Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Central England > West Midlands > Stoke-on-Trent > Brereton Hotels > Innkeeper's Lodge Sandbach, Holmes Chapel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Innkeeper's Lodge Sandbach, Holmes Chapel

3AA ประเมิน โรงแรม Ratings explained
The Bears Head Vintage Inn, Brereton Green , Sandbach, CW11 1RS
If you’re looking for hotels in Cheshire, you’ll find few places to stay with this much history behind them. Built in 1625, this former coaching inn has been part of life in Holmes Chapel and Brereton for almost 400 years. And with so many people visiting Cheshire every year, that shows no sign of changing.

Thanks to convenient motorway and rail connections, the lodge makes for a welcome change of scenery while on business stays. You’ll find a great pub here, too. So after a hard day’s sightseeing or indeed business, it couldn’t be easier to tuck into some hearty, seasonal food and a glass of what you fancy.

A short drive from Sandbach and Crewe, Holmes Chapel is a popular spot for tourists. You can drop by 14th century Adlington Hall, admire the art at Capesthorne Hall, pet the animals at Wheelock Hall Farm and explore the winding paths of Brereton Heath Local Nature Reserve. Or you can bring things bang up to date and see the giant telescope at Jodrell Bank Discovery Centre.
Picture of Innkeeper's Lodge Sandbach, Holmes Chapel , Sandbach at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant
We immediately liked this vintage inn and were very impressed by the service and food.

Reviewed by
Leonhard f

From Switzerland
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

When we tried to Check In, the first person could not find our booking. A Manager took over, found our booking straight away, and everything was excellent from then on.

Reviewed by
J Douglas-Green

From Devizes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay, shame about the noisy toilet extract fan letting it down.

Reviewed by
Philip G

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visiting Family close by to give support during the arrival of a new grandchild.
Rooms spacious & very good but a few health & safety issues are evident in the bathroom. The shower area had no hand grips to assist entering & leaving the shower tray inviting possible accidents to happen.
The bath towels are large & luxurious but only one towel rail. Two rails would be better than having to hang 1 on the radiator in the bedroom. The glass shelf over the wash basin needs moving. It is too close to the taps. Cleaning teeth required care when bending head towards the basin.
The breakfast room is small. The furniture looks like second hand & is poor. More room in one of the bars on the upper floor with better furnishings.
The main bars & dining areas are good & very popular. Waiters & bar staff very attentive.

Reviewed by
Edward H

From Leominster, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent centre for a short break
Only stayed for one night but found the accommodation and value for money excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel conveniently situated and would use again if travelling in the area.

Reviewed by
P Harris

From Rugeley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last check in at 11pm - Read the small print
We arrived at 11.30pm after a long drive and found that it was closed. I checked my booking confirmation and noticed that last check in was 11pm - great! We saw a lady walking to her car and asked if she worked there. She explained that she 'couldn't' check us in as we were too late, only offering us a recommendation of a Travelodge/Ramada several miles away. I explained I was traveling with a young family but to no avail. I was tired and furious but it was not the time of night or place to enter into a complaint. Very disappointed that rules took precedent over common sense.

Reviewed by
M Smith

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
We enjoyed our stay. Staff friendly, good food and clean room but we could hear every footstep in the room above. We would stay again.

Reviewed by
J Lea

From Ilminster, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, tidy and good value
The hotel is clean, tidy and great value for money. The rooms are a little tired but we didn't spend much time in them so it didn't bother us. We had everything we needed. We had tea in the pub downstairs which was nice. I would stay again.

Reviewed by
Kate P

From Sheffield , UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, good value, basic 3star
A quick stop to visit a friend staying nearby. Difficult to get staff attention to book in, but after that, no problems. We stayed in the family room mid week and bed was very clean and comfy. Breakfast next morning was great, opted to pay extra for full English and was well worth it; big juicy sausages. Bit noisy around 6am with heavy lorries, but it is by a busy A road. Lots of hot water. Would recommend for business travellers, good value for money.

Reviewed by
J Clark

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fabulous find in my time of need , arrived late so I was unable to try one of the awesome looking pies .... but I will definetely stay here again in favour of other hotels I use in the areas....and not just for the pie...!!! All the staff were polite , cheerful and helpful....room was clean and comfortable.
All at a reasonable rate which is always my priority as being an employee of a privately owned family company, I always try to keep my travel and accomodation costs reasonable.

Reviewed by
paul haynes

From Hebburn, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next