Reviews - Brownsover Hall Hotel


Brownsover Lane Old Brownsover, Rugby, CV21 1HU

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (25)

72% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • h lane

  • November 2015

Husbands 50th birthday

We went here for the night for my husbands birthday.

He did not know, it was a surprise. Everything was perfect. Beautiful hotel and stunning room, top floor in the stables. Very characteristic, a lot of original features. The waiting staff went beyond what was expected, bought him a birthday cake and sang happy birthday to him, everyone in the dining room sang as well, amazing atmosphere. The food was exceptional, complements to the chef. Prices not too bad either. Breakfast was amazing too, they had decorated the table with "50" confetti which was a lovely touch and very personal. The two girls who waited on us were amazing. Can't wait to re visit.

  • d weston

  • September 2015


stayed in the stable block, felt very dated and things like the desk in the room were rank, all blistered, tiny cheap tv, pillows that were the thinnest ive ever seen.

just not what i expect from a £120 per night executive room. god only knows what the standard room would be like. we were pretty dissapointed as we were expecting quality.

the staff were good although the guy who came up kept bowing like we were the king and queen lol, was odd. the food was incredible. very impressed with that.

  • j birkin

  • June 2015

Hidden Gem

The warm welcome of the staff turned a miserable night outside into a most pleasurable one to stay at this most atmospheric of hotels.

The exceptional food at both dinner and breakfast is a must when you stay. The room was spacious and airy and had been very well cleaned. The only negative comment is the room really needed a check from the maintenance man, a few simple things needed to be check and repaired.

  • Margaret S

  • May 2015

Country house hotel full of character

Loved the building and grounds.

Easily accessible from M6 and Rugby directions, yet tucked away quietly down a country lane. Friendly, helpful staff. Room 20 isn't spacious and overlooks the oil tanks and the staff smoking area, but we didn't spend much time in it, so not a major problem. Breakfast not great - tepid coffee, mushrooms wizened (in microwave?) and scrambled eggs rather rubbery; waiting staff took orders before there was time to consider the options and brought main course before we'd had time to eat cereal/fruit so everything got cold. We'd still go back, though!

  • Ian G

  • April 2015

A very pleasant stay

We found the hotel welcoming, the staff very helpful, and our accommodation in the stable clean, warm and delightful.

The hotel has a lot of character and is a great place to stay.

  • Jackie Turner

  • March 2015

Room for the money was very poor, we stayed in the stables in an 'executive' room, the only good thing about it was the size but was very sparse, furniture has stains all on it, couldn't see out of the windows as needed cleaning, we had no water when we woke up on the Sunday morning..

Hotel reception looked like it could do with a good clean and was very basic, there were dusters and old carpets behind the doors in the area before the reception, which was bad considering that was the first part of the hotel you saw when you arrived.

  • M Mountford

  • February 2015

Lovely place

We really enjoyed our stay at Brownsover hall, the room was lovely, the food was excellent, and the receptionist very helpful and always had a big smile on her face.

  • H Fisher

  • February 2015

Happy customer

Hotel and room was beaut.

Most staff was helpful but there was a few that had attitude and in my eyes should not be working in a place like this because it spoils it.

  • J Hibberd

  • November 2014

What a delightful place

We stayed at the hotel for two nights on 21st & 22nd Nov as we were going to a family wedding in Rugby.

I can't rate this hotel enough, it was lovely and warm, the staff were extreamly friendly...especially James who was one of the waiting on staff, really couldn't do enough for us. I stayed with my husband and 2 year old who had an excellent time. We asked for a travel cot which was provided, room service was prompt and of excellent quality and even though the hotel was full with weddings and events that weekend in the morning for breakfast instead of making us wait for a seat they set a place for us in the bar area and were given just as much attention as being in the main room. The only area for improvement would be that the decoration could do with a touch up here and there but given the age of the building it is in amazing shape and I think a face lift is planned for next year anyways. All in all excellent place!

  • lynda p

  • November 2014

perfect break.

Fantastic receptionist, very helpful and informative.

Beautiful room in the stables with the biggest bed ever.

Would definitely recommend it to friends. If you get the chance to stay in this lovely building take it, you wont be disappointed.