No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Glengower Hotel

2Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
3 VICTORIA TERRACE , ABERYSTWYTH, SY23 2DH
The Glengower Hotel forms part of Victoria Terrace at the North end of Aberystwyth’s grand Victorian promenade. The Glengower offers relaxing and affordable B&B style accommodation with a friendly and popular public bar which serves homemade pub-food 7 days a week including a delicious Sunday roast.

Its picturesque location on the promenade means that it enjoys stunning views of Cardigan Bay and is only a stone’s throw (literally!) from the beach. The hotel is only a short walk from the centre of town and is ideal for family and friends visiting students at the near-by Aberystwyth University.

The hotel has 16 en-suite rooms which offer clean, warm and comfortable accommodation at affordable prices. A number of the rooms have a sea view overlooking the beautiful Cardigan Bay. The Glengower prides itself on its relaxed and friendly atmosphere, and where you will always be made to feel most welcome.
Picture of The Glengower Hotel, ABERYSTWYTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely staff members-all of them. great food at breakfast and the meal i had from the bar. room disappointing with very old furniture squeezed in

Reviewed by
j tucker

From Chulmleigh, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

glengower short stay
great basic accommodation, clean, well decorated, did the job for me

Reviewed by
martin outram

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Room in Great Location
Room was lovely with a comfortable bed and plenty room as well as bay window opening out onto the promenade so had sounds of the sea to send us off to sleep. Bathroom was huge, so the shower was quite small in comparison, but clean. Shelving could be useful in bathroom for toiletries. Customer service was great, people lovely, but the cooked breakfast not brilliant - not great selection of items on the plate. However, overall was good value for money.

Reviewed by
K Jones

From Trowbridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nearly choked on a twelve inch hair incuded in breakfast!!
will not use again if offered free

Reviewed by
anthony s

From Nantwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B&B
Stopped at the Glengower for 2 nights with my friend. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and clean. The breakfast was lovely with a choice of cereal, fruit, yoghurt or hot breakfast. The food in the restaurant was also really good. Location is perfect for exploring Aberystwyth.

Reviewed by
Emilie C

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good hotel
We only stayed one night but the room was very clean and well equipped. We had an excellent view on to the sea front and the breakfast choice was very good.

Reviewed by
Robert W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful weekend stay, lean friendly hotel with lovely views over the sea. Will defo book again.

Reviewed by
G Carpenter

From Treharris, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very poor cooked breakfast

Reviewed by
p holden

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Place, Fabulous View
We stayed here in June 2014, we had sea view room which was large and airy and the en suite was huge. It was clean enough but the furniture was dated and tired, and could do with updating. the bed was awful, it had two matresses and both needed replacing.
We were on the first floor and were worried about the noise from the bar below, but there was no need as no noise traveled through, the only noise we heard was the waves rolling onto the sand and the odd person walking past, it was lovely.
We did not get a chance to sample the evening menu (which sounded tasty) but we did have the breakfast, the first morning we both had a full English, it wasn't great, under cooked bacon and only sausage between us. The second morning we both had poached eggs and bacon, it was much better, there are a good selection of cereals, yogurt, fruit etc for you to enjoy as well as the cooked portion, and unlimited tea and coffee.
I would stay here again, and I would recommend it, however, it is pricey for what you get and there are many other sea front hotels there offering the same or better, for cheaper.

Reviewed by
LEIGHTON W

From Neath, Wales
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay despite the scaffolding
Nice place to stay. The gales took its toll on the ediface hence the scaffolding. Sea view room large and big bathroom.

Reviewed by
David S

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next