The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel

3

Charlecote, Stratford Upon Avon, CV35 9EW

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (91)

84% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • J Smith

  • January 2014

Good location, nice reception & bar, average room, food not great

Managed to get a good low rate for a last minute 2 night stay, considerably less that the standard price.

Good location in Charlecote with the pleasant Charlecote Manor accross the road, nice for a walk and imagine great for a picnic in the summer. Hotel first impressions were very good at reception but the room was average, generally clean, looking a little dated, cold until we found the radiator had been turned off. Comfy bed, good shower, small TV (would benefit from a stand as a little low when watching in bed). Food in restuarant was over priced and not very good, had to send a steak back as had been undercooked when asked for well done. Manager was apologetic and did refund the next day. Cooked breakfast was not the best but filled us up ready for the day. Generally OK and fine for the money paid, would not pay full price.

  • H Morgan

  • January 2014

Excellent room, excellent staff, excellent food a pleasure to stay here

  • Mike H

  • January 2014

The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel

We stayed in Room 103 an alleged Superior room for a romantic break.

Unfortunately we both found the photos on Late Rooms to be a little "glossy". The room size was good and spacious with lots of storage, and had a separate seating area and largish TV. The furnishings were sparse and the lighting was terrible - halogen bulbs in the ceiling light and wall lights. The dimmer switch didn't do an awful lot to help the ambience of the room. The carpets were originally a beige colour, but were heavily stained. So much so that neither of us dared to walk on it in bare feet. The bathroom was large, though the bath with shower enclosure were miniscule. The bath had a large chip in it at the top end.

The tea and coffee making facilities were OK, though somewhat mean on the amounts of sachets provided. I must admit to not liking the pods of milk / creamer supplied in many hotels and was disappointed that this hotel provided them. Reception did give us more when we asked for some though. We gave having evening meals a miss as the prices were dear and seemed to be of the "ping cuisine" genre. The bed was probably the most uncomfortable I've ever had the misfortune to have slept in - really soft and unsupportive. Noise from an air conditioning fan nearby kept me awake most of both nights (I am quite a light sleeper though). Breakfasts were mean on quantities. We opted for the Full English breakfast on both mornings we stayed at the hotel, which consisted of a spoonful of baked beans, a small sausage, an emaciated rasher of soggy bacon and an overcooked fried egg. Luckily toast and jams were in plentiful supply. The service wasn't what you'd call speedy on both mornings so do be prepared for a prolonged breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in was in a separate block about 100 yards from the main hotel and a bit of a trek too and fro especially in the rain. The heating in the room didn't come on until after 7.00 pm and was quite chilly before then. Noise of aircraft landing and taking off from the nearby airfield was a bit of an annoyance unless you are into "plane spotting". All in all the hotel was mediocre, but I suppose you get what you pay for; £80 per night.

  • Warren D

  • January 2014

Good hotel

The TV in the room is tiny otherwise I can't fault the place.

It seems to specialise in coach tours so there was no late night disturbance from the other guests!

  • M Wood

  • January 2014

Excellent value.

Friendly staff. My only query was the very early closure of the restaurant (7.15pm final orders). Otherwise a very good stay and I will book again.

  • Enamul Omam

  • December 2013

Excellent stay for couple

Nice, clean and spacious; good customer care; room facilities as it is promised in website; totally satisfied.

  • S Smith

  • December 2013

Good experience

This was a late booking and I was a little unsure what to expect given the mixed reviews this hotel has received.

However everything was absolutely fine. We were checked in quickly, given a spacious room, the towels were soft and we had a good nights sleep. The service at breakfast was good and the cooked breakfast tasty. Parking was easy and near the room. The only problem was well intentioned, but incorrect info on the bus (18, X18) to Stratford which goes from right outside the hotel which meant we spent too long waiting in the cold when we could have been having a cuppa inside. This is a good bus to take (last one back at 23.27) if you don't want to drive - but it would help if the hotel kept copies of the bus timetable and familiarised themselves with it. Apart from that a thoroughly good experience and I would stay again.

  • N HEVERON

  • December 2013

Lovely Cosy Place to stay

  • D Beverley

  • December 2013

Very good value.

Nice, clean,comfortable room

Good quality breakfast, waiter served

  • Peter Harris

  • December 2013

First time customer

This was the frist time we have stayed here but it wont be the last,only stayed for one nite,b&b,arrivied late but everything from customer service to food was frist class,if you are staying in or around warwick try this accommodatiom,its frist class, Pete/Pam