No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel V Frederiksplein

Weteringschans 136 , Amsterdam, 1017 XV
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre at crawling distance of the canals and the northern edge of the Pijp,

We have bright rooms with excellent quality beds, all rooms are designed with love and with eye for detail. Each room is unique and features a compact but comfortable bathroom. Non-smoking policy which adds to the positive feel

Hotel V has an intimate and inspiring lounge with funky soulful music that will recharge you while sitting on the smooth couch by the fireplace. Meanwhile you can enjoy the V drinks and/or bites. Wifi is complementary just as is the use of our Apple computers in the lounge. Every morning we serve a complete and energizing breakfast.
Picture of Hotel V Frederiksplein, Amsterdam at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel for a Museum visit
A friend and I wanted to visit the Amsterdam museums and were looking for a place nearby, and this hotel was very handily located for the Rijksmuseum - just a short walk away. The hotel has a very chilled and friendly atmosphere - there is a nice bar area to sit and have a final beer before retiring to bed, and there is complimentary tea and coffee available all day. The breakfast was also great - a really good spread, which means you could start the morning in a gentle way (with plenty of coffee!) and set yourself up for the day.
The rooms were a bit small - and smaller than I was expecting, but perhaps that's standard for Amsterdam - but perfectly nice, quiet and comfortable, and free wi-fi too. The hotel's rooms are in two buildings, so with one set of rooms you get to them via a short outdoor walkway, followed by a very steep wooden staircase... certainly wouldn't be suitable for everyone, so would be worth checking. The staff were brilliant and friendly, and I'm sure would be happy to make sure you were in the main building (which has a lift).

Reviewed by
Ian L

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was lovely, very nice breakfast always fresh bread and pastries! Delicious
Lovely hotel staff made my staff a pleasure wouldn't stay anywhere else when I go back to Amsterdam! :)

Reviewed by
K Hobbs

From West Drayton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel, superb staff!!!!
This was my first visit to Amsterdam with my partner and two friends.
The hotel is located at about a 15min tram journey from the Central Station, it's not too close to Dam Square and the most busy areas, but it's close enough to walk to from town.
In terms of the hotel itself, the reception area is stunning, very boutique-like and very trendy.
Only negative point is the size of the rooms and the annex buildings where some of the rooms are located, also the showers did not have enough power. Breakfast is good with a good varieties of continental options but no hot options, which was fine for me. Tea and coffee are free all day long for guests which is a plus, and you get served pretty much at anytime until quite late.
I found this hotel to be good and what makes it that little extra special is the kindness of their members of staff, who are always up for a chat and happy to help with any touristic info. Well done , I will definitely recommend it.

Reviewed by
Nora S

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding
A lovely hotel, perfect for couples of businesses. Great house keeping and outstanding service! Highly recommended and will defiantly, without doubt stay again! Service with a smile 24 hours a day

Reviewed by
Christopher Booker

From Chatham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Miniscule
To get to the room room you have to go outside ( in the rain) then go underground.
They charge proper money for this.

Reviewed by
Joe Bray

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Great customer service from the minute I walked through the door. Room was comfortable and stylish. Really good quality for the money. Would definately stay here again.

Reviewed by
S Griffiths

From Scotland
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hard pressed to find better for the price.
Only slight hiccup was our initial room allocation. We were put in the "attic" room in the annex. The stairs were very steep and there was no lift. My wife couldn't manage the stairs, but even though the hotel was fully booked we were re-suffled into a room on the second floor of the main building (which had a lift). Absolutely no trouble at all to the young lady on the desk. The room we got must have been one of the better rooms in the hotel with great views over the street at the front. Note. I get the impression that, in general, people booking through internet companies are not allocated the better rooms, but are re-allocated without fuss if they complain. Just an impression.
Having said that, this is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. The staff kept offering us free coffee and tea without asking. I got my return boarding pass obligingly printed out by the receptionist. At night the room was quiet even though it overlooked the street. It was close enough to restaurants and bars in Rembrandtplein. (Take a number 4 tram). The breakfast (continental) was buffet style with lots of choice.

Reviewed by
Peter Michael R

From Ilkley, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best hotel for value in an amazing city
This is by far the best hotel in Amsterdam, the staff are lovely and really helpful too. It is out the way from the red light district and the center but not too far only a few tram stops away but this is what we wanted and there is a tram station right outside the hotel and they come every few minutes so it is easy to get about, there are some nice bars and restaurants near the hotel. Before we went I read reviews and the only thing people seem to complain about this hotel is that the rooms are too small. We stayed in a standard double room it wasnt huge but we didnt expect this, it was the perfect size, the only time you are in your room is to sleep and get ready the rest of the time your out in the city or relaxing in the lobby of hotel which is also perfect with an open fire enjoying the complementary hot drinks for hotel guests. it's so relaxing and i can't say a bad thing about it. Would defiantly recommend to anyone and will suit any type of stay wether that's couples, friends or a family. Can't wait for my next visit to this lovely hotel and amazing city.

Reviewed by
c ramsay

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

close to centre, excellent service, helpful staff, tram stop just front of the hotel
A big thank you to all the staff who is working there. Incredible service, very beautiful hotel.

Reviewed by
V Janikova

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor Bed
We had a club room which described a small room. However, this did not stipulate a double camper Z bed!!! The shower room had inadequate drainage and leaked into the bedroom and if you turned the shower to stop leaking, you gained an indoor geezer!!!! All fixable however annoying at the time. I'd stay there again but not in a club room as too small for two adults and two small suitcases and bed not adequate.
The staff were friendly and spoke great English. Free tea and coffee in the luxurious lounge with fire as central feature, relaxing and warm. Central to all trams, buses and great boutiques.

Reviewed by
C English

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next