No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bay Horse Inn

Not Classified  Inn Ratings explained
The Bay Horse Inn, York Rd. , Green Hammerton, YO26 8BN
The Bay Horse Inn is a traditional family-run old English inn with log fire and beamed bar/dining areas. We are ideally situated close to major routes to the North, and east coast via A1/A59, halfway between York and Harrogate. Easy access to York, Harrogate, Knaresborough and Leeds city centres by rail- Cattal and Kirk Hammerton stations within 1 mile- parking available and free pick-up/drop off to overnight guests, by arrangement.
We serve local, fresh and homemade food every lunchtime and evening. All meat is supplied by Tancred Field Farm just a mile away, and Holme farmed Venison, using traditional natural feeds and reared to high welfare standards.
Cask-conditioned real ales, keg lager/bitter, freshly-brewed tea/coffee and a range of wines and spirits served lunchtimes and evenings Mon-Sat and Sunday lunch.
Accommodation in comfortably furnished courtyard en-suite rooms- 9 double/twin and one family room sleeping 3. Ample parking and Wi-Fi internet access available.
Picture of The Bay Horse Inn, Green Hammerton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 47 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and convenient
I was very happy with the all-round service and facilities at the inn. It had everything I needed and expected.

Reviewed by
Yvonne B

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dirty, to say the least
What a big dissapointment , we had booked a four night break, we travelled from the Scottish HIghlands, arrived at the Bay Horse Inn late afternoon., There was no sign of life, strange for a place that lets out rooms. We parked the car, found an entrance with a doorbell, we rang it and rang it, eventually a man appeared , we said we had a room booked, he ushered us in to a dimly lit pub, fumbled about in in bits of paper, obviously looking for our booking...he gave my Hhusband a form to fill in. We were in room 10, the man got the key..so we just followed, he opened the door gave us the key, then walked away. The room wasn't clean, there were hairs on the bed, pubic hairs on the toilet pan/shower tray..the telly was thick with dust, the headboard of the bed (material), was so bad my husband was gathering it in clumps, Needless to say we both decided we weren't staying there. We wen't back to the same door, rang the same bell, waited for ages again..We told him the accommodation was dirty, we didn't want it . He didn't look bothered, no apology what so ever, he blamed it on a new cleaner !!!!, the invisible one, he asked if we wanted another room !!!, We said No , The price we were getting charged was over the top, £80.10p, per night, absolutely ridiculous, luckily we hadn't paid for it in advance. That was agreat escape. We did find other acommodation , though at one point we thought we would be heading home again,. We had a one night stay at the Black a Moor Inn ,Ripon...a girl there set us up with three nights at the Cresent Lodge Guest HouseRipon, for our other three nightss, both were immaculate, and cheaper

Reviewed by
Les Arnold

From SPEANBRIDGE, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable,clean room ideal for overnight stay,good breakfast.

Reviewed by
G Page

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay ....rooms were clean and although basic has everything you require for a night stop over. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Would definitely stay at the Bay Horse again and would recommend that others try it as it really is excellent value for your money.

Reviewed by
Wilma McColl

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Lovely hotel and looks like a really nice village pub,the bed was very comfy it was just a all round nice place. The owner even gave me and my fiancée a lift to the station,nice touch... Will hopefully be back some time in the future

Reviewed by
Gary Peel

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food was fantastic and reasonably priced.

Reviewed by
S Kaye

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little country pub with accommodation
Lovely village location, close to A1 so was ideal for Great Yorkshire Show. Bedroom area was really good but bathroom slightly tired with a few fittings needing sorting and shower doesn't drain very well. Very spacious and reasonably price including breakfast which we were going to miss due to business reasons but they did offer to make us up a packed lunch instead.
Rooms are situated to back of the pub and there was some mechanical noise which might disturb light sleepers.
Would definitely consider again when we attend the GYS next year.

Reviewed by
David W

From Alnwick, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
We had a lovely weekend at the Bay Horse. Was very busy because of Tour De France but we were made to feel very welcome. Food was great (try the Steak) and good selection of real ale. York, Knaresborough all close by (local train service). Room was clean and we are looking forward to returning in the Autumn

Reviewed by
Andy B

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Le tour spectacular
It was enjoyable stay .

Reviewed by
S Yates

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfectly OK for what it iss.
It's a pub, the rooms are cheap, the staff are friendly, it's generally OK. Not the worst I've stayed in, or the best (that's the Greyhound Inn at Staple Fitzpaine). Room quite small and off the carpark, tiny tv, no toiletries or armchair. I had fish and chips which was average pub standard. So not great, but OK

Reviewed by
T Prutton

From Bungay, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next