Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Central England > West Midlands > Stoke-on-Trent > Brereton Hotels > Innkeeper's Lodge Sandbach, Holmes Chapel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Innkeeper's Lodge Sandbach, Holmes Chapel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Bears Head Vintage Inn, Brereton Green , Sandbach, CW11 1RS
If you’re looking for hotels in Cheshire, you’ll find few places to stay with this much history behind them. Built in 1625, this former coaching inn has been part of life in Holmes Chapel and Brereton for almost 400 years. And with so many people visiting Cheshire every year, that shows no sign of changing.

Thanks to convenient motorway and rail connections, the lodge makes for a welcome change of scenery while on business stays. You’ll find a great pub here, too. So after a hard day’s sightseeing or indeed business, it couldn’t be easier to tuck into some hearty, seasonal food and a glass of what you fancy.

A short drive from Sandbach and Crewe, Holmes Chapel is a popular spot for tourists. You can drop by 14th century Adlington Hall, admire the art at Capesthorne Hall, pet the animals at Wheelock Hall Farm and explore the winding paths of Brereton Heath Local Nature Reserve. Or you can bring things bang up to date and see the giant telescope at Jodrell Bank Discovery Centre.
Picture of Innkeeper's Lodge Sandbach, Holmes Chapel , Sandbach at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business travel the quite way.
Tucked away in Holmes Chapel, this historical old English pub/hotel is the ideal quite retreat after a long day on the road. Great food, free Wi Fi and friendly staff. Sitting outside watching swallows on the wing at sunset with a pint made it all the more peaceful.

Reviewed by
Terry B

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel bit noisy
The hotel is attached to a country pub. The room was spacious and comfortable and fair value. Breakfast is a continental style that you can upgrade to full english for around £6 per person. The only negative is it is noisy as the rooms back onto the A50.

Reviewed by
A hughes

From winsford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very well looked after and warm and friendly staff

Reviewed by
peter downhams

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant
We immediately liked this vintage inn and were very impressed by the service and food.

Reviewed by
Leonhard f

From Switzerland
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

When we tried to Check In, the first person could not find our booking. A Manager took over, found our booking straight away, and everything was excellent from then on.

Reviewed by
J Douglas-Green

From Devizes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay, shame about the noisy toilet extract fan letting it down.

Reviewed by
Philip G

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visiting Family close by to give support during the arrival of a new grandchild.
Rooms spacious & very good but a few health & safety issues are evident in the bathroom. The shower area had no hand grips to assist entering & leaving the shower tray inviting possible accidents to happen.
The bath towels are large & luxurious but only one towel rail. Two rails would be better than having to hang 1 on the radiator in the bedroom. The glass shelf over the wash basin needs moving. It is too close to the taps. Cleaning teeth required care when bending head towards the basin.
The breakfast room is small. The furniture looks like second hand & is poor. More room in one of the bars on the upper floor with better furnishings.
The main bars & dining areas are good & very popular. Waiters & bar staff very attentive.

Reviewed by
Edward H

From Leominster, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent centre for a short break
Only stayed for one night but found the accommodation and value for money excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel conveniently situated and would use again if travelling in the area.

Reviewed by
P Harris

From Rugeley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last check in at 11pm - Read the small print
We arrived at 11.30pm after a long drive and found that it was closed. I checked my booking confirmation and noticed that last check in was 11pm - great! We saw a lady walking to her car and asked if she worked there. She explained that she 'couldn't' check us in as we were too late, only offering us a recommendation of a Travelodge/Ramada several miles away. I explained I was traveling with a young family but to no avail. I was tired and furious but it was not the time of night or place to enter into a complaint. Very disappointed that rules took precedent over common sense.

Reviewed by
M Smith

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
We enjoyed our stay. Staff friendly, good food and clean room but we could hear every footstep in the room above. We would stay again.

Reviewed by
J Lea

From Ilminster, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next