No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wellington Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Darley , , , Harrogate, HG3 2QQ
The Wellington Inn makes an ideal location for a short break in the Yorkshire Dales and is within easy reach of Harrogate. A pub with restaurant and 12 bedrooms, you will always find relaxation and comfort, tasty local produce, good beer and fine wine. Open fires and snug seating welcome you and the stunning countryside views from the restaurant and gardens beckon. Friendly and capable staff, who wish to please and assist, are ready to help you make the most of your visit. Nidderdale is a stunning region and our beautiful rural location puts our guests in easy reach of Harrogate, Ripon, Skipton, York and Leeds as well as being the gateway to the Dales. The Yorkshire Dales covers approximately 1,600 square miles and includes the Nidderdale Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, which was set up in recognition of its unique natural heritage and to help conserve it for future generations. Visitors and locals alike find so much to enjoy in the Yorkshire Dales. For an afternoon or longer, in whichever direction you take, there are many and varied attractions on offer. The long-established main bar and tap room are furnished with simple wooden tables and chairs and this sense of solidity and unfussiness is further enhanced by the smooth, worn quarry-tiled flagged floor. The main bar is the place to gather, to dine or to read the daily papers provided. On cooler days, the fire in the imposing inglenook fireplace illuminates and invites. The restaurant makes the most of the views across the Yorkshire Dales; windows frame the beauty of the countryside. Warm burgundy colours, faded rugs and burnished wooden floors harmonise to create a simple elegant dining room in which we can showcase the best seasonal and where possible, local produce.
Picture of Wellington Inn, Harrogate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 65 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pre wedding stay
Excellent night's stay prior to son's wedding. had a wonderful meal with our son and his best man, and a restful, comfortable night's sleep before the wedding..

Reviewed by
Margaret M

From Ystrad Meurig, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Typical country pub accomadtion warm comfortable and friendly with good food as well.
A bit hectic on arrival as there were workmen there however excellent meal followed by a superb breakfast in the morning st me up for the day

Reviewed by
David C

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Nice staff great value for money room and lovely scenery

Reviewed by
M CourtSmith

From Kingston Upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous as usual !!!

Reviewed by
trevor w

From Llandrindod Wells, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I really enjoyed my stay. The staff were very attentive and helpful. The food is also very good standard.

Reviewed by
Rebecca Hand

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the hotel food and staff were outstanding

Reviewed by
karon hetherington

From castleford, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room in the Dales
Excellent Inn with good, friendly service. Breakfast plentiful and dietary requirements well catered for. Dinner excellent as ever. Only criticism is that use of extension leads could do with attention and update of points. Otherwise excellent, friendly stay as before. Looking forward to our next stay!

Reviewed by
Margaret M

From Ystrad Meurig, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wellington review
Very pleased with all aspects of our stay at the Wellington. Friendly staff. Clean room. Good breakfast. Great pub with real ales log fire and good food. All for 60 pound. Very good value all round. Will definetly go back. Thanks.

Reviewed by
R Storer

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Autumn break
The welcome when booking in at reception was rather underwhelming and started me thinking that perhaps we had chosen the wrong hotel for our break, happily the experience did improve and Customer Service was generally very good.
The room was small but very comfortable. Unfortunately the acoustic insulation was very poor so that after the first night of listening to someone in the room above running a bath late evening when we were trying to sleep, followed the next morning by the noise of creaking floorboards, toilet flushing and a load whining noise (that we later realised was down to noisy pipes when the shower was run) that lasted about 1 1/2 hours from 5.30am I headed to Boots in Harrogate to buy ear plugs.
In the bathroom the radiator didn't work, the varnish on the bath panel was flaking away and the window blind was speckled with black mould.
On the plus side: the toiletries and towels in the bathroom were good and the breakfasts were the BEST I have had in any B&B or hotel (perfectly poached eggs, crunchy fresh toast, delicious smoked salmon - those were just our choices but there was much more).
Another plus were the huge open wood fire in one bar and the cast iron range with roaring fire in the snug.
On the dinner menu I would have like to see more choice of light meals and/or the option of smaller portions (at smaller prices). The food was very good but I was intimidated by the portion size.

Reviewed by
Sheila G

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommend the food
Have stayed here numerous times now and my husband won't stay anywhere else when we come to Harrogate as he loves the breakfast.

Reviewed by
Justine W

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next