Reviews - The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel


Charlecote, Stratford Upon Avon, CV35 9EW

Price From 169.29 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (84)

85% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality



  • March 2014

my stay

A nice and relaxing stay, within easy reach of stratford-on-avon, leave the car and travel by bus to stratford, or try one of the countryside walks and fresh air and then relax in bar after enjoying a meal.It feels like I, ve been away somewhere special.

  • David C

  • March 2014

lovely place, shame about the bathroom mould

Hotel was very nice, warm welcome and lovely room apart from some mould on the bathroom wall and wall by the wardrobe and the wardrobe door broken, which wasn't a problem for us as we were only there 1 night.

We had a few drinks in the relaxed bar area then our meal which was very nice and very filling returning to the bar area for coffee. Bed was comfy and after a good nights sleep had breakfast, which was a little disappointing as could of done with a bit more of everything especially toast.

  • James L

  • March 2014

just what we wanted

we wanted a stop over on the way north and this fitted the bill.

We didn't have dinner but breakfast was included in the fantastic price of £39 for the two of us.

  • r gray

  • March 2014

great location,nice hotel albeit very basic,staff very friendly,food in restaurant very poor!

  • h cox

  • March 2014

pleasant surprise and the pheasant

booked this hotel blind-had not used laterooms before.

was expecting a four poster as shown with an executive booking and was surprised (if not disappointed)when we arrived to find it was a normal bed. however, the bed was enormous and extremely comfortable. the room itself was amazing-absolutely huge, warm and just wonderful. the shower room was large also and had individual smellies(which i like!!). extra supplies of coffee were easily obtainable. customer service was acceptable-didnt really need anything apart from more coffee and everyone was friendly. we didn't dine at the hotel as there wasn't really anything suitable to our taste or requirements(we are quite fussy eaters) and have to be honest-the breakfast was tasty but not so much choice/amount. however, we had a great stay and are hoping to return in the future.

  • Peter S

  • February 2014

Lovely comfortable rooms with all the amenities you would expect.

Hotel mainly for holidaymakers as full breakfast not served until 8.00 am which is too late for anyone staying on business

  • J Smith

  • January 2014

Good location, nice reception & bar, average room, food not great

Managed to get a good low rate for a last minute 2 night stay, considerably less that the standard price.

Good location in Charlecote with the pleasant Charlecote Manor accross the road, nice for a walk and imagine great for a picnic in the summer. Hotel first impressions were very good at reception but the room was average, generally clean, looking a little dated, cold until we found the radiator had been turned off. Comfy bed, good shower, small TV (would benefit from a stand as a little low when watching in bed). Food in restuarant was over priced and not very good, had to send a steak back as had been undercooked when asked for well done. Manager was apologetic and did refund the next day. Cooked breakfast was not the best but filled us up ready for the day. Generally OK and fine for the money paid, would not pay full price.

  • H Morgan

  • January 2014

Excellent room, excellent staff, excellent food a pleasure to stay here

  • Mike H

  • January 2014

The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel

We stayed in Room 103 an alleged Superior room for a romantic break.

Unfortunately we both found the photos on Late Rooms to be a little "glossy". The room size was good and spacious with lots of storage, and had a separate seating area and largish TV. The furnishings were sparse and the lighting was terrible - halogen bulbs in the ceiling light and wall lights. The dimmer switch didn't do an awful lot to help the ambience of the room. The carpets were originally a beige colour, but were heavily stained. So much so that neither of us dared to walk on it in bare feet. The bathroom was large, though the bath with shower enclosure were miniscule. The bath had a large chip in it at the top end.

The tea and coffee making facilities were OK, though somewhat mean on the amounts of sachets provided. I must admit to not liking the pods of milk / creamer supplied in many hotels and was disappointed that this hotel provided them. Reception did give us more when we asked for some though. We gave having evening meals a miss as the prices were dear and seemed to be of the "ping cuisine" genre. The bed was probably the most uncomfortable I've ever had the misfortune to have slept in - really soft and unsupportive. Noise from an air conditioning fan nearby kept me awake most of both nights (I am quite a light sleeper though). Breakfasts were mean on quantities. We opted for the Full English breakfast on both mornings we stayed at the hotel, which consisted of a spoonful of baked beans, a small sausage, an emaciated rasher of soggy bacon and an overcooked fried egg. Luckily toast and jams were in plentiful supply. The service wasn't what you'd call speedy on both mornings so do be prepared for a prolonged breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in was in a separate block about 100 yards from the main hotel and a bit of a trek too and fro especially in the rain. The heating in the room didn't come on until after 7.00 pm and was quite chilly before then. Noise of aircraft landing and taking off from the nearby airfield was a bit of an annoyance unless you are into "plane spotting". All in all the hotel was mediocre, but I suppose you get what you pay for; £80 per night.

  • Warren D

  • January 2014

Good hotel

The TV in the room is tiny otherwise I can't fault the place.

It seems to specialise in coach tours so there was no late night disturbance from the other guests!