No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Brownsover Hall Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Brownsover Lane Old Brownsover, Rugby, CV21 1HU

This Grade II listed Victorian Gothic mansion, nestling in seven acres of woodland and gardens, is situated just ten minutes from the M6 and offers Free WiFi, Free Parking and the excellent onsite WineGlass Restaurant. This magnificent building has a dramatic interior with sweeping staircase and welcoming log fires. With rich colours and plenty of character and charm the
Brownsover Hall Hotel boasts a unique allure. Situated on the edge of Rugby and bordering on three counties, the hotel commands a prime position for visiting Warwick, Stratford-upon-Avon, the north Cotswolds, Birmingham and
the NEC.

The current building dates back to the mid 19th Century and was designed by Sir George Gilbert Scott, the English Gothic revival Architect who was also responsible for such renowned designs as the Albert Memorial in London, StPancras Station's Midland Grand Hotel and Glasgow's St Mary's Cathedral.

Brownsover Hall Hotel boasts 47 well appointed spacious bedrooms, offering timeless elegance of the 19th century with modern day convenience. The
stable block within the grounds has been converted into bedrooms which all have a distinct unique charm, retaining many of the original oak beams.
Rooms which are suitable for family stays are also available, as well as suites and executive rooms. All bedrooms have en suite bath or shower
facilities, hairdryer, hospitality tray, complimentary WiFi access and an iron and ironing board, while refreshments are available throughout the day from Room Service.



The WineGlass Restaurant at Brownsover Hall offers simple, unstuffy service with delicious comforting food prepared with signature Michelin precision and intensity of flavour. Menus follow the seasons, highlighting the very best of local food heritage and Wine features prominently as a signature speciality - a selection of bottles handpicked by the Vineyard's Director of
Wine are offered, with over 40 wines and champagnes available by the glass.
The hotel also provides private dining facilities for an intimate dinner setting to a more formal reception. A wide selection of wines, beers and
other beverages as well as bar snacks and lighter dishes are served in the Sir Frank Whittle Bar, which is a perfect place to relax and unwind.



Brownsover Hall Hotel's convenient location and amenities make it an ideal venue for a wide range of events including weddings, private dining, formal receptions, conferences and training seminars. There is ample free parking within the hotel grounds.



Located in a quiet area on the outskirts of Rugby, the hotel is perfectly positioned near the M1 and M6 motorways, ensuring easy access for guests of both business and social events. Additionally, being situated in a quiet
area on the outskirts of Rugby makes Brownsover Hall the ideal base for exploring all of the region's attractions. The nearby 18 hole Rugby Golf Club is sure to be popular with Golfing enthusiasts, while Clay Pigeon Shooting, Archery and Air Rifle Target Practice can be arrange. The
Transport Museum in Coventry offers an insight into the heritage of British motor manufacturing, while also being the home of the ThrustSSC - a
simulator that allows you to experience the feel of travelling through the sound barrier at over 760 mph.



Stratford-upon-Avon, with its ubiquitous connections to the world famous Playwright William Shakespeare and the historical city of Warwick, which features a famously well preserved castle, are just a short drive away, as well as the fine Regency architecture of Leamington Spa. Rugby Football fans will also be interested to find the Webb Ellis Rugby Football Museum,
located in the town centre of Rugby.

Picture of Brownsover Hall Hotel, Rugby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice setting
I have stayed at the Brownsover Hall a few times now and the room quality seems to be a bit pot luck, on this visit I was in one of the older rooms in the main building, the furniture was tired looking but comfortable. However the shower was dangerous, this had very low pressure but was extremely hot, too hot to use, luckily the bath was usable.

Reviewed by
G Jones

From Blackwood, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brownsover signage
My overnight stay was everything I expected it to be however the hotel could benefit from some decent signage leading from the bedrooms back to reception - very confusing!!

Reviewed by
Beverly P

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful setting
Booked as a dinner bed and breakfast deal. Stayed here about 5 years ago for a wedding so booked an night away close to home for some time away. Not dissapointed the setting is beautiful and so quiet. Room was lovely the bed really comfy and the food was lovely. The staff are attentive, will definitely be going back again soon.

Reviewed by
Julia B

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Upgrade
We had an upgrade to the stables and the room was lovely.
The hotel was too far from the town.
We had to keep finding the bar staff to get drinks.

Reviewed by
S Midgley

From Margate, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good if you like old houses
Lovely looking building, creaky floor boards, small room, very warm with no means of fresh air, the windows were painted shut.
Broken tile in the bathroom lifted when I stood on it.
Breakfast & cup of Tea were Great.
I thought over priced for what was on offer.

Reviewed by
P Frost

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brownsover Hall review
We thought the location of the hotel was perfect if you enjoy peace and quiet as it is tucked away from the main road in it's own large grounds. Rugby is a stones throw away, but Leicester, Coventry and Birmingham are all within easy reach. We used the hotel as a base to go to the Stanford Hall VW show, which was an easy 6 miles away.

Reviewed by
M Matthews

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel but don't eat there!
When we arrived at the browns over hotel we were pleasantly surprised at how lovely the hotel was. There was plenty of parking space. Check in took a while as we had to wait while someone else checked in but the receptionist was thorough and very helpful. The room was brilliant it was massive with a huge bed and a seperate room with sofa bed for my son. The grounds around the hotel were lovely and great for my 3 yr old burning off a bit of energy. The restaurant menu looked promising so we decided to have our evening meal there. The waiting staff were eager for our order, but once ordered we seemed to wait a long time for our meal. When it arrived our order wasn't fulfilled with items missing and no waiting staff to mention this to. The quality of the food wasn't up to the price charged. (£14 for mediocre fish and chips and £12 for a burnt and greasy vegetable tart). After the meal we were still hungry so gave the desserts a go, but again a long wait and missing items. It wasn't a busy night so not sure why the service was rubbish. Breakfast was an extra, but we thought we would try it but again slow service with cold and greasy food. Not really worth the extra tenner each.
So overall a beautiful place to stay but the food in our opinion was overpriced and not up to standard.

Reviewed by
Jason E

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not child friendly!!!
We booked a stay at Brownsover Hall Hotel as we were visiting a local event, and despite reading many less than favourable reviews, decided to make up our own minds based on the location and beautiful setting.I am afraid I can now understand why this hotel receives such reviews. The hotel itself lacks in atmosphere...on arrival in the car park it is unclear where the main entrance to the hotel is - you are more directed to use a rear entrance, which takes you to a non descript hall area where there are no staff to greet you or direct you further. Upon checking in, we were not shown to our room, just directed to make our own way through what I can only describe as a rabbit warren maze of claustrophobic corridors and staiways! The room itself however was clean, and a good size, but the bed provided for my 7 year old daughter was a very ancient metal action folding bed, propped up on an equally ancient block of wood in place of a missing stand section...and I would certainly like to warn you of the heated towel rail in the bathroom that gave my daughter a prompt burn on the fingers as she dried her hands on the towel on the rail. (No warning signs). I would also like to pre warn any visiting families of the inclusion of the 'Hotel Ghosts' information within the folder in the room. Interesting to some, maybe, but a bit difficult to try to persuade a young reader otherwise (who spent the rest of the stay absolutely petrified after discovering this information herself). We were also bitterly disappointed that the hotel do not offer any menu choices for their younger guests on the dinner menu - the young waitress seemed rather bemused when we asked for a childs menu, and told us that children dont normally eat in the restaurant!! (???) Not very helpful when you have a hungry child, looking forward to a nice meal in the restaurant as opposed to a cheap and cheerful meal at the local harvesters (which incidently, is very good, as we discovered). To add final insult to injury, we found ourselves in the middle of a wedding on our last day....and were very much left to feel that despite being residents we were gatecrashing the party - even walking up the main stairs to our room, and drinking in the bar area you are certainly made to feel 'the odd ones out'. So regrettably, we were disappointed with our stay here. It is a shame, but the management really should perhaps take more note of the comments left on the review sites, and take less time in promoting the hotels 'ghost' connections. It is a beautiful building, but is let down by the service that it offers to its visiting guests, most especially its younger guests.

Reviewed by
julian e

From Sudbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

relaxing and restful stay - brilliant staff
Staff were wonderful. Room in stable block clean comfortable and quiet. Would definately stay again. Food and service very good value for money.

Reviewed by
Margaret S

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary Treat
We stayed in the Stables (Room 39) in an Executive Room, it was spacious & very comfortable
We dined in the Drawing Room as a Wedding & another party were in full swing, our meal was delicious. Very pleased with hotel & staff.

Reviewed by
Jill R

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next