Reviews - Lamppost Villa


Lamppost Villa 3, Crescent Gardens, Bath, BA1 2NA

Price From 144.99 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (23)

30% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • anthony hayfield

  • December 2014

bath xmas break

The bedroom was clean and tidy , I would say adequate .

The paperwork in the room said "Best breakfast in Bath" , I would not like to see the worst it was no more than average .

  • darren g

  • September 2014

not worth the money

this is by no means a 100 pound a night guest house the room that we stayed in which was on the ground floor was tiny the curtains were dirty stains on the bed linen and a very worrying hole in the bathroom floor also when you had a shower the tray flexed which resulted in a gap appearing in the mastic seal.Look elsewhere.

  • Xie Y

  • August 2014

So so

The price is on the high side; the floor's sound-proofing is no good

  • Howard W

  • July 2014


  • Margaret G

  • July 2014


My daughter and I stayed here, having liked the look of the place from the picture onscreen.

Had we been walking along that road looking for a B&B we would not have chosen 'Lamp Post'; it had a totally 'unloved' look. the garden was a mess and the paintwork needed attention. They are advertising for a housekeeper - I hope they find one who knows the business, and quickly. On the plus side, the linen was clean, the breakfast adequate and it was only a 10minute, level walk to the city centre.

  • A Bradford

  • July 2014

Wonderful weekend stay

We stayed at the lamppost villa for the last weekend in June.

We arrived around 9pm and were very warmly greeted with lots of helpful information about the local area. We were stayed in the attic room on the top floor and as I'm shorter than my boyfriend I stayed on the bed under the low sloping ceiling to give him as much room as possible. The beds were very comfy and both the room itself and bathroom were very clean. The shower was slightly temperamental but that's normal and the pressure was very good. The breakfast was freshly cooked and also provided continental breakfast as well. Overall we were very happy with our stay and will be back to the beautiful town of Bath very soon and when we do visit we will be staying here again!

  • Sophie W

  • April 2014

The room and en-suite was clean and airy, even though it was an attic room.

There was, however, no lock on the bathroom door or a blind or curtain on the window. Breakfast was good and served at a good time, though the cook did struggle to understand changes to the only option of breakfast which was a full English. The B&B is very central - only a 10/15 minute walk from the city centre, 29 from Bath Spa station. Very much recomended for a short city break.

  • Hannah B

  • April 2014

Clean, but very very basic, no decor to speak of

If you just want a place to lay your head, this is ok, but I was entertaining some guests so I was a bit embarrassed by the total lack of any effort to make the rooms attractive.

We (two couples) stayed in the top attic room, which consists of a double room, a twin room, a full bath, and a little hall containing nothing but an empty fridge. There was industrial carpet, and plain duvets... towels were clean but worn... very budget hotel, but at a fairly hefty price. If you can find a similiar rate elsewhere, I would take it, because frankly, there's no way they can make much less of an effort. Also, they sent an electrician in to fix some wiring while we were getting ready in the morning... very unprofessional, they should have waited until we were gone. Breakfast was a basic full English... there was one piece of fruit on offer for the whole hotel... it was a sad little apple, unsurprisingly, no one took it. Positives: Lots of light, due to skylights (but no view) very fast wifi, even in rooms, very good location for walking around Bath, comfortable, non-squeaky beds, plenty of hot water in shower.

  • stephanie s

  • February 2014


The room was in a backyard at the back of the house, very small room that was extremely basic.

The curtains didn't fit the windows properly and there were gaps at the edges of the curtains enabling people outside to see in if they wanted to. There was a material wardobe in the corner of the room that looked a bit unsightly. The shower room was very small and there was barely enough room to get dried when you came out of the shower. The few pieces of furniture in the room were dated and of poor quality. To get to the room from the house there were a lot of steps and it was very dark going up the passage outside of the house, which could be hazardous if a visitor was disabled or unsteady on their feet. Very basic, was very disappointed after a five hour drive to get there.

  • Sian Q

  • February 2014


Basic room and hotel, but cheapest i could find in Bath that weekend.

For £78 was expecting a little nicer, but was comfortable and efficient enough for one night stay. Quite dusty.