No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Townhouse Bed & Breakfast

4Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
153 Warwick Road , Carlisle, CA1 1LU
Townhouse's owners, Christine and Duncan Weston are always on hand and pride themselves on providing a high quality service with a relaxing and friendly atmosphere which has seen guests from both overseas and the UK want to return.Wether travelling alone or with family / friends or staying over night or longer we will ensure your stay is a pleasurable experience. Situated in a leafy street close to all Carlisle has to offer. Townhouse is Victorian and has been tastefully and sympathetically decorated retaining many of the original features along side modern amenities,enjoy breakfast in our comforable dining room with it's original marble fire place and onate ceiling. Internet and Free WFI available Carlisle is an excellent stop off point if you are travelling to or returning from Scotland but there is also much to do and see in and around the historic Great Border City.You will find yourself at the centre of historical England where Celts, Romans, King Arthur and Bonnie Prince Charlie have all left their mark.This all contrasts beautifully with a vibrant modern day city where the cathedral and castle sit along side some fantastic shops,bars,cafe's and multicultral restaurants.We are happy to advise on places to visit and to eat we will if you wish make a reservation on you behalf.
Picture of Townhouse Bed & Breakfast, Carlisle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just right for us
We wanted a convenient stay for some walking. This filled the bill perfectly as the owner was very welcoming and obliging throughout. The room was very peaceful and elegant and everything was there, albeit with no frills- some of the best value we have experienced.
Good range of breakfast food and times- needs more decaff coffee now though!

Reviewed by
J Wilkes

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value and dog friendly

Reviewed by
ruth hollis

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short but enjoyable stay
Landlady very pleasant and helpful.
Room adequate although a bit of a trek to the bathroom. Everything clean and tidy, and a good breakfast..
Parking outside the door and only ten minutes easy walk to town center and all characterful and historic Carlisle has to offer.
Close to Brunton Park if you're here for the football.
I'd recommend accommodation and Carlisle.

Reviewed by
G Rees

From Matlock, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

From Tom aged 10, it ws very good and the breakfast was epic!

Reviewed by
Ian O

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B&B with very hospitable hosts
My husband and two young children (8&11) stayed for two nights at the Townhouse B&B. The room was big enough for the 4 of us (my kids were happy to each get a single bed). Our hosts were very hospitable, providing us with a wonderful breakfast in the morning. They were also helpful and looked up info on how to get to Hadrian's Wall (with out driving). We highly recommend this guesthouse to others especially families. Another bonus was that it was very close walk to the train station.

Reviewed by
J Purcell Martin

From Toronto, Canada
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant b&b
Enjoyable stay in nice surroundings. No complaints at all

Reviewed by
m green

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
I only stayed here for one night but as soon as you pull up at the side of the road and park it feels like a nice area, the entrance to the guest house is secure by two locked doors at night. very lovely landlords, helpful and knowledgeable, room was quite big but I'm not complaining. it had a sink, single bed, cupboard, table/ tv / bedside lamp and alarm clock, additional hairdryer and cooling fan were in the cupboard.
the bathroom was shared but was kept very clean and looked really nice (bath, shower, toilet, sink and even some books to read).
Food was great too, breakfast was included. I had the big breakfast (two sausages, one egg, unlimited toast, baked beans and more) choice of cereals. tea or coffee or fruit juice.
they give you a parking permit for however long you stay, if you park for Saturday to Sunday permit is only valid for Saturday as parking is unlimited on Sunday.

Reviewed by
R Blackburn

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needed a room last minute, very accommodating and friendly service

Reviewed by
Daniel N

From Conwy, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Easter retreat
We were surprised to find somewhere as we left our decision to book until very late and it was Easter weekend. We had a wonderful time at the races and the accommodation was absolutely marvellous, warm welcome, beautiful clean rooms, excellent breakfast, couldn't have done better . Great valid for money too.

Reviewed by
John S

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of Townhouse B&B - Carlisle
I had absolutely no problem with my stay at Townhouse and will use it on any lengthy stay in Cumbria in the future

Reviewed by
ALISTAIR AYNSCOUGH

From COLINSBURGH, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next