree F

From London, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Buen hotel, mejor restaurante
Nuestra estancia en Bournemouth y en este hotel fue muy agradable, a pesar del tiempo lluvioso.
El hotel está en una magnífica situación, casi a pie de playa, y a dos minutos del centro de la ciudad.
Dado que el viaje fue en noviembre, la opción de la playa estaba descartada de antemano, aunque nos asomamos a verla, y la verdad es que su aspecto es magnífico, muy parecida a las playas que disfrutamos en Cádiz y Huelva, aunque imagino que con el agua mucho más fría.
El centro urbano, sin embargo, es pequeñito, bastante manejable, pero sin muchos alicientes, ni comerciales ni monumentales.
Como el motivo del viaje fue visitar a un familiar que estudia allí, tampoco era eso importante, y Londres queda a dos horas en los puntuales y cómodos trenes ingleses.
Centrándome en el hotel, éste se encuentra junto al centro de congresos de Bournemouth, a 50 metros de la playa, en una casa que en España definiríamos como un palacete, de estilo del siglo XIX. Un aspecto muy pintoresco para los turistas españoles.
He de decir que el aspecto de la recepción y las instalaciones comunes no pasaría de un 3* en España, pero esa impresión cambia en las habitaciones. El personal es muy amable, aunque en la recepción no hay hispanohablantes, lo que para los que no nos manejamos muy bien en inglés es un poco incómodo. Sin embargo, en el restaurante hay al menos dos o tres españoles o sudamericanos., lo cual facilita enormemente entender el menú.
Las habitaciones que nos dieron eran amplísimas y con muchísima luz, ya que tenían un ventanal enorme con vistas a la playa.
La cama era comodísima, por lo menos de 1,50 mt., pero un poco calurosa, porque solo tenía un edredón, y como la habitación tenía calefacción central, fuera del edredón se pasaba frio y bajo el mismo calor.
El mobiliario es clásico y elegante, con un sofá y un par de sillones, una mesita baja, un armario ropero muy amplio, y un escritorio bastante cómodo. Un pero es que no tenía minibar. Por contra, la habitación tenía su propio hervidor de agua, con sus correspondientes tés, infusiones, cafés solubles, galletitas escocesas, todo muy british, pero muy agradable.
Como todos los hospedajes británicos, todo el suelo está enmoquetado, salvo el cuarto de baño (que tampoco pasa el control de 4*), pero la moqueta estaba aparentemente impecable, al igual que el resto de la habitación.
El cuarto de baño es pequeño. De las dos habitaciones que teníamos, en una de ellas no había bañera, sólo plato de ducha, y en ambas, la ducha estaba fija, con lo que supone de incomodidad. El lavabo era casi tan pequeño e incómodo como el de un avión, y el espejo en el mismo orden. Sin embargo, los amenities eran muy agradables, tanto el jabón de tocador como el gel y el champú (no es lo normal en los hoteles).
También tenía su tabla de planchar y su plancha, aunque el hotel ofrecía servicio de lavandería.
Lo mejor del hotel, sin dudarlo, el restaurante, The Crab at Bournemouth, que además es donde te ofrecen el desayuno que nosotros llevávamos incluido (english breakfast buenísimo, aparte de un modesto pero digno buffet de frutas, pastelillos, etc.). Relación calidad-precio un notable alto, casi sobresaliente. Una carta basada en pescados y mariscos, amén de excelentes carnes y platos de cocina tradicional inglesa modernizados (si quieres, también tiene fish&chips, pero buenísimo). Evidentemente, no es barato, pero tampoco es caro. Una cena para cinco costó aproximadamente 150 libras con las bebidas y los postres.
En definitiva, un hotel muy recomendable, mucho mejor de lo esperado, dada la experiencia en hospedajes británicos.

Reviewed by
Víctor L

From San Juan de Aznalfarache, Spain
Who stayed in November 2012

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9