No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lamppost Villa

3Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Lamppost Villa 3, Crescent Gardens , Bath, BA1 2NA
The friendliest B&B in Bath. serving the best breakfast in the City. Just a few minutes minutes walk from the city centre, ten minutes from the bus station and likewise ten minutes from Bath Spa train station.

Lamppost Villa is situated just a few minutes flat walk into the city centre, with the Royal Crescent and Royal Victoria park directly behind us. Unlike most city centre guest houses in Bath, Lamp Post Villa offers limited car parking for our guests, saving you the worry and expense of parking your car on the street or finding a public car park. This must be booked prior to arrival. Buses run regularly directly outside of Lamp Post Villa.

Bath has some of the best cycle paths and off road routes with the most stunning countryside in the UK.

All rooms are en suite and decorated to a high standard. Doubles, twins and family rooms. The beds have very comfortable orthopedic mattresses ensuring a good nights sleep. Free Wi-Fi broadband for guests who bring their laptops. Tea and coffee facilities in all rooms.

Latest check-in is 9pm later check in is available by prior arrangement and may result in a late check in fee. Please contact LateRooms.com regarding this.
Picture of Lamppost Villa, Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
38% recommended this accommodation to a friend 41% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

warm welcome room- smelt, curtain hanging off, toilet handle very lose. breakfast beautiful.

Reviewed by
L J

From Wales
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good base
Easy walking distance to town centre

Reviewed by
C Smith

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hot water, warm room, near town....everything else was dire
The good...water was always warm, we were in the back rooms so was quiet and they provided us with extra heaters so we were nice and cosy. Bedding was clean and again we were provided with extra blankets and pillows without making specific request. The location was completely perfect, just in front of the Royal Crescent and 5-10 mins into the centre. The manager was polite enough and the owner was very welcoming.
The bad...we had booked parking but on arrival were informed it was all taken, parking in Bath is beyond terrible (and I live in Central London!) therefore we had to drive round for ages trying to find somewhere to leave the car. We were not informed at check-in that we actually could get a discount for most of the tourist things by virtue of the 'big Ben' scheme the this b&b is a part of. The breakfast was cereal, fruit of full fry up. The ingredients used other than the cereals was all the cheapest discount range available. I am no snob but you can taste the difference when it comes to certain things. I asked for just poached eggs and beans one morning, the result was so bad it was quite funny...completely cold beans swimming in water from the poached eggs. The manager prepares breakfast and works so very hard and is a really nice guy so it is almost endearing!
The ugly...the whole place is somewhat dilapidated, we had to duck down and beat back an overgrown tree to get into our room, a simple trim doesn't cost anything and I believe this demonstrates the lack of care and attention taken over everything. The room was really shabby, wires trailing across surfaces, a scrappy note on the front door explaining who to call if you wish to check-in, general poor decor etc etc
We did have a good stay, because all we did was get back late and leave early. I would stay here again if there was no alternative but it definitely wouldn't be my first choice.

Reviewed by
Karen L

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a bad place to stay.
I found stains on the runner on the bed and also on a towel.
I asked for lactose free milk to be available but he didnt provide it.
The room was a nice size and the bathroom was lovely, large shower was very nice.

Reviewed by
R Quarry

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good base.
Close to town, we had a low level back room so no traffic noise. Owner pleasant and helpful.Food good. Great hot shower after cycle in rain.

Reviewed by
E Hawken

From Bodmin, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated Accommodation, Needs a little TLC
the room is so dated, bathroom so small falling to bits. Toilet seat loose not sitting in line with toilet, Basin Plug chain broken, Bath taps did not work, shower was a trickle, Hot water was tepid.
Creaky floor boards, Room door security very basic.
Pillows had odour of "Bed Head", Towels were clean but they were tired, not fresh.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay with us, however we had no idea, the manager enquired after you during your stay and on departure you stated that you had enjoyed your stay and everything was "lovely" The house is Victorian and fixtures and fitting intentionally reflect that era. We concede that a plug was detached from its chain which was rectified without reference. The pillows are renewed twice yearly and professionally laundered pillowcases everyday. Some floor boards are a little creaky as most would be after 150 years. Rooms are regularly checked for maintenance issues and once again we received no mention from you about any issue of complaint, which would be responded to immediately. Please do comeback again and as with all guests, we will do our utmost to ensure your comfort.

Reviewed by
P Green

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Distinctly average
The title of the review says it all. It was a place where we left our stuff, nothing more. Toilet & shower were both dodgy, room cramped and decor was out-dated. The mattress however was excellent! I have stayed in a few places and, while this was not awful, it was the worst of them. I would not go back.

ManagementResponse

We always take feedback seriously and strive to improve our service. Bath accommodation is expensive and you chose our "budget rooms" which are smaller, but always clean and comfortable, designed for the traveller as an overnight stay in a comfortable bed with a good breakfast. Our house is Victorian and furnishings intentionally reflect the era. Just a few minutes stroll to the city centre it is an ideal situation. Thank you for your review.

Reviewed by
Bret H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice small hotel with just 10 min walk to city centre, traffic could be disturbing nighttime.

Reviewed by
L Fjell

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed
Me and my friend were really looking forward to our stay at the Lamp Post especially after reading the summary on the website and looking at the pictures. However we were very disappointed, particularly given the price. Our room was at the back of the B&B and was really 'shoddy'; it looked like it hadn't had any maintenance for many years (e.g. dirty cables hanging across the wall from the TV) and was tiny - the bathroom was dark with no window and very noisy fan; and there was a material wardrobe and not even a hairdryer. We couldn't easily ask to be provided with one as there was no manned reception and no-one answered the door (we were in too much of a rush to have to phone the manager, so we went out with wet hair). The breakfast was in a dark basement and we weren't even asked what we would like, or if we'd even like a cup of tea - we had to ask ourselves. Having visited a large number of B&Bs across the country I can safely say this is of substandard quality, and completely overpriced at just under £100 for our tiny room. The only good thing about it was the location.

Reviewed by
Sally P

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The B and B owner was very friendly however the room we were given was very small for the amount of money paid. The location is good with a 5-10 minute walk into the city... Overall we had a lovely weekend and would return to the city however would choose different accommodation.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, We are pleased you found us friendly and welcoming. All rooms are described fully on the Late rooms website, we do have a small twin and small apartment with a double and twin. We are sorry you found your room too small, had you let my manager know we would happily upgraded you to a larger room. Thank you for staying with us and if you return we will ensure a larger room is allocated. Kind regards, Graham, Owner

Reviewed by
C Appleby

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2