No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wellington Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Darley , , , Harrogate, HG3 2QQ
The Wellington Inn makes an ideal location for a short break in the Yorkshire Dales and is within easy reach of Harrogate. A pub with restaurant and 12 bedrooms, you will always find relaxation and comfort, tasty local produce, good beer and fine wine. Open fires and snug seating welcome you and the stunning countryside views from the restaurant and gardens beckon. Friendly and capable staff, who wish to please and assist, are ready to help you make the most of your visit. Nidderdale is a stunning region and our beautiful rural location puts our guests in easy reach of Harrogate, Ripon, Skipton, York and Leeds as well as being the gateway to the Dales. The Yorkshire Dales covers approximately 1,600 square miles and includes the Nidderdale Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, which was set up in recognition of its unique natural heritage and to help conserve it for future generations. Visitors and locals alike find so much to enjoy in the Yorkshire Dales. For an afternoon or longer, in whichever direction you take, there are many and varied attractions on offer. The long-established main bar and tap room are furnished with simple wooden tables and chairs and this sense of solidity and unfussiness is further enhanced by the smooth, worn quarry-tiled flagged floor. The main bar is the place to gather, to dine or to read the daily papers provided. On cooler days, the fire in the imposing inglenook fireplace illuminates and invites. The restaurant makes the most of the views across the Yorkshire Dales; windows frame the beauty of the countryside. Warm burgundy colours, faded rugs and burnished wooden floors harmonise to create a simple elegant dining room in which we can showcase the best seasonal and where possible, local produce.
Picture of Wellington Inn, Harrogate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 63 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wellington
My wife and I stay for one night,we found the room quite large and clean.The only faults we found were the bathroom needed decorating which they are in the process of doing on other rooms.We had two single beds and to be honest not very comfortable.The staff where very good and the evening meal and breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
brian k

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceeded Expectations
I chose the venue because of where it was rather than anything else. Expectations were low because of other 'Inns' I've stayed at but, by the end of the stay, I was pleasantly surprised. Essentially because of the food quality.
The room was clean but small. The bathroom was in need of refurbishment which was about to start when we left. The tea and coffee facilities in the room were very generous. The evening meal was typical 'bar food' but well prepared using local produce. The wine was an Australian Shiraz which was excellent. The breakfast again was very good and generous. I also chose to have a packed lunch, again no complaints; bakery bread, generous helpings of lean ham and tomatoes.
All of this comes at a premuim cost but has to be expected. Also, I booked a room with dinner, B&B and a bottle of wine, which wasn't a saving and ended up paying slightly more.

Reviewed by
Martin Johnson

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Second time around
Stayed 18months ago at xmas time came back for wifes bday. Same experiance as before nice staff, food, wine. good atmosphere in tap room. overall a very pleasant weekend.

Reviewed by
paul flood

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs refreshing

Reviewed by
Tim L

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Restaurant
Very nice pub to stay at. Beer and wine excellent choice and quality. Food was very good but we thought a little pricey

Reviewed by
G Carvell

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great experience

Reviewed by
Frankie McDonald

From Cleator Moor, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Wellington Inn, what an ideal setting. The hospitality was second to non, all the staff and i mean all, were attentive no matter the time of day. They took pride in what they were doing and this was natural to them. There was an excellent choice of menu and the food was locally sourced, prepared and served to a very high standard and plenty of it. You certainly do not leave the dining area disappointed. The rooms were adequate looking tiered and in need of some TLC. But plans are in place for refurbishment in this area this year. My husband and I will definitely look forward to revisiting. To everyone at the Wellington Inn well done.

Reviewed by
Sandra Middleton

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average, adequate accommodation, needs a spruce up and tlc
Rooms ok, but a bit tired. Exceedingly noisy in the bar the night we were there. Also we intended eating there but were told that there was a party coming in, so unless we ate straight away (which we couldn't as we were meeting someone) then it was in our best interests to eat elsewhere, which we did. Also last orders was at 7.45 which is a bit early. Breakfast was very good though.

Reviewed by
Stephen D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location, shame about the staff
Yes a wonderful location for an Inn, plenty of fabulous views all around.
Our room however had a view of a fire exit and a car park!!
The reception and bar are one of the same and if its busy i would imagine that you would find it difficult to get served as the staff are more interested in serving customers for drinks instead of getting hotels guests booked in and away to their rooms.
The breakfast was OK, but served by such sullen staff.
The room, albeit not a good view, was also located at the end of a corridor next to the fire exit/rear entrance to the hotel where smokers congregated, and if you had the window open you could smell their cigarette smoking coming into the room, dumpers just being chucked on the ground and people peering into your room.
I though it was overpriced for the accommodation and breakfast

Reviewed by
Kathleen H

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel and staff very friendly (although did not take us to our actual room) breakfast was really nice and a lot of choice. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
K Townsend

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next