No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lamppost Villa

3Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Lamppost Villa 3, Crescent Gardens , Bath, BA1 2NA
The friendliest B&B in Bath. serving the best breakfast in the City. Just a few minutes minutes walk from the city centre, ten minutes from the bus station and likewise ten minutes from Bath Spa train station.

Lamppost Villa is situated just a few minutes flat walk into the city centre, with the Royal Crescent and Royal Victoria park directly behind us. Unlike most city centre guest houses in Bath, Lamp Post Villa offers limited car parking for our guests, saving you the worry and expense of parking your car on the street or finding a public car park. This must be booked prior to arrival. Buses run regularly directly outside of Lamp Post Villa.

Bath has some of the best cycle paths and off road routes with the most stunning countryside in the UK.

All rooms are en suite and decorated to a high standard. Doubles, twins and family rooms. The beds have very comfortable orthopedic mattresses ensuring a good nights sleep. Free Wi-Fi broadband for guests who bring their laptops. Tea and coffee facilities in all rooms.

Latest check-in is 9pm later check in is available by prior arrangement and may result in a late check in fee. Please contact LateRooms.com regarding this.
Picture of Lamppost Villa, Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
42% recommended this accommodation to a friend 45% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
My daughter and I stayed here, having liked the look of the place from the picture onscreen. Had we been walking along that road looking for a B&B we would not have chosen 'Lamp Post'; it had a totally 'unloved' look. the garden was a mess and the paintwork needed attention. They are advertising for a housekeeper - I hope they find one who knows the business, and quickly.
On the plus side, the linen was clean, the breakfast adequate and it was only a 10minute, level walk to the city centre.

Reviewed by
Margaret G

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful weekend stay
We stayed at the lamppost villa for the last weekend in June. We arrived around 9pm and were very warmly greeted with lots of helpful information about the local area. We were stayed in the attic room on the top floor and as I'm shorter than my boyfriend I stayed on the bed under the low sloping ceiling to give him as much room as possible. The beds were very comfy and both the room itself and bathroom were very clean. The shower was slightly temperamental but that's normal and the pressure was very good. The breakfast was freshly cooked and also provided continental breakfast as well. Overall we were very happy with our stay and will be back to the beautiful town of Bath very soon and when we do visit we will be staying here again!

Reviewed by
A Bradford

From Banstead, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room and en-suite was clean and airy, even though it was an attic room. There was, however, no lock on the bathroom door or a blind or curtain on the window. Breakfast was good and served at a good time, though the cook did struggle to understand changes to the only option of breakfast which was a full English. The B&B is very central - only a 10/15 minute walk from the city centre, 29 from Bath Spa station. Very much recomended for a short city break.

Reviewed by
Sophie W

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, but very very basic, no decor to speak of
If you just want a place to lay your head, this is ok, but I was entertaining some guests so I was a bit embarrassed by the total lack of any effort to make the rooms attractive. We (two couples) stayed in the top attic room, which consists of a double room, a twin room, a full bath, and a little hall containing nothing but an empty fridge. There was industrial carpet, and plain duvets... towels were clean but worn... very budget hotel, but at a fairly hefty price. If you can find a similiar rate elsewhere, I would take it, because frankly, there's no way they can make much less of an effort. Also, they sent an electrician in to fix some wiring while we were getting ready in the morning... very unprofessional, they should have waited until we were gone. Breakfast was a basic full English... there was one piece of fruit on offer for the whole hotel... it was a sad little apple, unsurprisingly, no one took it. Positives: Lots of light, due to skylights (but no view) very fast wifi, even in rooms, very good location for walking around Bath, comfortable, non-squeaky beds, plenty of hot water in shower.

Reviewed by
Hannah B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed.
The room was in a backyard at the back of the house, very small room that was extremely basic. The curtains didn't fit the windows properly and there were gaps at the edges of the curtains enabling people outside to see in if they wanted to. There was a material wardobe in the corner of the room that looked a bit unsightly. The shower room was very small and there was barely enough room to get dried when you came out of the shower. The few pieces of furniture in the room were dated and of poor quality. To get to the room from the house there were a lot of steps and it was very dark going up the passage outside of the house, which could be hazardous if a visitor was disabled or unsteady on their feet. Very basic, was very disappointed after a five hour drive to get there.

Reviewed by
stephanie s

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average.
Basic room and hotel, but cheapest i could find in Bath that weekend. For £78 was expecting a little nicer, but was comfortable and efficient enough for one night stay. Quite dusty.

Reviewed by
Sian Q

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

warm welcome room- smelt, curtain hanging off, toilet handle very lose. breakfast beautiful.

Reviewed by
L J

From Wales
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good base
Easy walking distance to town centre

Reviewed by
C Smith

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hot water, warm room, near town....everything else was dire
The good...water was always warm, we were in the back rooms so was quiet and they provided us with extra heaters so we were nice and cosy. Bedding was clean and again we were provided with extra blankets and pillows without making specific request. The location was completely perfect, just in front of the Royal Crescent and 5-10 mins into the centre. The manager was polite enough and the owner was very welcoming.
The bad...we had booked parking but on arrival were informed it was all taken, parking in Bath is beyond terrible (and I live in Central London!) therefore we had to drive round for ages trying to find somewhere to leave the car. We were not informed at check-in that we actually could get a discount for most of the tourist things by virtue of the 'big Ben' scheme the this b&b is a part of. The breakfast was cereal, fruit of full fry up. The ingredients used other than the cereals was all the cheapest discount range available. I am no snob but you can taste the difference when it comes to certain things. I asked for just poached eggs and beans one morning, the result was so bad it was quite funny...completely cold beans swimming in water from the poached eggs. The manager prepares breakfast and works so very hard and is a really nice guy so it is almost endearing!
The ugly...the whole place is somewhat dilapidated, we had to duck down and beat back an overgrown tree to get into our room, a simple trim doesn't cost anything and I believe this demonstrates the lack of care and attention taken over everything. The room was really shabby, wires trailing across surfaces, a scrappy note on the front door explaining who to call if you wish to check-in, general poor decor etc etc
We did have a good stay, because all we did was get back late and leave early. I would stay here again if there was no alternative but it definitely wouldn't be my first choice.

Reviewed by
Karen L

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a bad place to stay.
I found stains on the runner on the bed and also on a towel.
I asked for lactose free milk to be available but he didnt provide it.
The room was a nice size and the bathroom was lovely, large shower was very nice.

Reviewed by
R Quarry

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next