No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Glengower Hotel

2Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
3 VICTORIA TERRACE , ABERYSTWYTH, SY23 2DH
The Glengower Hotel forms part of Victoria Terrace at the North end of Aberystwyth’s grand Victorian promenade. The Glengower offers relaxing and affordable B&B style accommodation with a friendly and popular public bar which serves homemade pub-food 7 days a week including a delicious Sunday roast.

Its picturesque location on the promenade means that it enjoys stunning views of Cardigan Bay and is only a stone’s throw (literally!) from the beach. The hotel is only a short walk from the centre of town and is ideal for family and friends visiting students at the near-by Aberystwyth University.

The hotel has 16 en-suite rooms which offer clean, warm and comfortable accommodation at affordable prices. A number of the rooms have a sea view overlooking the beautiful Cardigan Bay. The Glengower prides itself on its relaxed and friendly atmosphere, and where you will always be made to feel most welcome.
Picture of The Glengower Hotel, ABERYSTWYTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Repairs
The sea view room was seriously impaired by the scaffolding that covered the whole of the front of the building with workers walking in front of the bedroom window. Whoever takes the booking should inform customers of this. Once the scaffolding has gone we would stay again.

Reviewed by
Michael WEBB

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice

Reviewed by
barbara n

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Aber stay
Had a lovely Sea-view room on the third floor pretty steep climb I would not want to climb the stairs drunk.... Room was very clean and had good tea making facilities, tv was ok, however, there was no hair drier for the missus, but there was one at reception. The shower was a bad experience, low pressure meant that you either got scalded or copped a blast of cold water. Sort these issues out and I would have graded the room a 6.

Reviewed by
Kevin W

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Glengower hotel
Food lacked taste special of the day and was the weakest watery curry
The hotel could of done with more heating.

Reviewed by
B Willcox

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Aberystwyth Weekend
Only intended to stay one night but liked it so much stayed for two. Didn't realise that sea view was so close. Fabulous view of crashing waves but it was fortunate that we packed our earplugs otherwise we wouldn't have had much sleep. Food was excellent even though we were too late for Sunday Lunch. The 38 steps to our room was a little tiring but we were glad of the excercise. Managed to find a good parking spot away from the waves and the walk into town was not too strenuous. Would definitely consider staying there again.

Reviewed by
R Wells

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Generally enjoyable.
Having stayed at the Hotel previously, I knew what I was expecting. The room was a good size and very comfortable. The food was varied and enjoyable and always of a good standard. Overall my experience was very good value for money. My only (slightly) negative comment is that on this ccasion, I found some of the staff to be a little impersonal. Having said that, this did not detract from my stay in any way and I thoroughly enjoyed my week.

Reviewed by
Stephen F

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice beach front hotel
Very friendly welcome nice twin room on 1st floor overlooking the beach comfortable bar with food available good freshly cooked breakfast

Reviewed by
P Saunders

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breathtaking sea views
The Glengower offers everything we were looking for. Clean room, comfortable bed ,friendly staff, excellent food and very good ale. The sea view from our window was just beautiful.
I would strongly recomend the Glengower to any one looking for a break by the sea.

Reviewed by
Hilary A

From Brecon, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff and comfortable rooms
Would definitely stay here again. Had a lovely (big!) sea view room. Breakfast is cooked to order and served on the ground floor, unlike so many hotels of this type where the breakfast room is in a dingy basement. A very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Kirsten G

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Seafront setting.
Paid extra to have a sea view and was well worth it.

Reviewed by
mark w

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next