No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wellington Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Darley , , , Harrogate, HG3 2QQ
The Wellington Inn makes an ideal location for a short break in the Yorkshire Dales and is within easy reach of Harrogate. A pub with restaurant and 12 bedrooms, you will always find relaxation and comfort, tasty local produce, good beer and fine wine. Open fires and snug seating welcome you and the stunning countryside views from the restaurant and gardens beckon. Friendly and capable staff, who wish to please and assist, are ready to help you make the most of your visit. Nidderdale is a stunning region and our beautiful rural location puts our guests in easy reach of Harrogate, Ripon, Skipton, York and Leeds as well as being the gateway to the Dales. The Yorkshire Dales covers approximately 1,600 square miles and includes the Nidderdale Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, which was set up in recognition of its unique natural heritage and to help conserve it for future generations. Visitors and locals alike find so much to enjoy in the Yorkshire Dales. For an afternoon or longer, in whichever direction you take, there are many and varied attractions on offer. The long-established main bar and tap room are furnished with simple wooden tables and chairs and this sense of solidity and unfussiness is further enhanced by the smooth, worn quarry-tiled flagged floor. The main bar is the place to gather, to dine or to read the daily papers provided. On cooler days, the fire in the imposing inglenook fireplace illuminates and invites. The restaurant makes the most of the views across the Yorkshire Dales; windows frame the beauty of the countryside. Warm burgundy colours, faded rugs and burnished wooden floors harmonise to create a simple elegant dining room in which we can showcase the best seasonal and where possible, local produce.
Picture of Wellington Inn, Harrogate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stop with lovely surroundings and great food
A lovely hotel and pub with really warm atmosphere and great food and beer. The staff team were very helpful and friendly. Our room was described as the one with the view and although it was really too cold to fully enjoy, the balcony was great and would be a real treat to sit out and relax with the huge open view and a full starry sky at night.

Reviewed by
Zoe C

From Carlisle, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Such a disappointment.
The reviews we read were super, and so we booked. The approach and ground floor of this pub were lovely. Our bedroom, room number nine was a poorly decorated soulless cell. No dressing at all. The curtains were not attached to the rod, the only chair in the room looked like it had come from a local conference centre. No comfort at all. The bathroom was large, but the side of the bath was rotten wood, unvarnished and quite off putting. Where was the character we were promised in the description? There was a mistake made with our breakfast order, who made it? Does it matter if it was the waitress or the chef! It took 40 minutes for breakfast to arrive. When I tried to discuss these points as we paid our bill a defence mechanism with unpleasant undertones kicked in and I just knew I was wasting my time. Very unsatisfactory. This is listed as a three star inn, more 1/2 star for us. We payed the going room rate. No savings. We will not be returning!

Reviewed by
A Eggleston

From England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely area and warm relaxed atmosphere
Darley is a nice village a few miles north of Harrogate, in lovely countryside. Only stayed one night and unfortunately it was a Karaoke night so a bit noisy into the wee small hours and I wouldn't be putting anyone through if it were X-Factor. But none of this really mattered as there was a good atmosphere in the spacious bar area (separate from the one being used for the karaoke). Room was very clean but unfortunately the beds (I accidentally booked a twin) were uncomfortable - too short and uncomfortable mattresses). That is a bit of a downside if you have pain from arthritis as both myself and my husband do - if not you probably wouldn't notice.
Breakfast was superb - real quality ingredients and I don't doubt that food served at the pub is of a good standard - unfortunately we were far too late to try it (our fault!). I would stay here again but would be good if they could upgrade mattresses.

Reviewed by
amanda g

From Northampton, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Giving it some 'Welly'!
A deservedly popular pub in a lovely setting. In my experience the food and drink are always very good, staff always helpful, rooms always clean and smart. My only regret about commending the 'Welly' is that I might make it busier, and harder to get a booking when I'm in the area!

Reviewed by
kieran f

From UK
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
We stayed for one night at this inn during a short break.
The room was nice and clean with lovely views over the rolling countryside although the bathroom was quite dated and in need of refurbishment.
The bar and restaurant were cosy and very busy in the evening and we were looking forward to our evening meal.
However we were extremely dissatisfied with the entire meal.
The presentation was poor and the bland food was awful considering the meals were quite highly priced
Breakfast the next morning was also poor and I felt our experiences at this Inn really spoiled our short break.

Reviewed by
Jill T

From England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
A really good hotel , clean quality room . A great breakfast .!

Reviewed by
Robert Williamson

From England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice friendly inn with good food would stay again

Reviewed by
alan proctor

From Scunthorpe, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful view
I wish I could take that balcony home

Reviewed by
Mary W

From Longfield, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fabulous views
we had a room with a balcony unbelievable views! very cosy room. The evening meal was excellent as was the breakfast very good choice. the staff were all very helpful would certainly recommend!

Reviewed by
kevin shelley

From England
Who stayed in August 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming if a little tired
For fifty quid a night this was exactly what I expected - the room was clean (although someone else's sandwich wrappers were accidentally left in the bathroom), sheets and towels and bathroom / main room all clean and fresh. The beds were fairly comfy, tv worked, and a plentiful supply of hot water.
It is good value for money for an area just out of Harrogate, and it is very easy to get into Harrogate too.
The food and wine was absolutely splendid, although as is so often the case, only very minimal to eat if yo are a veggie. When I told the owner about some difficulty I was having with the hair dryer not working, they were great.
All of the young lasses working there were extremely accommodating and friendly too.
I would say that it is rather noisy though - just because the building is old, noisy water pipes in the morning, and other people slamming doors, which is just the nature of an old building and fire doors I guess.

Reviewed by
Kate G

From sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next