No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wellington Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Darley , , , Harrogate, HG3 2QQ
The Wellington Inn makes an ideal location for a short break in the Yorkshire Dales and is within easy reach of Harrogate. A pub with restaurant and 12 bedrooms, you will always find relaxation and comfort, tasty local produce, good beer and fine wine. Open fires and snug seating welcome you and the stunning countryside views from the restaurant and gardens beckon. Friendly and capable staff, who wish to please and assist, are ready to help you make the most of your visit. Nidderdale is a stunning region and our beautiful rural location puts our guests in easy reach of Harrogate, Ripon, Skipton, York and Leeds as well as being the gateway to the Dales. The Yorkshire Dales covers approximately 1,600 square miles and includes the Nidderdale Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, which was set up in recognition of its unique natural heritage and to help conserve it for future generations. Visitors and locals alike find so much to enjoy in the Yorkshire Dales. For an afternoon or longer, in whichever direction you take, there are many and varied attractions on offer. The long-established main bar and tap room are furnished with simple wooden tables and chairs and this sense of solidity and unfussiness is further enhanced by the smooth, worn quarry-tiled flagged floor. The main bar is the place to gather, to dine or to read the daily papers provided. On cooler days, the fire in the imposing inglenook fireplace illuminates and invites. The restaurant makes the most of the views across the Yorkshire Dales; windows frame the beauty of the countryside. Warm burgundy colours, faded rugs and burnished wooden floors harmonise to create a simple elegant dining room in which we can showcase the best seasonal and where possible, local produce.
Picture of Wellington Inn, Harrogate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great experience

Reviewed by
Frankie McDonald

From Cleator Moor, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Wellington Inn, what an ideal setting. The hospitality was second to non, all the staff and i mean all, were attentive no matter the time of day. They took pride in what they were doing and this was natural to them. There was an excellent choice of menu and the food was locally sourced, prepared and served to a very high standard and plenty of it. You certainly do not leave the dining area disappointed. The rooms were adequate looking tiered and in need of some TLC. But plans are in place for refurbishment in this area this year. My husband and I will definitely look forward to revisiting. To everyone at the Wellington Inn well done.

Reviewed by
Sandra Middleton

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average, adequate accommodation, needs a spruce up and tlc
Rooms ok, but a bit tired. Exceedingly noisy in the bar the night we were there. Also we intended eating there but were told that there was a party coming in, so unless we ate straight away (which we couldn't as we were meeting someone) then it was in our best interests to eat elsewhere, which we did. Also last orders was at 7.45 which is a bit early. Breakfast was very good though.

Reviewed by
Stephen D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location, shame about the staff
Yes a wonderful location for an Inn, plenty of fabulous views all around.
Our room however had a view of a fire exit and a car park!!
The reception and bar are one of the same and if its busy i would imagine that you would find it difficult to get served as the staff are more interested in serving customers for drinks instead of getting hotels guests booked in and away to their rooms.
The breakfast was OK, but served by such sullen staff.
The room, albeit not a good view, was also located at the end of a corridor next to the fire exit/rear entrance to the hotel where smokers congregated, and if you had the window open you could smell their cigarette smoking coming into the room, dumpers just being chucked on the ground and people peering into your room.
I though it was overpriced for the accommodation and breakfast

Reviewed by
Kathleen H

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Classic car trip
Agood all round stay food and accomodation good . Told rooms were about to be updated although they were very clean and acceptable

Reviewed by
Neil Wright

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel and staff very friendly (although did not take us to our actual room) breakfast was really nice and a lot of choice. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
K Townsend

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely country pub, even better views
I took my partner here after a day sight seeing in Harrogate. The room we had was very clean and large( room 8 ). Check in was very quick and a member if staff showed us to our room.
We booked a table in the conservatory for dinner and I am so glad we did, the food was excellent and the views were fantastic. Breakfast kept us going all day with lots of choice
I would definitely stay here shin and thoroughly recommend it to anybody staying in the area.

Reviewed by
ian n

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed here many times wonderfull food and friendly helpfull staff
bathrooms getting a little tired,but are being refurbed from september

Reviewed by
PHILIP B

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stopover
We found the hotel easily and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was very basic and the state of the bathroom poor. Good food.

Reviewed by
J Melville

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small hotel with lots of character, friendly staff. Good food. Would recommend booking for the Evening meal top quility food.

Reviewed by
A Emmerson

From York, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next