No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wellington Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Darley , , , Harrogate, HG3 2QQ
The Wellington Inn makes an ideal location for a short break in the Yorkshire Dales and is within easy reach of Harrogate. A pub with restaurant and 12 bedrooms, you will always find relaxation and comfort, tasty local produce, good beer and fine wine. Open fires and snug seating welcome you and the stunning countryside views from the restaurant and gardens beckon. Friendly and capable staff, who wish to please and assist, are ready to help you make the most of your visit. Nidderdale is a stunning region and our beautiful rural location puts our guests in easy reach of Harrogate, Ripon, Skipton, York and Leeds as well as being the gateway to the Dales. The Yorkshire Dales covers approximately 1,600 square miles and includes the Nidderdale Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, which was set up in recognition of its unique natural heritage and to help conserve it for future generations. Visitors and locals alike find so much to enjoy in the Yorkshire Dales. For an afternoon or longer, in whichever direction you take, there are many and varied attractions on offer. The long-established main bar and tap room are furnished with simple wooden tables and chairs and this sense of solidity and unfussiness is further enhanced by the smooth, worn quarry-tiled flagged floor. The main bar is the place to gather, to dine or to read the daily papers provided. On cooler days, the fire in the imposing inglenook fireplace illuminates and invites. The restaurant makes the most of the views across the Yorkshire Dales; windows frame the beauty of the countryside. Warm burgundy colours, faded rugs and burnished wooden floors harmonise to create a simple elegant dining room in which we can showcase the best seasonal and where possible, local produce.
Picture of Wellington Inn, Harrogate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful setting
Beautiful building in a superb setting - view from the balcony was fantastic, across the dales with no obstructions. Breakfast was well prepared with a good choice (if a little on the high calorie side, though fruit was available too), and a good evening menu too, not to mention the Copper Dragon Pale Ale.
On the negative side the bed was a bit hard and the room a trifle cramped, though the en suite was spacious enough. However, for an old building like this that all adds to the character.

Reviewed by
Simon David J

From Yr Wyddgrug, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend away
We realy enjoyed the stay and the food was good
staff were friendly and helpful and pleasant to talk to
we would go back again to this part of Yorkshire to see more of the dales.

Reviewed by
JAMES CROSBY

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent warm, friendly welcome. Lovely food.
A good old country inn. Excellent hospitality, food and all round experience. Would definitely return if in the area again.

Reviewed by
Stewart M

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

some other reviewers are whingers in our view
The Wellington is well out in the sticks - so finding the car park and overflow car park stuffed was a pleasant surprise as if the locals use it it should be good. The dining area was full to overflowing - we had already eaten so no problem for us - and a good scan over the tables saw good good quality and far better than normal pub/restaurant grub with local farmers and silver surfers tucking in. We were shown to our room and settled in. There was a little noise - but no more so than in many of the hotels I have stayed in before (I used to stay away 3 nights a week) and much less than some. Next thing I knew were some birds being enthusiastic about daybreak! Breakfast (full English minus fried bread and black pudding for Senior Management and smoked salmon and scrambled egg for me) was great.
Would we go again?. Yes. Would we make sure to eat there the night before? Yes. Would I use it as a base for a weekend walking - for sure. Is it close enough to Harrogate to nip into a theatre if you wanted to - I guess.
What could be improved? Not much. If you cant take country noises (birds, cows and sheep) then learn how to.

Reviewed by
S Barry

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night at the Inn
Booked on line for one night at the Wellington as spending a week travelling around the Yorkshire dales, I chose the double room deal with dinner, a bottle of wine & breakfast for £100. I wasn't disappointed, the staff were friendly & helpful, the food was fresh & good size portions, choice of wine was only one type of red or white but I was pleasantly surprised how good it was. We sat in the conservatory for dinner which had wonderful views. Room was very quiet & we had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was equally as good as previous evenings dinner so we left for the next stop very satisfied.

Reviewed by
Brenda Tann

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wellington Inn is a hidden gem in the Yorkshire countryside, an ideal centre for any occasion.
This beautiful country pub and restuarant is a pleasant and welcoming place to stay and enjoy the the views from the elegant restuarant windows. Relax in the informal bar with friends andenjoy the friendly chat with other guests. The food is delicious and a gourmet Specials Board.
We are looking forward to our next visit.

Reviewed by
B Walker

From Eyemouth, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Inn
Beautiful peaceful location. Food very good. Good value.

Reviewed by
L Harris

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great time.
Really enjoyed our stay, could not find fault.

Reviewed by
george simpson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely country pub, bit let down by food
Excellent large confortable room and excellent en-suite; could not fault room at all. Welcome in reception very nice and bar friendly. Only let down by sheer volume of diners that night which resulted in poor food for which we had to wait ages. Despite a booking for dining room, people were eating in bar and outside which I think proved too much for the kitchen; our waitress apologised up front before she even took our order to expect a delay, as it happened we waited and hour and 10 before starter appeared. It was OK but I felt my prawns and scallops way over cooked and had been "kept hot" husbands calamari though frozen was very good. Another wait for main course, perfect deep fried fish in the best batter I've had for a long time but also the worst chips ever, black and soggy. I did not have to say anything as I heard others complaining. I think on a quieter night the food from a huge menu would have been far better. Breakfast was very good and for those who do the "full English" looked like a very hearty portion!

Reviewed by
l duncan

From Earlston, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Gem
The Wellington is a little gem on the outskirts of Harrogate, easy to get to great food and good quality rooms

Reviewed by
Justine W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next