DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol South - Cadbury House

4

Frost Hill, Congresbury, Bristol, BS49 5AD

Price From 324.99 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (31)

77% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • A Thompson

  • June 2014

I felt that the room decor and paintwork was tied and not to a high standard which you would expect as the rest of the hotel was well presented.

When attending breakfast I found that the booth I had been allocated had stains on the seats which was not particularly welcoming.

  • Tim C

  • May 2014

A good hotel let down by the detail

The hotel and room was very nice, there were some issues with cleanliness and the room could do with a bit of decorating but it was quiet and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Melanie Williams

  • April 2014

Lovely Hotel

I have stayed here a couple of times and the rooms are of a very high standard ideal for the business traveller.

The health club is great too.

  • T Reed

  • March 2014

Excellent hotel

Modern, clean rooms.

Excellent value for money. Will definitely book again.

  • Christopher H

  • March 2014

Disappointing, not the Hilton experience I was expecting.

An overall lack of attention to detail, and the inability to supervise inebriated guests somewhat tainted the Hilton experience.

Paying what felt to be a premium price for a hotel room for a short break I was very disappointed. Our deluxe room had a tiny window, felt very dark and had faded decor. The furniture appeared tired. The room was clean but lacked a fridge, the TV picture was very poor quality giving the impression of not being tuned in properly and although booked for two people only one robe was provided. Our evening meal in the Marco Pierre White restaurant was delicious, with excellent portions and reasonable prices. Unfortunately our breakfast experience was nowhere near as pleasant. Clearly busy due to being a weekend tables were not fully prepared - missing condiments and cutlery, and the relaxed standards of dress of some guests did not lend themselves to what I would expect from Hilton - wearing a 'onesie' for breakfast in a Marco Pierre White branded dining area (as displayed on staff aprons) really isn't appropriate. The hotel itself is a popular wedding venue, which is not a surprise given it's country surroundings. What was a surprise was a topless tattooed and blood spattered wedding guest swearing and acting aggressively and blocking the entrance to the reception. The beleaguered staff were trying to do their best to deal with the bloodied person, but are not bouncers. The evening was rounded off with a police car in attendance (I don't think the police officers were wedding guests!) the noise from the weddings on both nights could be heard from our room on the 6th floor. Overall I feel let down by my experience. For a lot less I could have stayed in a Travelodge or Premier Inn and would have received a superior service. At no point were any apologies made for the behaviour of the disruptive guests and on check out nobody asked if we had enjoyed our stay. For me the Hilton brand has been devalued and I will not be using this particular 'hotel' again.

  • Charles Watson

  • February 2014

Overnight Stay For Early Flight -

The hotel Spa etc were fine and no surprises as we have stayed here before.

The hotel has an unusual layout with numerous changes in levels. We had asked for a quiet room, so could not complain about the walk. The restaurant however was truly awful. The service was indifferent and we had to call the waiter several times to get service. The meal we ordered (Chicken Kiev) came with what was described 'Real chips in beef dripping'. What we got was a soggy mush and when we asked what had happened to the 'real chips' we were greeted with a shrug and told the fryer had broken down. We were offered mash but then the meal would have been cold. The chicken kiev was dry with virtually no garlic sauce. Mr Marco Pierre White would have been equally unhappy with a poor dining experience. Though I don't expect he will get to read this. Never again. We will, however, try to put this on his website. It is worth mentioning that there is no other dining option on site.

  • Andy Cain

  • January 2014

Cold room, no mobile phone signal.

Welcoming reception and all seemed fine for a 1 nights stay, got to the room on the ground floor and found it to be very cold.

Tried to turn the heater up but it seemed quite inefficient, in reality the room only really warmed up by the next morning. The worst thing for me being a business traveller was I had no mobile phone signal throughout my entire stay. I'm on Orange, not sure if it would have worked for other networks. The work area in the room was at the end of one of the single beds and was very cramped, had to work on the laptop whist sitting at an angle to the desk - not great. Ordered room service and that was fine, in fact very quick in fairness. Room was fairly modern and the stay would have been ok if it wasn't for the issues I have mentioned.

  • N Raymond

  • November 2013

Ladies night

Booked 3 rooms for ladies night with the girls from work.

All rooms were fantastic, clean, good size and comfortable. Service at reception was great although the trainee gave us the wrong floor numbers we managed to work it out. A cookie on arrival was lovely and the food was fabulous!

  • Karen N

  • November 2013

Staff were very helpful.

Food was good. Pool and gym great but room was looking a little tired and shabby.

  • T Eames

  • November 2013

A relaxing stay at the Cadbury hotel Bristol

Had a lovely stay as a treat for the wife's 40th birthday.

We were met with a warm cookie on arrival. room was really comfortable, and would definitely visit again. Only a couple of small observations was the carpets in the corridors were wrinkled, almost like they needed re-stretching by the carpet fitter. The other was that our room was on the first floor and appeared to be near the kitchen area, so you were often met with the smell of kitchen grease when walking to and from the room. It didn't bother us though and our stay was nice and relaxing. Thank you Hilton hotels.